We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freindly Hotel”
Review of Christiania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Christiania Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Valloire
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Freindly Hotel”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night and found the staff to be warm and freindly. It had comfortable rooms and was very quite It is located in the center of Valloire approx 5 minute walk from ski lift

Room Tip: All the rooms we had were OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    50
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
56
78
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed one week Feb 2013. Ideally situated next to main bubble lift and virtual ski back location. Great welcome from excellent staff. Rooms comfortable and nicely decorated, although a little tight, but large bathroom and separate wc. Excellent hot and cold buffet breakfast set us up for the day...we didn't need lunch! Evening meals were always an extravaganza of variety and quality (5 courses including the superb cheese trolley). The chef is a real star. The evening meal menu was posted at breakfast and if something was not to your taste an alternative could be found. Nothing was too much trouble to staff (even providing ice to soothe ski bruises). We parked in a nearby underground car park (62 euros/week) to avoid the car being snowed in and well worth it. The holiday was fantastic thanks to our hosts and our relaxing surroundings (even a well equipped lounge for reading / games / chit chat). The only negative was the lack of a lift, but once the bags were taken up to rooms we were set for the week. Thanks so much to Sandra and Hervé. We will go back and fully recommend this hotel to others. How does this only have 2 stars??

Room Tip: Go for a room on the 1st floor (no lift) with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shearer032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed one week on a skiing trip. Hotel is excellently placed next door to main ski lift so very convenient access to slopes, with skiing almost back to the hotel.
Rooms are quite small, so limited storage space, but heating was almost too efficient and we needed to open the window most days! The bathroom was quite spacious and well stocked with towels & toiletries. Heated towel rail kept the bathroom warm and dry. .
We were half-board and the evening meals were excellent with 5 courses most nights. Prices for drinks were reasonable for a hotel with Beer at 5.5 euros per 1/2 litre and wine at around 12-18 euros per bottle. The meals were based on regional dishes and different every day. Breakfasts were equally good with choice of both hot and cold food.
The hotel supplied ski passes (at a discounted rate) and they were also programmed to operate the locker room and bedroom. Useful if a member of the party wanted to return to the hotel early.
Apart from the dining room, there is a lounge downstairs with a TV which we used on a couple of occasions. It was not really used by other guests, so no problem finding seats!

Please note that the hotel does not have a lift and the stair case was quite narrow making it hard work taking luggage up to the room.

Room Tip: Rooms overlook street at the front of hotel and slopes at the rear. No lift so suggest you ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

A very nice hotel, the best place for skiing, eating , and also have fun with your firends in the restaurant and the bar ... Ask a Ginipi ! The only place when they must understand what you want ! Thank you very much to Herve and sandra, very helpful ! Very good wine also

Annie from Belgium

Room Tip: Very good famililial room .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yowali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Never book this hotel with a credit card. We booked last Sundat for a stay of one night in September. Unfortunately on Tuesday, more than two months before our intended vist, we had to cancel We have been deducted £38.87 on our credit card despite the fact that the terms and conditions say that no penalty will be charged on credit card bookings if cancelled up to 48 hours before. They have offered to hold this until our next visit !!! Fat chance.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Somewehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We only stayed for one night as we were touring the Alps during the summer. The room was slightly on the small side but had everything that we needed. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, even though our french is quite basic it was not a problem. Dinner in the restaurant was very good. The exterior of the hotel is beautifully decorated with lovely flowerboxes, a mass of colour. Prior to our booking we also emailed the 'Grand Hotel Valloire' and the 'Les Carrettes' to check their availability and rates,neither of them bothered to respond to our emails. The Christiania replied within a couple of hours, hence they got our business. Would happily stay here again when next in the Alps.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Not the cheapest, nor the most expensive hotel we stayed in for this trip but the owners/staff were very friendly and accomodating. The rooms were what you see on the website, clean and comfortable with character. The food and wine in the restaurant was of a very high standard and we were supplied with an english menu. We would definately stay again.

Abit of background about ourselves, we are an english speaking couple with very little french completing the Le Route des Grandes Alpes over 5 nights and booking our hotels at short notice either the evening before or the morning of our stay via the internet. We decided to book with Logis hotel-restaurants as its philosphy appealed to us. It did not feel corporate but family run.

Our welcome was a warm reception and when the owners realised we had very little french (we did try) they spoke to us in very good english. We arrive during the 4 Wheel Drive Fair and parking would not have been easy but as we had booked parking the owners took our car key and parked our car behind the hotel out of harms way. We also took the opportunity of booking into the restaurant as it looked very busy and appealing.

Our room was exactly what was shown on the website so no hidden surprises. . The room and shower room was good size, clean and comfortable.

We went down to the restaurant at the agreed time and was shown to our table and initially we were provided with a menu in French which we did not mind but when we came to order we were provided with an English version. The food and wine was very good and the menu had a wide option of choices.

The breakfast was a good quality continental breakfast.

When we checked out of the hotel the owners were very accomoding and the owners provided us with the empty bottle of wine we had the previous evening so that we could find it in the carrefour. They also told us that it was available in Bourg st Maurice.

We would definately stay again as nothing was to much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valloire hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel de Valloire et du Galibier
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aiguille Noire
Hotel Aiguille Noire
#5 of 14 in Valloire
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Chalets du Galibier
Les Chalets du Galibier
#9 of 14 in Valloire
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Centre
Hotel du Centre
#8 of 14 in Valloire
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Les Chalets Valoria
0.0 mi away
Hotel Les Melezes
Hotel Les Melezes
#11 of 14 in Valloire
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christiania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christiania Hotel

Property: Christiania Hotel
Address: avenue de la Vallee D Or, 73450 Valloire, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Valloire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Valloire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Christiania Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Christiania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing