We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant evening”

Olive & Oil - Hillcrest
Ranked #4 of 48 Restaurants in Hillcrest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A family based mediterranean restaurant with an emphasis on good quality food value for money and an overall dining experience. Catering for all tastes we do a wide array of dishes from seafood to grills we also cater for children with a kiddies menu
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
“What a pleasant evening”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

First time at Olive and Oil and what a delightfull restaurant.
Service was top draw and the meal something Gordon R would compliment.
Compliments to Mangement and staff.
We'll be back

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alanpaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    62
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vryheid, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A restaurant you should not miss”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I have been to quite a few Olive and Oil restaurants in the past and, yet again, the Olive and Oil in Hillcrest did not disappoint. Good, friendly service, a wide choice of tasty dishes and a great atmosphere made this another great dining experience.

This restaurant is well worth a visit and comes highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilsev348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding everything”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a night! The food was delicious, the service was top notch and so friendly, Kelsey Fisher was our waitress and she made no error and she was so friendly and prompt. I am very impressed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ydnam-ZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality food and service for reasonable cost”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Situated on the first floor of a small shopping centre in Hillcrest (about 20 miles from Durban) this is a particularly good restaurant. I have eaten there several times in recent years including hosting a 65th birthday dinner for myself and eleven others. I have never had any disappointment.

My last meal was Rack of Lamb served on a bed of mashed potato with green, butter and red beans it was truly excellent the lamb being succulent and pink in the middle - Lekka!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Patterson1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not quite what we hoped”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Having read the reviews we had high hopes, the service was good as reported and the meze starter we shared was also tasty. However the recommended wine and main courses were found wanting, portion sizes were too generous and the calamari in particular was a bit tough. This, combined with the price left us disappointed, not up to the standard we have come to expect in South Africa.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee_Parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olive & Oil - Hillcrest also viewed

Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Olive & Oil - Hillcrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing