We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite restaurant”
Review of The Punch Tavern

The Punch Tavern
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Sturry
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“My favourite restaurant”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Every time I have been here its been great, the food is delicious the atmosphere is lovely and the decor is gorgeous. If anyone slates this restaurant then they need to get a grip, the prices are fantastically low and your entire family can enjoy a meal out. I always fill my plate to the max and I love food, if the plate is too small, top it up like a mountain, dont listen to anyone bad mouthing this restaurant until you try it yourself and if you expect too much then maybe you should put your hand in your pocket and go to a more expensive restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerryjones100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    45
    41
    29
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
margate
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, shame about the food.”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely pub, great decor and nice and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Prices were good, £5.20 for a large carvery.

However, the food itself was such a disappointment.
There were three joints of meat on offer - turkey, beef and gammon. Which were, very nice indeed. Could've had just a big plate of that on it's own.

Vege on offer was roast potatoes, cauliflower cheese, carrots, sprouts, Yorkshire puddings and cabbage.

The roast potatoes were awful. Rubbery skin and tasteless. They bent when I tried to cut them.

The cauliflower cheese was just boiled, watery cauliflower sat in a bowl with packet cheese sauce all over it.

Yorkshire puddings were pre-made frozen things. Hard and overdone.

Carrots and sprouts were also boiled to within an inch of their lives. Tasteless mush.


I expected a delicious home-made roast dinner. What I got was catering style cheap canteen food.


Definitely won't be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tetrisdroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Urh”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Dried up carvery ... running out of everything .. toilet covered in sick told a member of staff ( young sulky cant be bothered waitress ) she said oh ok hour later as we left still the same she done nothing about it ! Yellow discusting icecream ... to sum it all up ROTTEN

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mojacar
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“not a good experience today”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

a sad piece of turkey sat on the carving deck and two of the three of us got served turkey. My husband wanted turkey & was offered the trimmings, the carver said he could make a serving out of the trimmings. My husband only likes the white meat and nothing burnt or crispy or skin. He ended up having gammon, which as he said he could have in any restaurant, and really wanted the turkey. The carver said that they had been busy and there was only gammon and turkey on offer and no pork because it had all gone, although I think pork was advertised for today and there was no mention of no pork when we paid for our meals. This is not the first time we have had a bad meal in this restaurant and we feel it will be a long time before we return to this establishment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank themuver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awful carvery”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We arrived just as they were opening. Food should have been good - wrong the joints were all burnt and the vegetables were all overcooked. It was like something my Dad used to cook. At least he did not charge me for such awful food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Punch Tavern also viewed

 
Sturry, Canterbury
 

Been to The Punch Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing