We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
120
106
26
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
106
26
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We have stayed in this hotel on two previous occasions. There is an excellent restaurant and our room, although small, was well equipped and maintained with a balcony and a recently refitted shower room of a good size, The town seemed quiet but it is a good location for visiting the Ardeche Gorge and travelling futher south.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
Thank 488philipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

After dark, on a cool, rainy night, regrettably without a reservation anywhere in the region, we spotted an advertising sign for "Hotel Helvie," and sought direction. Up until that point the very few hotels we could find that had rooms available were unimaginative and dingy. Then we entered Hotel Helvie. At the desk we were met by Edouard (if we remember his name correctly) who ever so professionally and warmly welcomed us and offered a lovely room with breakfast at a reasonable rate. Edouard ended up being a "brother" from Miami, where we had lived, studied and married, and graciously accommodated our every comfort related need. The room he offered was lovely, and when we shared how famished we were, and how much we hoped to eat at their outstanding restaurant (that was understandably filled at the late hour we wished to eat), he called the Maitre d', and magically found us a table. (There we experienced one of the finest meals we had eaten during our one month of travel through Portugal, Spain and France. Further, the service was equal to the best we had received anywhere on our journey. The next morning, while fearful over another "late night hotel drama," we sought the services of their concierge who was covering the desk on the morning shift (who we believe was named "Joanna"). She worked overtime to help us to find just the right accommodations for the next night while in transit to Paris. The breakfast that morning was wonderful (again with service that went way beyond any normative expectations). Thus, "Hotel Helvie" was one of the "hotel highlights" on our three nation trip, and for that we are so grateful! If you are lucky enough to spend a night in Val-Les-Bains, don't miss the Hotel Helvie "stay and eat" experience. (And please, we hope we got their names right, give Edouard and Joanna our very best!) Michael and Reine, Holderness, NH, USA

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelReine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015

This truly is a lovely French provincial hotel, charming, rustic and bursting with character. Hotel manager Edward runs a very professional team who are all very helpful and as a bonus for us most speak very good english. The breakfast run by Joanna in the morning is truly one of the best french hotel breakfasts we have ever had , with excellent espresso coffee, home made jams and a good range of fresh breads and pastries. The highlight is always dining at the hotel restaurant "Vivarais" which has now been awarded 1 Michelin star. We have dined here 3 times before and it has always been excellent regional food and wine in a fine dining establishment at a reasonable price.. We were concerned that it may have been a lot more expensive due to the Michelin star however we enjoyed a wonderful 4 course meal with aperitifs and fine local wines for around 70 euros per person, excellent value when compared to Paris standards! The rooms are clean and cosy and you feel like you are staying in a grand hotel from a bygone era. Thank you
Edward for another delightful stay at Hotel Helvie

Room Tip: Junior suite is very roomy and comfortable
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

After visiting Six hotels in Vals les Bains we were happy that this hotel finally looked perfect. They gave us a very good reduction. The room was small but very nice, the bathroom beautiful and practical. The breakfast had a lot of good quality items which we enjoyed. And last but not least there was free safe parking on the property. The restaurant was superb! And we had a good swim in the morning!

Room Tip: Room with a view!
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were looking for a hotel near Aubenas and found this one, we had expected a one horse town but were really surprised to find a brilliant small town with thermals springs. The hotel is well situated within to town and close to all the sights. It has a small pool which is great after a long journey. The rooms are charming, typical old style French with balconies and the staff are keen to please. Dinner in the restaurant is superb, it is the only restaurant where I have had a pre-dessert, dessert! Definitely worth a visit and there are lots of really interesting sights to see.

Room Tip: We had a superior room - its was lovely!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChurtSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews