We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Detter than your average pub grub”
Review of Shepherds Rest

Shepherds Rest
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Westhill
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Belhaven Pub, serving fresh food and drinks daily., AB32 6HF
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Detter than your average pub grub”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Had lunch there and the menu was much more interesting and varied than the standard stuff you get at places next door to Premier Inns. The steak pie was very meaty and the pastry properly cooked. The mash may have been slightly on the bland side. The scampi raised no complaints from my companion and the chips were done to perfection (for this sort of place). Service could be improved as it took a long time to get drinks before we went to the table, but taking the food order and food delivery was quick and efficient. As usual, when it was time to get the bill, the staff were absent or avoiding any eye contact, which was an excellent display of the waiter technique.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smudges-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    123
    72
    57
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Hit or a miss!”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We've been to the shepherds rest several times for food as its local. A bit over priced for run of the mill pub grub but still fine nonetheless.
Went for a Sunday meal and was thoroughly disappointed! I ordered a special starter of "tandoori chicken breast"at a premium price of 5.99 expecting a nice hearty start to my meal......what arrived was a mouthful of chicken pieces that looked pre packed from asda and a rough handful of lettuce. I was finished it before the waitress left our table! The roast dinner was semi warm and bland, and tasted very microwaved. Waiting staff all looked like they'd rather have been somewhere else.
Nice setting, just need consistency to the food. You can't expect to charge premium pub grub food prices and not provide premium pub grub!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murrmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Had a meal in here last week. We got the sharing starter which was much more than we expected. The mains were good apart from my steak which was disappointing yet again. However, service excellent and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 443MAC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Staff and their attitude make this place fabulous”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I often stay at the premier inn next to the Shephards Rest.

As food and value go its good (not brilliant but definitely sufficient), however I have to admit I would probably vary where I eat if if wasn't for the staff at the restaurant.

As a single female eating alone is never a fun experience but everyone takes time to chat, they remember who you are and are just genuinely interested.

Many years ago I used to deliver customer service training and the team here could really demonstrate all I spoke about.

Having not been up in Westhill for a couple of months it was lovely to come back to the hotel and restaurant and be welcomed like a friend rather than just a patron.

Please keep up this excellent work (oh and please start to offer prosecco by the glass again!).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali-Bali1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Family dinng”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Went with family for late lunch, staff lovely, service really good, tasty fresh cooked food. Great choice for the children too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shepherds Rest also viewed

 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Westhill, Aberdeen
 
Westhill, Aberdeen
Westhill, Aberdeen
 

Been to Shepherds Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing