We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Punch Tavern

The Punch Tavern
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Sturry
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Drove passed this tavern and noticed lots of cars parked so decided to give it a try. Yes it was busy but we soon ordered our carvery which had a choice of pork, turkey and beef plus half chicken.The cook puts the meat on the plates then you can place all the veg that you want plus stuffing balls roast potatoes and mash, and the gravy. You can go back for second helpings but not for extra meat. Included in the meal deal is unlimited soft Cornish ice cream which again you help yourself to and is unlimited. Very good value for money and had change out of ten pounds!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    44
    37
    27
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“punch tavern”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

my wife and i had a lovely meal one saturday arfternoon we both had the fish . the quality was great i was sapprised as it cost less then £4

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skelly1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This is a good value for money establishment. The carvery with roast pork turkey and gammon Mon to Weds and beef turkey and gammon Thurs to Sat with all available on Sunday. From the signs there is all you can eat breakfast £3.99 but have tried this yet

Helpful?
Thank Richard5357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worst carvery ever have tasted”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Thought we would have a change of scenery from our usual Toby Carvery West wood Cross, HUGE mistake , dried up meat, frozen veg, hard roast pots stuffing so dry you could not get the serving spoon into it . the little bit of dried up pork was so hacked into it looked liked it had already been chewed up, it was dry and stringy yuk ! . Plus yu have to ring a buzzer for someone to serv e you , I wish I hadnt bothered , but as I had my 91 year old Aunt with me I did not want to cause a fuss,
I had a feeling when i went to pay for the food ( which by the way you have to do before you can receive your food ) as the assistants / bar maids white t shirt was a dirty grey colour not a good advertisement for a food establishment as if staff are not well turned out nor will the food be either. I am not a fussy eater but do like properly cooked food . I did complain and got offered a free pudding but we declined this offer, thankfully we shall not be going back to that establishment again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mesandy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“cheap”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

cheap cuts of meat ....frozen veg .. watery gravy... dirty and tatty .. needs a good clean... keep giving it a chance but its always poor ....wont go again

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Punch Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Punch Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing