We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pompey”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hillcrest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Warrens Guest House
Ranked #4 of 19 Hillcrest B&B and Inns
pompey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pompey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The holiday started well enough but when the B&B became full the electrics were over loaded and they went off in the mornings and afternoons when everyone used it so take a torch as the portable emergency lights were either not working or not charged up.

There has also been a change of manager during our stay which also impacted our holiday tv and wifi not working but sorted after some time also the music system was stopped.

Staff was very friendly and the breakfast was ok ish.

The dog has since passed away but the cat is still there and very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pompeyfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    4
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vryheid, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Warren's Guest House compares very well to many four and five star guest houses I have stayed in and comes highly recommended. The rooms are spacious, very well equipped with bar fridges, microwaves and safes, large flat screen tvs and very comfortable beds.

This is real value for money, with the added bonus of a lovely breakfast. There are many good restaurants in the area and if you are into shopping, great shops as well. Cynthia, the manager is very friendly and helpful and has mastered the art of being the perfect host.

I would most definitely return to Warren's Guest House!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilsev348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

South Africa in my experience has many truly excellent and cheap guesthouses and this is another. About 8 characterful rooms and cottages are arranged around a lovely garden and pool. The breakfasts are excellent and there is a pub/bar operating on an honesty basis at very reasonable prices. The room rates are also cheap, the manager very accommodating and the staff friendly and dedicated. There are big TVs, safes in each room, wifi and a communal lounge.

I would add only two notes of caution: firstly, if you are wanting to explore Durban from here, a car is basically essential and the journey is quite long - 45 min plus - so you may spend a lot of time driving in and out of Durban especially at busy times. Second, the guesthouse has a dog that really does not smell good and sometimes bit those that went near its bed. (NB the dog does not go in the rooms - but does go in the lounge and bar).

Room Tip: The website has excellent descriptions of each room, they're all quite different and the best on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelShellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have used Warrens on many occasions over the past five years and have always been made very welcome by Cynthia. Pool is always immaculate and rooms likewise. Sincerely recommended. (Paul Close, UK)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_Close
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

When I first visited Warrens in Hillcrest 3 years ago, there had been a recent change in ownership. I could sense a few uncertainties, but the new owners were enthusiastic and learning their way. There are not many options in this most attractive community, just 40 ks west of Durban with cooler air. I returned this year for my second visit. This remains my favourite guest house in South Africa. Here are my reasons. 1. Off the busy road and quiet. 2. Beautiful garden and swimming pool. 3. Friendly efficient staff. 4. Safe parking. 5. Spacious comfortable rooms with good TV choices and efficient showers. 6. Excellent breakfast with generous choices. 7, Walking distance to good pubs and restaurants. 8. GREAT VALUE!

Room Tip: Do check out their web site which includes photos of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hillcrest
3.5 mi away
Makaranga
Makaranga
#1 of 2 in Kloof
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brackens
Brackens
#14 of 19 in Hillcrest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.5 mi away
White House B&B
White House B&B
#13 of 19 in Hillcrest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Khululeka Backpackers
Khululeka Backpackers
#1 of 1 in Hillcrest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chillifields B & B
Chillifields B & B
#9 of 19 in Hillcrest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eagle Wind Manor
Eagle Wind Manor
#1 of 2 in Botha's Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warrens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warrens Guest House

Property: Warrens Guest House
Address: 15 Mill Road, Hillcrest 3610, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Hillcrest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hillcrest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing