We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of The Punch Tavern

The Punch Tavern
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Sturry
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This is a good value for money establishment. The carvery with roast pork turkey and gammon Mon to Weds and beef turkey and gammon Thurs to Sat with all available on Sunday. From the signs there is all you can eat breakfast £3.99 but have tried this yet

Helpful?
Thank Richard5357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    44
    41
    28
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worst carvery ever have tasted”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Thought we would have a change of scenery from our usual Toby Carvery West wood Cross, HUGE mistake , dried up meat, frozen veg, hard roast pots stuffing so dry you could not get the serving spoon into it . the little bit of dried up pork was so hacked into it looked liked it had already been chewed up, it was dry and stringy yuk ! . Plus yu have to ring a buzzer for someone to serv e you , I wish I hadnt bothered , but as I had my 91 year old Aunt with me I did not want to cause a fuss,
I had a feeling when i went to pay for the food ( which by the way you have to do before you can receive your food ) as the assistants / bar maids white t shirt was a dirty grey colour not a good advertisement for a food establishment as if staff are not well turned out nor will the food be either. I am not a fussy eater but do like properly cooked food . I did complain and got offered a free pudding but we declined this offer, thankfully we shall not be going back to that establishment again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mesandy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“cheap”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

cheap cuts of meat ....frozen veg .. watery gravy... dirty and tatty .. needs a good clean... keep giving it a chance but its always poor ....wont go again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“worst food I have ever had”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We passed by once on our way back home from a hike in the woods. Given that there weren't many options around there, we thought we'd give it a try. Also the price seemed reasonable.
The worst sunday roast I've ever had - so dry it sucked the water out of my mouth. Don't bother going.. for your own sake.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveling E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't go for breakfast”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Went with my daughter and grandchildren. When we arrived we paid for breakfast and a drink of tea my daughter went with my grandson to get their breakfast from the hot plate. We they came back the sausages looked like they had been cooked and then cooked again they were rock hard there was no eggs and the bacon was dry and tough. I took the sausages and bacon back to the hot plate and asked for some that were not dried out, the chef took them of me and replaced them with some that was not rock hard but had obviously been cooked more than once, I asked about eggs and was told they were being cooked and would be approx. 10 - 15mins.. More people arrived and they too did not want the sausages and bacon on offer so were prepared to wait for fresh food. When the new food arrived it to looked dry and overcooked. I mentioned to the member of staff that the food was not satisfactory and he was very uninterested in my complaint.

Really Punch Tavern you need to look after your customers or like me they will not return. Please do not go there for breakfast.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Punch Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Punch Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing