We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, warm comfortable with easy access to slopes and shops!”
Review of Village Montana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Village Montana
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at The Montana Soleil, in a fourth floor 2-bedroom (known as a C1) apartment - not the cheapest apartments in town and we had to book well in advance (using Crystal Ski Holidays), but well worth it for that bit extra space (which can be rare in French Ski resorts) Only one thing un-nerved me - I couldn't see many visible smoke or fire detectors in our apartment, so I made sure I knew how to get out in an emergency! The flat was very clean, the shower efficient, with plenty of hot water, a bath and a wall mounted hairdryer. A change of towels was brought to us mid-week and the kitchen was small and basic but I managed easily to cater for 4 adults for the week and there was no problem with plenty of supermarkets and also artisan shops almost on the doorstep. Taking rubbish and re-cycleable goods to the bins wasn't an issue, they were very close by and we would do this at home anyway. The balcony overlooked the slopes and we were lucky and had wall-to-wall sunshine with not a cloud in the sky all week and the snow was over 6 feet deep on the rooftops during the February half term holiday. The ski lockers and changing room were large and had boot and glove driers built into the secure lockers. From the boot room it was no more than a hop across the road onto the slopes and from there easy access to all the lifts. During our stay my eldest son also tried out the night time Skidoo ride (not for the feint-hearted, but well worth it for the thrill seekers!) and also the Alain Prost Ice Driving Experience - which my son just had to try after seeing the guys from the BBC "Top Gear" programme do it! Self-catering wasn't too bad price-wise, however eating out and drinks on the slopes are very expensive (3 pints of larger and a soft drink drink came to 25 euros!) as a result the restaurants on the slopes were quiet but the burger bars and pizza outlets in town were doing a roaring trade! Definitely a young person's resort (with some night clubs open until 4a.m.) and it appeared to be well supervised at night with lots of friendly local "minders" in yellow fluorescent jackets making sure everyone got home safely and behaved themselves - so as a Mum with older teenage sons I was most impressed and reassured by this! Val Thorens is certainly not the most picturesque or cleanest of resorts and without the snow it must be a concrete jungle in summer, but a really good "all-rounder" as ski resorts in France go; with an estimated ski season lasting until May this year. We would certainly go back, as my family loved the wide, long blue and red runs in particular - mind you - Being the highest resort in Europe you do need to wrap up at night as the outside temperatures plummet to well below minus 20, which can take you by surprise if you have to walk back after an evening out! There is also a public fitness centre and swimming pool close by but we didn't use it - we were too busy with other activities!

Room Tip: I think all rooms in this building directly overlook the slopes. As a family we are glad we chose t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oldilocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Cheval Blanc. A residence with only two hairdryers for over 100 apartments. No cleaning service. In fact your will have to pay 100 euros if you won't take your trash away, clean the kitchen and put away the blankets.
The only reason for the stay is the proximity to the slope.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_de_Goh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Super holiday , nice appartments , nice size for france , ski in ski out , nice location, very clean and reception staff is ery helpfull and friendly...will be going back next year! Val thorens-3 vallees is for me top destination for ski!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraherwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Seems that this hotel gets positive reviews. Just left the residence (with the family of 5 persons) and have to say that the quality is about 2-3 star, only location is 4 star. Firstly we were offered awful flat- dirty, smoky etc. Luckily they changed it to decent one.
Decoration and furnitures were very old, no toilet paper inlcuded, balcon extremely dirty, ski-room without proper heating so that boots are wet in the morning - this is not happening in 4-star place.
In case you get this cheap (we really didnt' !) and you are used to and satisfied with 2-3 star hotels, go ahead.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here in January 2013. We were travelling with our 20-month old and his grandmother, neither of whom skiied. Hence we had paid a bit more to have a larger apartment and in better quality, since two in our party would be spending a lot of time in the flat.

We were first placed in the Montana Soleil building (across the road) in a two-bedroom apartment. Unfortunately the bedrooms were so small that we couldn't fit a cot in without having to move one of the single beds out. In addition, the cot we were given was broken. When replaced, the second one was also broken! But third time lucky and we had a cot that worked.

The flat was also tiled which is not ideal when you have a little one, as it was quite cool for him to play on the floor.

Finally, we found the flat very noisy, as we were on street-level and were quite disturbed by late night revellers.

We made a request to management to move to the Village Montana building, and we were able to move the next day, which was great. We really felt that management understood our issues, travelling with a 20-month old and they were more than happy for us to move as soon as a room became available.

The apartment we received in Village Montana was on level five, which is street level. We had a carpeted room with views of the slopes and enough room in the bedrooms to fit the cot without having to move any beds.

Getting to the slopes was a breeze. We just took the elevator to the ski locker, strapped in and off we went.

Once we moved we were very happy with Village Montana. I would recommend others to avoid the Soleil building if possible, as our experience there was not great. In all honesty I am surprised that the pricing structure is the same for both buildings, as the quality seems vastly different.

On another note, we found the showers absolutely amazing and so great to come home to after a long cold day on the slopes. :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceiling_dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

This is the 6 th time we have stayed at village Montana apartments and they are always very welcoming and the apartments very comfortable. There was only two of us this time but when there were 4 of us we upgraded to the 6 persons apartment so that we would have two proper rooms rather than one and bed settee. The hotel reception has been refurbished and although not to my taste (it used to be in warm and welcoming colours - red comfy settees and warm pine everywhere) - it is now completely grey - all the pine painted and hard plastic settees - suppose it is progress !
The only criticism is the wardrobe space in the rooms - for skiing you need shelves to put clothes on ! Not just hanging space. Nothing in the second bedroom! Also they used to give a little starter pack with washing up sponge and a few dishwasher tabs but nothing this time. It is easy to get to supermarket though just 6-7 mins walk away but if you arrive late make sure you are prepared. We did have trouble getting wifi in the room but it was intermittent - ok in reception though.
Will be back :)

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank WokingMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

staff were very good. plenty of info when you checked in. apartments in a great ski in / ski out location. we stay at the 4 star Valbel block. apartments very comfortable and clean and had all that you wanted. would certainly go back to these apartments if we went back to val thorens. the resort has plenty to offer and loads of skiing for one week, and you dont even need to go to merribel or courchevel. The apartments were very warm, but could always open a window or French doors onto the balcony.

Room Tip: stayed in V12, out the back with mountain views. 2 bed apartment. nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val Thorens hotels
0.2 mi away
Altapura
Altapura
#3 of 29 in Val Thorens
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel 3 Vallees
Hotel 3 Vallees
#7 of 29 in Val Thorens
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
Residence Le Chamois d'Or
#17 of 29 in Val Thorens
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pashmina
Hotel Pashmina
#2 of 29 in Val Thorens
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koh-I Nor
Hotel Koh-I Nor
#5 of 29 in Val Thorens
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
Le Portillo Hotel & Residence
#13 of 29 in Val Thorens
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Montana

Address: Rue du Soleil, 73440 Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Saint-Martin-de-Belleville > Val Thorens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Val Thorens
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Val Thorens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Val Thorens
#5 Luxury Hotel in Val Thorens
#6 Spa Hotel in Val Thorens
Price Range: £112 - £1,796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Montana 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Val Thorens our residences welcome you at the foot of the pistes. Discover our large traditional style savoyard chalets with shops and restaurants in close proximity. You have everything you need for an unforgettable holiday experience at the heart of the 3 Valleys ski area. Just a short walk from the residence, you'll find several different establishments for child care and children's activities, from 3 months of age. As recommended in some of the best culinary guides, enjoy the gourmet restaurant L'Epicurien in its refined and intimate setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Montana Val Thorens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing