We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pub should be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Brewers

The Old Brewers
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Lockerley
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a pub should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We can't recommend the Old Brewer's highly enough, whether just for a drink or a something to eat. It is certainly the most relaxing and friendly pub that we have ever visited. My partner and I have been visiting The Old Brewer's on and off over the past ten years. Terry the host is very welcoming and entertaining whilst his wife Shirley is the excellent chef. The food is delicious home cooked fare served in a lovely cosy dining room complete with cherubs and bed pans! We can definitely recommend the Sunday Lunch and also the annual Christmas menu. The pub itself is warmly decorated with a roaring wood burning stove during the winter months. The Christmas decorations are a treat and if there was an award for the best decorated pub The Old Brewers should be the winner. For various reasons we hadn't visited for a well but it was like being greeted by an old friend today and we certainly will not be waiting so long before we visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nowhere Else!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is the place to visit. An interesting pub, an entertaining landlord, a wonderful cook and lovely staff. Could it get better? Yes it could. A great atmosphere, a fantastic meal, really good beer. Beautiful surrounding countryside. A true gem. In the winter there is the warmth of a roaring wood burner that is only matched by the warmth of the welcome you get. Terry, Shirley and Amy make this pub the place to visit. On our regular 50 mile round trip there we pass dozens of pubs and restaurants but none could match the Old Brewers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another terrific Sunday lunch... thank you Shirley!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is my nearest local pub and I've visited often over the last 3 decades... for half of that time, Terry and Shirley have been the most amazing hosts... always very welcoming and the food is fantastic... Terry works tirelessly to ensure that the fire is well stoked and the vegetable garden is productive... and together with the friendly bar staff, the pleasing family atmosphere ensures that customers will always enjoy an experience to be remembered...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Probably...the best pub in the universe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

My husband and I (and the rest of my family) have been coming to this wonderful pub for years. You always assured of a warm welcome by Terry, the host with the most, and his wife (and chef) Shirley. The interior of the pub is very olde-worlde, with a lot of gleaming brass and plates - and that's not going into what it's like at Christmas! The food is first class, all home-made and cooked, with nice veggie options. The staff are great, very friendly and a pleasure to deal with. Everything is spotless, from the dining room, decorated with cherubs, to the cosy bar, complete with roaring fire. Come to the Old Brewers!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

This pub is a little gem nestled in the Wiltshire countryside not far from Romsey or Salisbury. The atmosphere in the pub is traditional and friendly and the meals were a welcome experience; from white table cloths, laid cutlery and proper hot food. When we were there the puddings were ALL home made, and the main course was plentiful. The main surprise is the price of this experience very very reasonable. We will be back again soon!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Rick-Burt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Brewers also viewed

 
East Tytherley, Hampshire
Braishfield, Romsey
 

Been to The Old Brewers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing