We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding everything”
Review of Olive & Oil

Olive & Oil
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Hillcrest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A family based mediterranean restaurant with an emphasis on good quality food value for money and an overall dining experience. Catering for all tastes we do a wide array of dishes from seafood to grills we also cater for children with a kiddies menu
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding everything”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a night! The food was delicious, the service was top notch and so friendly, Kelsey Fisher was our waitress and she made no error and she was so friendly and prompt. I am very impressed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ydnam-ZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    62
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality food and service for reasonable cost”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Situated on the first floor of a small shopping centre in Hillcrest (about 20 miles from Durban) this is a particularly good restaurant. I have eaten there several times in recent years including hosting a 65th birthday dinner for myself and eleven others. I have never had any disappointment.

My last meal was Rack of Lamb served on a bed of mashed potato with green, butter and red beans it was truly excellent the lamb being succulent and pink in the middle - Lekka!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Patterson1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not quite what we hoped”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Having read the reviews we had high hopes, the service was good as reported and the meze starter we shared was also tasty. However the recommended wine and main courses were found wanting, portion sizes were too generous and the calamari in particular was a bit tough. This, combined with the price left us disappointed, not up to the standard we have come to expect in South Africa.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee_Parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Value Lunch”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Great atmosphere! Prompt polite service by knowledgeable enthusiastic waiters.

Lunch specials, starter a main and a bottle of water and glass of wine for R 99.95

I had the fish cakes followed by Garlic/Lemon prawns and shared a Crème Brule....with my hubby!

3 course meal is R119,95

Wonderful venue for business, family and couples!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank micim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All round awesome Restaurant”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Keep returning to Olive & Oil for the amazing food and great service. Make sure that Kelsey serves you and also have the Cheesy Lango Tails for appetizer... Yum.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisVDWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olive & Oil also viewed

Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Olive & Oil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing