We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadians thrilled with recent stay at the Chateau Clement”
Review of Chateau Clement

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau Clement
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Vals-les-Bains
Reviewed 30 October 2013

For Canadians, the Ardeche is probably one of the least travelled parts of France and that's really too bad because the region features spectacular scenery, lovely small, unspoiled towns of character and, of course, great cuisine. For us, however, the highlight of our recent trip to the Ardeche was our 2 day stay at the Chateau Clement and the highlight of our stay there was experiencing the warmth, hospitality and quiet professionalism of Marie Antoinette and Eric, our hosts. We truly felt 'en famille' at the Chateau, a beautiful, well maintained and superbly operated comfort zone. Merci, Marie Antoinette et Eric et a tres bientot!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I had the most wonderful two night stay here in July. It is the smallest chateau I have ever visited, with four guest rooms in the house where the family also lives (plus a couple of apartments in the grounds). The husband and wife team that lovingly and tastefully renovated the chateau some years ago are now a charming pairing of hostess and chef.
We had the white room which was lovely and spacious.
We spent time by the attractive pool, admiring our surroundings and the great view. Then the dinner was superb and we particularly enjoyed canapes and aperatifs on the terrace. I didn't personally love the format of all the guests eating together and with 3 sets of guests with different first languages it didn't feel hugely sociable but that may have been unusual. It wasn't a negative though as it was lovely to talk and compare holidays and did fit with the fact this isn't really a hotel - it's an experience - just not my preference really. The breakfast was delicious - light, with yoghurt, cheese and pastries - a perfect French start to the day on the terrace in nice weather. Marie Anntoinette was a lovely hostess, happy to make recommendations for visits to other towns and restaurants and to talk about her stunning home. We don't know when but we do hope to go back. It was a perfect treat to ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We recently spent 5 nights at Chateau Clement. It was supposed to be a stopover between Italy and the Aveyron and turned out to be the best part of our trip...so we stayed several extra nights. The chateau is beautiful and perfectly maintained. The decor is absolutely perfect. Nothing is overdone and nothing has been overlooked. Marie Antoinette and Eric have put their hearts and souls into the building and the hospitality. Best of all, they make you feel comfortable and pampered. The breakfasts and dinners were all delightful and aperitif hour was a great way to meet lovely, interesting people from all over the world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Having travelled in all corners of the world, I was truly impressed and overwhelmed by the beauty of Chateau Clément, by our spacious, artfully decorated room, by the extraordinary kindness and helpfulness of Marie-Antoinette, by the sumptuous dinner prepared by her husband Eric and by many more major and minor features of this small hotel (see the other reviews on TripAdvisor, most of which I share). But to me, the most attractive feature of Chateau Clément is that it is not a genuine hotel. From the moment of our arrival to the moment of our departure, we were treated as good, old friends. There are many hotels which give you a kind, professional reception. Here we received a truly warm and spontaneous welcome throughout our stay.

I particularly liked the pre-dinner drinks and delicious home made snacks on the huge terrace overlooking the castle’s park and surroundings, followed by a “table d’hôtes”, where all guests shared one huge table, while Marie-Antoinette made sure all guests could join the general conversation, if necessary translating a story from one of the guests into English or French. The quality of the dinner, prepared by Eric was fabulous, exquisite and, well… outstanding. Every dish was made from fresh local, organic produce of high quality, accompanied by delicious local wines. Don’t make the mistake of asking for a separate, private table. You are likely to feel a bit silly and embarrassed by the bursts of laughter coming from the big guest’s table.

There is much more to tell about this heavenly place, but I recommend that you book a room and see for yourself. Among the many hundreds comfortable hotels where I have stayed, Chateau Clément ranks among the top three (together with Riad El Calife in Fez and Riad Le Clos des Arts in Marrakech, both in Morocco). Chateau Clément isn’t only worth a detour, it is worth the journey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Advocate7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I must start this review with a little brutal honesty: I did not want to book a room in the Ardeches. An ignorant American, I thought I was booking a place a little closer to the Rhone valley.

But I'm glad I did, because Chateau Clement is a gorgeous, charming little 19th century Chateau in a beautiful part of the south of France run by a lovely family. Marie-Antoinette is quite literally a force of good humor, helpfulness and hospitality, and her husband Eric is a charming and gentle host and an absolutely knock-out chef. During our tour of the south of France, we ate at one of the best restaurants – legendary Michelin 3 star Bras – and I can very honestly say that Eric's lamb was superior to what we ate at Bras.

The space itself is beautiful, the food is great, the wine is great, the ambiance and surrounding countryside is great. Happiest mistake of my 2013 South of France trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

After driving a long way from Sweden to France, we were pleasantly surprised to check in at a magnificent French Chateau. An interesting historic place to discover, consequently we dicided to extend our stay from 2 to 3 nights. Chateau Clement has extraordinary architecture, well preserved and modernized. All rooms are very spacious, perfectly refurbished, mixing old architecture with modern design. We enjoyed the comfort, living in a self contained flat, situated on the top floor of the Chateau. Furthermore Chateau Clement is surrounded by a beautiful park, 4 ha on a slope, on the outskirts of Vals les Bains, in the heartland of Ardéche. It gave us an opportunity to take long walks in a protected nature reserve, lush and green surroundings. We wish to acknowledge the host family´s hospitality, being warmhearted, taking very good care of us as their guests. Starting the day with a generous breakfast added also to our wellbeing, sitting outside on the veranda of the chateau, enjoying the beautiful surrounds. Our high expectations were also met when dinner was served, very delicious, generous, magnificently cooked food, a perfect selection of the best locally produced ingredients and wines. All members of the host family were entertaining the guests, making our stay comfortable and enjoyable, interacting with the other foreign guests. We were impressed by the commitment and hard work the family had spent on refurbishing the castle during the last 15 years, mixing the old architecture with new modern interior design. On a rainy day we relaxed in the modern indoor pool facilities, sauna, spoiling ourself with a relaxing massage. Our stay at Chateau Clement gave us an much needed opportunity to rest and "recharge our batteries" before driving the long way back home to Sweden. We wish to return next Summer to this magnificent chateau with great hospitality.

Room Tip: Top floor, spacious, modern and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rutger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This castle is in a perfect condition and with a lot of history. The owners can tell and show you a lot of interesting details. The service is of a high standard and very personal. The different rooms I have seen are of very good quality, with a lot of attention for details. All of them are very well equipped (large flat-screen, Apple TV, music player, coffee machine with fresh coffee beans, etc).
The dinner is an event on its own. All guests are invited to have dinner at one big table. The food and wine served is all local and very well prepared. You will have a great evening with the other guests. Due to the fact that this castle has approx 5 or 6 rooms, the group will never be too big.
This hotel is absolutely excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vals-les-Bains
0.2 mi away
Hotel Helvie
Hotel Helvie
#2 of 8 in Vals-les-Bains
228 reviews
16.9 mi away
Domaine de Chalveches
Domaine de Chalveches
#1 of 1 in Faugeres
202 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Le Belvedere
Hotel Le Belvedere
#1 of 5 in Vallon-Pont-d'Arc
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Auberge De Banne
Auberge De Banne
#1 of 1 in Banne
95 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant la Cardinale
2.4 mi away
Aux Vieux Arceaux
Aux Vieux Arceaux
#1 of 1 in Mercuer
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Clement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Clement

Address: La Chataigneraie, 07600 Vals-les-Bains, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ardeche > Vals-les-Bains
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Vals-les-Bains
Price Range: £166 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chateau Clement reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing