We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glorious snow palace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Koh-I Nor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glorious snow palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We had 3 nights here and loved it. Glamorous yet cosy, super comfy bedrooms and small enough to feel personal. Hotel arranged taxi collection, skis were ready and welcome was warm. We had half board and really enjoyed the food, particularly in the gourmet restaurant. Cocktails by the fire after skiing, perfect.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent R, Directeur général at Hotel Koh-I Nor, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you warmly to share your positive impression and we sincerly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you for another stay for a unique experience.
Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    63
    13
    12
    5
See reviews for
100
154
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Had a family vacation for 1 week in Koh I Nor at the end of February 2014. And what a vacation it was!
Rooms are amazing. The view from the room to the valley is beautiful. Best staff with great service.
Ski-room and ski-shop is very clean, very organized. The hotel is a ski-in ski-out resort which made our ski experience very pleasant. Breakfast was very good and to conclude, we will miss this hotel!
Thanks for a dream vacation!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tomc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent R, Directeur général at Hotel Koh-I Nor, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Sir,
You have past an unique experience during your stay and we thank you most warmly for sharing your positive impression. We sincerly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you for another stay in our hotel.
Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed in the hotel (not the Residences) in February 2014. It is a very good hotel. The rooms are spacious, well fitted out, comfortable and quiet. The spa is lovely and the restaurant was good. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and you felt they wanted to do all they could to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. A few minor downsides:
- it is quite a walk from the village centre, particularly walking back uphill. There is a free hotel shuttle so this is not a major obstacle
- although you can ski in and out straight to the ski room the access trail could be improved & better marked. It is easy to miss.
- an oddity is that you have to walk through the reception lobby to get to the spa. Having guests walking through the lobby wearing bathrobes and with dripping swimwear is a strange design feature!
- wine with your meal is grossly overpriced (55 euros for a bottle of local Savoie wine and 23 euros for a glass of champagne is excessive).
These points did not seriously detract from our stay and overall we very much enjoyed it and we will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GFB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent R, Directeur général at Hotel Koh-I Nor, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Client,
Thank you for sharing your experience and all your comments are taken into account and allows us to improve our service. We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you for another stay.
Sincerly Yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

3 of us stayed for 5 nights at Koh-I Nor in Val Thorens in February. We had an amazing stay from start to finish. We were greeted by very helpful staff who escorted us to our room and were happy to help in any way throughout our stay. We had a very nice welcome drink in the bar which was extremely warm and comfortable with the best view over Val Thorens. We ate the first night in the Hotels restaurant and the food was outstanding. Breakfast every morning had a great standard and variety of food. The staff throughout the Hotel were amazing and went beyond to make sure that we were happy. Our room while quite small as we had a sofa bed for our daughter, was very well appointed and functional. Decor was beautiful and it was great to have a balcony with a breathtaking view. The only fault was the shower which was just a handheld in the bath with no facility to hang it up which was a bit annoying. The state of the art pool area was amazing and we used it many times throughout our stay. We also used their ski shop to hire our ski gear which was very easy and the staff made sure we were happy with our gear. Ski in ski out was a bonus and the lockers provided with heaters were also great. We also used the shuttle service many times into town and back for meals that the staff recommended which were all fantastic. We hope we get to stay here again one day as it was an all round 5 star experience

Room Tip: Rooms are too warm and we found that leaving our door open to cool the room before we slept very hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTayl0r25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent R, Directeur général at Hotel Koh-I Nor, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Client,
Thank you warmly for sharing your experience and we are very pleased to hear that your stay was up to your expectations. We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you for another stay.
Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel does it all, and does it superbly. All staff were outstanding, attentive in just the right way. Rooms are great, though little bar fridge doesn't cope with more than a couple of items. Ski in / ski out works well, though the run from which the hotel is accessible is not the greatest at the end of the day (cut up and crowded). Breakfasts were fantastic and only tried the restaurant twice but was amazing on both occasions. The pools and spa are superb (but no need to take the strong massage, relaxing is just as good and only 2/3 the price). Shuttle to anywhere in the village to 9 pm gives great freedom to explore the village and sample the other great restaurants in Val Thorens. Ski hire from the hotel is expensive but much better gear than you'll get elsewhere. Overall, it is expensive but still value for money because of unimpeachable quality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzette D, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Koh-I Nor, responded to this review, 19 December 2015
Dear TravLux,
Thank you very for having taken the time to share your experience and we are delighted that we made such a positive impression.
we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure to host you again and then you will enjoy all the arrangements we have made.
As guest satisfaction is our priority, you may be assured that our staff will always be dedicated to improving the quality of service offered to all our guests.
With warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in mid february (very busy week) at the Rsidences, not the Hotel. The place is really nice, obviously everything looks new, as it recently opened. We did not face any of the issues other reviewers faced in December (when they were just opened. Our stay was really good. The staff was very helpful at all times. I would like to highlight Audrey in the reception and Christoph in the Ski Shop. They both provided answers and advice beyond what was expected from them. Great services to highlight, the fresh bread you can order in the evening and will be delivered to your door by 7:30 a.m. We could not ask for anything better. Locker room for the skis very well set up (a bit of a walk, but worth it) and a real Ski in -Ski out location. We will return as we really enjoyed our stay. I have to point out that prices at the hotel lobby bar and restaurant, are quite high, but it is probably expected for a 5 Star Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smpletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Koh I Nor for week in Feb on half board. Room good but no tea/coffee making facilities nor drinking water. Location good for slope. Restaurant far too small for capacity of hotel. Half board is very disappointing: no coffee after the meal; no cake/coffee off the slopes; wine list extortionate (min 55 euro, average nearer 100); drinks in bar extortionate (g&t 18 euro and badly made). SPA good but only capacity for 10% of guests - lots of jostling for limited seats / recliners. Staff pleasant.

We don't mind the price but value for money is poor - you need to assume an extra 70+ euro per person per night if you want a pre-dinner drink, wine, water and coffee with the meal (and that's with half board already paid).

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank DanOCDollar_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent R, Directeur général at Hotel Koh-I Nor, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to read your comments about your experience in our hotel. Your very short stay didn’t probably permit you to have a real view on our services.
What you describing in term of “food and beverage bonus” is expected in all “all inclusive” hotels, (free coffee and cake included in half board…) which is not what we are proposing in the Hotel Koh-I Nor.
In term of restaurant capacity, 2 restaurants are available, with more seats than the number of hotel beds.
If for any circumstances, you were disappointed by our hotel, we are again really sorry about that. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you for another stay and hope that this time you will be able to have a longer stay that can allow you to enjoy high quality of the services offered. With our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.5 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#1 of 29 in Val Thorens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel FitzRoy
Hotel FitzRoy
#8 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Val Thorens
Hotel Le Val Thorens
#13 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Montana
Village Montana
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koh-I Nor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koh-I Nor

Property: Hotel Koh-I Nor
Address: rue de Gebroulaz, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Koh-I Nor 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Koh-I Nor, located at the summit of Val Thorens, invites you for a unique experience in the highest resort of the 3 Vallees ski area.The Hotel Koh-I Nor, at 2 364 m, is the highest hotel in Europe in the highest ski resort in Europe. At the top of the resort, ski-in/ski-out, the Hotel Koh-I Nor enjoys an exceptional location with a magic view on Val Thorens and its extraordinary “white circus” and landscape.The architecture’s choices were guided to allow a maximum of light to invade the premises. The natural light is everywhere present, in the rooms with large windows and in all hotels’ areas.The Hotel Koh-I Nor is offering a full light sensation.Above the Hotel Koh-I Nor is the mountain and the sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Koh-I Nor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing