We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to Basics!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Westhill
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Back to Basics!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We recently stayed at the Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill and were disappointed with our stay. We were disgusted to find that the towels in the shower had stains on them from a previous guest. Our young son very nearly dried his face with it. Having clean towels in a room is a basic for any hotel. We did complain and were presented with 'clean' towels. I had to return one of these towels as it was stained with a large black mark. This is unacceptable standards!

We had booked in for two nights and after having my premier breakfast on the first morning we cancelled the following day's breakfast as it was not cooked properly the first time. My veggie sausages were not cooked in the middle and my egg was not cooked in places. It appears as if my sausages and hash browns had been deep fried and they were all mushy in the middle. It also tasted very oily/greasy. I have had the same premier breakfast cooked for me in the Premier Inn Shrewsbury and it was delicious. The breakfast at the Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill was a let down due to how it was cooked.

The Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill has a restaurant which is situated next door to it called 'The Shepherds's Rest' which is where Premier Inn guests go for any meals that they have booked. We returned a dessert which was served on an extremely hot plate which resulted in my cheesecake going all runny. Apparently this was a hot pudding which it did not state in the menu and we were very disappointed with it especially after it cost nearly £5.00. When my husband took it back he was informed by Darren ( a rather rude individual) that it was our fault because we took it to our room. I ordered cheesecake and it never stated it would be hot. It certainly should never have been served on a hot plate. The dessert just looked awful. My husband asked for a refund and was told 'No!' by Darren. What lovely, polite staff, NOT!!!

One other point that we would like to highlight is that just because this hotel can charge over a hundred and twenty pounds for a room due to the oil industry does not mean that they should. It is grossly overcharging for accommodation that other people pay half the price for.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urszula_Russell, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Ann D at Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion you were let down by cleanliness issues. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment caused with the service you received in the restaurant. Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be passed on to Restaurant’s Manager as it is not owned by Whitbread Restaurants. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously as it enables us to improve standards.
Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    124
    50
    13
    8
See reviews for
114
78
20
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirriemuir, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Booked 3 rooms in this hotel as it was conveniently close to where we were having a family party. The rooms were basic but spacious and comfortable. One of the family rooms had a strong smell of smoke but as there were no other rooms available the receptionist said they would open a window and put in an air freshener.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urszula_Russell, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Yvonne D thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay here with us at Aberdeen Westhill Premier Inn.
I am sorry to read that you experienced problems with your stay here with us.
At Premier Inn all of our rooms are non smoking rooms and they have been since the smoking band was introduced in the UK and I am sorry to read you have felt your room has been smoked in. We take this no smoking policy very seriously and would never knowingly allow any guest to smoke within our premises.

Again, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay here with us. The team and myself look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

March was cold and snowy. The staff made our visit warm and welcoming. We stayed for a week and were treated like family. Everyone on the staff was more than eager to help us with every question we had, including places to eat, areas to visit and things to see. We are hoping to return again in the summer. Home is Houston, TX so the cooler weather will feel good then!

Room Tip: Just ask the staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALBONN7603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urszula_Russell, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear ALBONN7603 thank you very much for taking time to leave us a feedback. We are always delighted when our guests are leaving Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill HAPPY and are thinking about coming back to stay with us again. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service. My Team and I are looking forward to your next visit here in Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here for one night with our young family - son aged 3 and daughter 11months. Room was very clean, spacious and child-friendly. The cot and child's bed were all made up and ready for us and everything looked like new.

The room was quiet and backout blinds excellent ensuring kids slept well. The non-slip bath made bathtime a safe experience.

The breakfast also had lots of healthy options for the kids and the adults enjoyed the premier breakfast too!

The staff at reception were very friendly and approachable.

All in all, was a great place to stay with the little ones.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hill06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urszula_Russell, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Hill06 I want to thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay here with us at Aberdeen Westhill Premier Inn.

I was happy to read that you found our rooms clean and spacious and staff friendly.

The restaurant next door was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your freshly cooked breakfast and that they were able to offer healthy options for kids.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Aberdeen Westhill Premier Inn the next time you visit Aberdeen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Maybe there should be pre-determined categories for hotels, because I find it impossible to give this big 5s like lots of previous reviewers. Folks, it's a Premier Inn. It's a budget hotel. It has pretty well no facilities, certainly no luxuries, so let's get real. It does what it says it will do, within its clear limits. It's less expensive than most hotels in Aberdeen, but that's hardly difficult, nor is it cheap. Friendly, yes, but once you've checked in and paid, you have little or no interaction with the staff. Why would you? You're scarcely going to get them to book you a limousine, or get you entrance to some snobby night club. I think I've made my point here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urszula_Russell, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Richard L I would like to thank you for reviewing your recent stay here with us at Aberdeen Westhill Premier Inn.

As you say we are a Premier Inn and as such we guarantee our guests clean comfortable rooms and friendly efficient service.
Our staff are more than willing to help with any queries or problems you may have including the booking of tables or taxis should you require them to do so.

Rooms in Aberdeen can be very expensive and we pride ourselves on being very competetive in the hotel market.
Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

I stayed overnight at the Westhills, Aberdeen Premier Inn, the welcome was warm and friendly. The rooms were very clean fresh and everything in good working order. We had a room facing road and I hate the traffic noise but I didn't hear anything. The restaurant next door was fab great choice on menu and all meals were excellent. Breakfast was also good they had it all and everything freshly made to order. Overall I would definately stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F_D186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urszula_Russell, General Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such fabulous feedback regarding your recent stay here at Premier Inn Aberdeen Westhill. My team really enjoy receiving such positive feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your time here with us. Although the restaurant does not belong to us they are still very interested in our guests feedback and were equally thrilled to see you enjoyed your dining with them and they would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your experience with them.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

They say a good nights sleep guaranteed. Well I am not so sure. The beds were comfy but loud tellys late at night and being woken up in the very early hours by crying kids (not mine) and then again by the same or by others at 7.00am on a Sunday morning followed by lots of banging, shouting and water running does not make for a good nights sleep. A soap dispenser that works would be good and a hoover being taken over the floor when the make the beds and change the towels would be a nice touch. If you want to see to do your hair or put on some make - up, good luck, the lighting is very, very poor.

Glad we dont have to stay here very often.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katherinejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urszula_Russell, Manager at Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Premier Inn. I was disappointed that you experienced some problems during your visit. I will be having a meeting with our night reception team members and housekeeping management to address the complaints you have put to me.
I would appreciate it if you could give me a call at the hotel so I can apologise in person and try and restore your faith in us and Premier Inn hotels.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westhill
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
1.9 mi away
Village Hotel Aberdeen
Village Hotel Aberdeen
#22 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel
6.8 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
6.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel
Address: 10 Straik Road, Westhill, Aberdeen AB32 6HF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen > Westhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Westhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business or pleasure, or a combination of the two with a round of golf? Whatever the reason for your visit, Premier Inn Hotel Aberdeen Westhill puts everything on your doorstep, including business parks, international markets and excellent transport links. Visit the seat of the chief of Clan Irvine at the imposing Drum Castle. Or take your seat for some thrilling action at Union Square cinema complex. Have a round of golf at Westhill, or spend time strolling around the seasonal market held in Aberdeen city centre every three months. Then come back to the hotel for a bite to eat at our Belhaven restaurant, and a great night's sleep in our comfy beds. Directions: Situated along the A944 to Alford, situated next to Tesco. Next to the Shepherd's Rest. Transport and local information: Hazelhead Park Crathes Castle Gardens Aberdeen Train Station 8 miles Aberdeen Airport 7 miles Aberdeen Ferry 8 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Westhill) Hotel Aberdeenshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing