We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hillcrest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tree House River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 20 Hillcrest B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of a kind”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This lodge is a hidden paradise for those who love the outdoors and enjoy some peace and quiet. With breathtaking views and excellent service from the owner sue, i will definatley be going back! Everything was spot on. The breakfast was scrumptious and the chalet was lovely and private.
The relaxation massage by sue was well worth every penny! I enjoyed my experience there every single minute of it. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelwithac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    27
    2
    2
    8
See reviews for
22
60
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This lodge is a hidden paradise for those who love the outdoors and enjoy some peace and quiet. With breathtaking views and excellent service from the owner sue, i will definatley be going back! Everything was spot on. The breakfast was scrumptious and the chalet was lovely and private.
The relaxation massage by sue was well worth every penny! I enjoyed my experience there every single minute of it. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelwithac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Marvellous place on the hills. Excellent service. We had such a peaceful time. With a very attentive host that knows the area so well!! will go again. We had breakfast in the boma and views of the river. The rooms are clean and comfortable and serviced daily.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigetta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The BnB is a bit hidden away, off the main road on a twisting country lane. We're so glad we happened to come across it online though because my husband and I really enjoyed our stay. I wouldn't reccomend it for those who want to be right in amid the bustle of Hillcrest, cos its about a 15min drive to the town itself. This is more of a weekend or mid-week escape type place. We live in Durban and want to go again for a night during the week, just as a little mid-week treat.Arrive in the early afternoon and leave mid-morning, I would reccomend that you take your own food and snacks because there's a kitchen with each chalet and its nice to have snacks and drinks on the deck.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed here with my wife for a weekend away to reconnect and get away from the stresses of life at home. The chalet we stayed in had a wonderful view - our favourite memory from the trip was sitting on the balcony drinking hot chocolate and listening to a midnight rain shower. This isn't the place for you if you want to be near Durban (the closest town is Hillcrest and its a half hour drive) but we loved the peace and solitude and enjoyed the drive into Hillcrest during the day.

I thought the price was great value for money considering what we got. My wife also enjoyed the spa experience that is available on site and although it was too cold for swimming when we stayed, it looked like there was a nice pool for lounging in the summer. The breakfast is lovely and the woman that runs it with her mother bent over backwards to accomodate us. My wife and I still dream of spending a week in Kruger, but for a quick inexpensive escape into nature, this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMathew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westville, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Deciding to have a little break, and something different, we visited the Treehouse River lodge.
The chalets and not very high off the ground but they face a steep hill with nothing but trees and the sound of the river at night. Bliss. In the morning, we had breakfast at a large table with two other couples who were staying in the other chalets. Everyone agreed that they have never had a better sleep!

Not too far from Hillcrest so if you need food or anything else, its just a quick drive. Also, Shongweni Dam is not too far away either with plenty water activities.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xyracire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

On arrival we were welcomed with a warm smile and a very homely atmosphere... So wonderful to out in nature but still close enough for essential things from the shop. Lovely to hear all the different sounds that are surrounding us there... A scrumptious breakfast was awaiting us each morning and the views while enjoying that are priceless. It was a real treat :-). Oh and don't forget the massage, so so relaxing! Was an all round wonderful stay. Will definitely be back!
Yvonne

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jem d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillcrest
4.0 mi away
Makaranga
Makaranga
#1 of 2 in Kloof
123 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cybele Lodge
Cybele Lodge
#2 of 20 in Hillcrest
3 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eagle Wind Manor
Eagle Wind Manor
#1 of 2 in Botha's Hill
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mulberry Guest House
Mulberry Guest House
#5 of 20 in Hillcrest
5 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brackens
Brackens
#12 of 20 in Hillcrest
8 reviews
1.1 mi away
Khululeka Backpackers
Khululeka Backpackers
#1 of 1 in Hillcrest
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree House River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree House River Lodge

Property: Tree House River Lodge
Address: B17 M46 Shongweni, Hillcrest, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Hillcrest
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hillcrest
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing