We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hillcrest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Indilinga Guest House at Enaleni Farm
Ranked #3 of 20 Hillcrest B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Hospitality”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a relaxing and enjoyable stay at Enaleni Guest Farm despite our car breaking down the day after we arrived. Richard and Dave's concern and generosity was boundless and they went out of their way ease the inconvenience of being left stranded! The cottage is ample, comfortable and homely with classy and elegant touches like the goose down duvet, the filter coffee, the lemon poppy seed cake! All round it was a wonderful experience (especially the tour of the orchid houses!), the delightful animals and of course the superb and genuine hosts :)

We will definitely be paying a return visit :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Soraya197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Enaleni is a place to go if you like lovely people, nature, animals, flowers, amazing food, history/indigenous knowledge, hospitality and a stunning scenery. Whenever I get the chance, I go to Enaleni, either alone, with friends or with family. If you are considering this place, please do yourself a favour and give it a try. It will be an experience that you can add to the list of memorable ones. Thank you Enaleni.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Milda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Richard and Dave, and were spoiled with homemade cordial and freshly baked lemon-poppy seed cake.

During our stay, we appreciated the sounds of nature and beauty of farm life (pigs walking in the garden, birds chattering, indigenous sheep mothering their lambs, colourful beans, friendly dogs, beautiful orchids … and much more. The décor of Indilinga Guest House was carefully handpicked, to create a real smart farm experience.

In the mornings, we watched sunrise while indulging in a farmhouse breakfast on the stoep, overseeing view of landscapes. Everything offered is organic and homemade. Really loved the yogurt, freshly made apple juice with ginger, natural honey, brewed coffee, salty crisp bacon … and the list goes on.

Saving the best for last – the dinner was exquisite (3 course meal, duck and wine) and the company was special, refreshing and enlightened.

Room Tip: The room with the bath is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Marietta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Indalinga Guesthouse on Enaleni Nguni Farm is the ideal place for the perfect breakaway. Everything there is done with heart...a special touch in everything that Richard and Dave do...from the Nguni's to the near extinct Zulu sheep, to the orchids and all the special animals dear to them.

The guesthouse gets greeted by the most amazing sunrise every morning where the rays of the sun meets up with the mist in the valleys. A place of serenity where one can truly relax and reflect on life.

Even though it's only my second time staying there,it already feels like leaving family behind upon departure. Their special treatment of their guests make you feel like royalty. I cannot wait to visit this little piece of heaven very soon in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank IzelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The guest house is a wonderful place to stay. Richardd and Dave are gracious hosts and the breakfast and dinner were spectacular. They gave us a fascinating tour of the farm, with all of the beautiful indigenous farm animals, and beautiful orchids. The cottage itself is beautifullly decorated with wonderful views. It is a paradise, and so close to Durban.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Enaleni Farm is a place of magic. It is conveniently close to Durban and Pietermaritzburg but after just a few hours there you feel like the "real world" is miles away. Indilinga Guest House is clean, safe and rejuvenating. Dave and Richard are the perfect hosts. They're honest, and kind and very interesting. They also will nurture you or leave you be - depending on what you need (something that I am sure comes from all of their experience raising animals and growing plants). I have stayed there alone and with friends, and I have also been to a workshop there with lunch at the restaurant. Each time was great. Enaleni Farm is also wonderful for children (and adults) as there is so much to learn and see! I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Inger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhb
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Thank you Richard and Dave for allowing us to rent your farm cottage. Wow what a delightful experience. The cottage is very comfortable, the added bonus was the farm fresh milk, beverages and home made rusks placed in the Kitchen, the down duvets and pillows, the fireplace in the lounge, comfortable beds, and not forgetting the friendly dogs. If you want to experience truely home grown ingredient meals then this is the place to stay. I loved all the animals which roam free on the small farm, pigs, chickens, turkeys, sheep. We even tried our hands at milking the cow and feeding the lambs. Overall very comfortable, very homely, true farm atmosphere, accommodating hosts, delicious meals. I have no negative views on Enaleni, except thanks we will be back next time we need to be at iDube.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eleaze W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hillcrest hotels
0.0 mi away
White House B&B
White House B&B
#13 of 20 in Hillcrest
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khululeka Backpackers
Khululeka Backpackers
#1 of 1 in Hillcrest
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mulberry Guest House
Mulberry Guest House
#5 of 20 in Hillcrest
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brackens
Brackens
#14 of 20 in Hillcrest
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chillifields B & B
Chillifields B & B
#10 of 20 in Hillcrest
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cybele Lodge
Cybele Lodge
#2 of 20 in Hillcrest
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indilinga Guest House at Enaleni Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indilinga Guest House at Enaleni Farm

Property: Indilinga Guest House at Enaleni Farm
Address: 56 On D685, off R | Near Tangle Thorn Estate, Hillcrest 3610, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Hillcrest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hillcrest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enaleni Farm located 7km off the N3 between Durban and Pietermaritzburg is an agro-ecological working guest farm that celebrates relationship to land, animals, plants and people; we're farmers in the true sense of the word rather than a farm factory. At Enaleni we farm mainly indigenous livestock, old fashioned traditional crops and orchids from around the world. Our animals include, 2 rescued donkeys, a rare collection of Zulu sheep, free-farrow and free range indigenous Kolbroek pigs, Nguni cattle, turkeys and old fashioned poultry. We also have Delilah and Marigold, our Jersey cows that we hand-milk for butter, cheese and yoghurt. Our guest house is spacious and comfortable with self-catering options and enables outsiders to become insiders and wander, rest, dream, learn or help in farm chores. Enaleni has captured the voice of radio and scribble of magazine, newspaper and book with unique animals, flavours, artisan bread, cured meats and multiple preserves. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing