We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holding back a little..............” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kathton House

Kathton House
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Sturry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Soups, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Mids UK
Level Contributor
175 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Holding back a little..............”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Firstly, I should say that this is a nicely decorated, modern restaurant with staff who are very professional & friendly. We managed to park outside, but as there were only 8 of us in the restaurant, it might not be so easy on busier evenings.

After reading all the reviews, maybe my expectations were too high, but I felt that it fell a little below the mark in terms of the menu. There was nothing intrinsically wrong with any of the quality ingredients, but I just felt some of them didn't go together. The asparagus starter was served with a chopped cold egg and a warm dill sauce. The sauce was delicious, but seemed to overpower the asparagus. The other starter of crab, prawn, avocado and a chilli sauce was delicately flavoured but again, I won't be rushing to try this at home.
My fillet steak with mushroom sauce was fine, but not that memorable. However, the calves liver was deemed to be excellent & cooked the way requested. The cheese selection was also very good with a generous portion of biscuits & grapes.

I would probably come here again and try some different dishes, as I thought it was a civilised sort of place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ukbusinesslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    44
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warrants the good reviews on here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Had a very pleasant lunch here at the end of May - The two ladies serving were attentive and jovial, and the venue was pleasing on the eye - All the food was delicious and the portion size was sensible - It is definitely worth battling through the Sturry Road traffic to get here! - Will be returning soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FanofStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A little gem...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

A second visit with friends we were not disappointed and our friends equally impressed.......a great menu selection with well cooked and presented food.....and we could relax and enjoy our evening in a spacious pleasant environment.....we will be back!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb in every particular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We went to Kathton House with 4 friends last Saturday and had such a beautiful experience. The menu was as varied and imaginative as ever, with so much that appealed it was hard to choose. The glazed smoked salmon was such a delicious dish, perfectly balanced and led so delightfully on to the calves liver with champ - simple and done to a delicate pink. With the amuse bouche and a sorbet, plus the scrumptious breads, I did not have room for a desert. My friends all chose gorgeous sweet dishes or cheese and were equally impressed with those.
All of this coupled with the signature attentive-but-discrete service made for a wonderful evening shared with friends

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JackanapesCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have eaten here before and thought it was excellent.. We were treating some friends as their wedding present to this meal and had e most enjoyable evening and so did our friends. All of the food was perfect and the service absolutely fantastic.. Thank you

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkiandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kathton House also viewed

 

Been to Kathton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing