We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel de Valloire et du Galibier
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Valloire
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magnificent food”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We booked this hotel on half board. Our stay started on Christmas eve, so we were not very suprised by the five course luxureous diner we got on the first night. We however were pleasantly surprised that this was not due to Christmas: we got served a more than excellent five course diner every night of our stay! Containing fish, meat, cheese and everything delicious one can imagine. Breakfast - served as a buffet - was likewise extensive: several kinds of cereals, meat, cheese, salmon, bread (sweet and savory), fruits, yoghurts, scrambled eggs, omelet, bacon... you name it, they serve it.

The hotel is about 50 meters at the most from the main ski lift (gondola) and if the snow is right, you can ski straight into the ski locker room, which can be reached by an elevator from inside the hotel. The ski lockers are not very spacious, but the ski locker room also contains a heated holder for your ski shoes, so you do not have to store those in the locker.

Service is very friendly and helpful. You can get free wifi in the entire hotel. Just ask the access code(s) (one for each device you want to connect) at the reception. The rooms are thouroughly cleaned on a daily basis - even changing all the bath towels and refilling the little bottels of provided soap/shampoo.

The bedroom is somewhat 'bare looking' due to the use of laminate flooring, but it holds everything necessary: tv, a desk, two chairs, a bed and immense closet space. The mattress is a bit too firm for my liking and the bed is - as most beds in France - way too short for Northern Europeans. The bathroom is spacious, with a combined bad and shower. Showering is good: firm jet and a constant temperature (no fluctuation when other guests use the shower). The toilet is situated right next to the door in a little portal, thus separated from the rest of the room.

Room Tip: I would not advise to stay in rooms 131 or 132, for the chimney of the fire place from the diner is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert_Frances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    45
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Spent 2 nights in this hotel while visiting my family on vacation there. Place is clean and location good, it's a bit noisy with a round about right in front of the hotel. hotel is decorated like many places in that part of France, lots of wood with red and white linens everywhere. Breakfast buffet was good and plentiful, service was friendly and quick.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sebmtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cymru
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

6 of us spent a week skiing in Valloire and couldn't have dreamt of a better place to stay. 200 metres from the lifts, excellent, friendly service. We had half board and the food was exceptional every night - 5 courses of top quality cooking.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kre245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

We stayed in the Grand in Valloire for a week of skiing and overall it was a great experience. The hotel is very well placed for the town and the lifts and has it's own ski storage area.

We booked our passes through the hotel and these were available when we arrived and there were no issues with our bookings.

The rooms were great and very warm. There was plenty of storage and it was nice to have a seperate toilet room along with the bathroom.

The meals are very traditional with a number of smaller courses. Overall these are plentiful and you can vary them if you ask early enough.

  • Liked — The room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bougheyrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valloire hotels
5.0 mi away
Hotel du Cret Rond
Hotel du Cret Rond
#3 of 14 in Valloire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
3.9 mi away
Christiania Hotel
Christiania Hotel
#1 of 14 in Valloire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.4 mi away
Les Chalets du Galibier
Les Chalets du Galibier
#9 of 14 in Valloire
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Relais du Galibier
Hotel Relais du Galibier
#5 of 14 in Valloire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.7 mi away
Residence Les Chalets Valoria
3.9 mi away
Hotel Les Melezes
Hotel Les Melezes
#11 of 14 in Valloire
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de Valloire et du Galibier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Valloire et du Galibier

Property: Grand Hotel de Valloire et du Galibier
Address: 73450 Valloire, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Valloire
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Valloire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de Valloire et du Galibier 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel de Valloire et du Galibier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing