We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing view”
Review of Hotel Punta Negra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Punta Negra
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fertilia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The hotel offers stunning view of Mediterranean Sea, with outdoor pool for families with small children and infinite pool hanging over the cliff and jacuzzi. Hotel also features private beach with umbrellas and sun chairs. The beach is clean everyday by hotel staff through the season and offers variety of sport activities such as windsurfing or tennis. If you don't want to stay on the beach, you can take the advantage of the garden right above it.

You can also rent bicycles from the reception and stroll around the coast. Fertilia is reached by a short walk and bus to Alghero can be caught from the main square in Fertilia.

Rooms are designed in light colors with Mediterranean touch, bathroom is fully furnished and equipped. Wireless connection is available free of charge throughout the whole property. All rooms comes with breakfast which is served in the restaurant or on the terrace outside. Guests can choose from hot and cold selection of pastries, fresh fruits, meat products and local cheeses. Some of its packages offer dinners and lunch included which are served a la carte in hotel restaurant.

Cuisine offers variety of sea food products as well as local and Italian specialties, also served fresh from the grill. Hotel can also organized trips around the island or to surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hcslovanka1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed here in September to celebrate our honeymoon. A great choice.
I spent weeks researching hotels in Alghero , trying to find the right hotel, we booked Punta Negra in the official website and we find a special offer.
Cant wait to return next year to experience the delights of the Punta Negra and sit by one of the best swimming pools on Sardinia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stayed here for 7 nights in October. We had a sea view room which was great because the sound of the sea and the view was just perfect, very relaxing.

Hotel & Reception:
Dated, needs investment and for the prices they charge €1700 for a 7 night stay they certainly make money to afford spending on updating the hotel.

We arrived and the receptionist was dealing with another guest, followed by a phone call, so we were left without acknowledgement for over 20 minutes. This theme repeated itself several times during the course of our stay and is not limited to reception staff only. We were shown to our room an hour or so later, which was fine as we had arrived at 11 am.

I don't think that the receptionists or management realize that in the evenings even though they might be out of direct sight behind the wall in reception their activities are clearly visible in the glass window on the side.
So while being kept waiting for extended periods of time - we were clearly able to see that the staff were just standing behind the wall checking their mobiles.

Room:
Housekeeping staff are friendly and lovely, they dont speak english but makeup for it by being exceptionally helpful. Room cleanliness is mediocre - shower doors are not cleaned properly and neither are the tiles - mould clearly visible. See pictures. Rooms are smallish. But having a balcony overlooking the sea is great. There are no tea & coffee making facilities in the room - but we asked for a kettle from the housekeeping staff and were promptly provided one with two cups and a great selection of teas only - no coffee.
There is a mini bar in the room accompanied by a sign stating that any personal food/drink items should not be stored in it and will be confiscated.
Only 3 English channels on TV - all news. Wifi free strength weak.
Overall the rooms need updating.

Restaurant: Breakfast -The worst breakfast selection I have ever come across. certainly not a 4 star breakfast. Hot selection - scrambled eggs - which are not replenished or refreshed - mostly blue and sickly looking. Boiled eggs, bacon - which is swimming in an inch of oil and tiny cocktail sausages which taste stale and look unappetizing.

Tea and coffee - has to be poured into cups at the hot plate and by the time you take a seat with ur cup the contents are just warm and adding milk and stirring reduce them to being cold. We asked if we could have a tea pot for the table and after being told no by the restaurant manager - a tea pot did appear but without a lid. Very unprofessional and surprising as during the day they serve tea/coffee in pots to the tables.

On three of the morning that I went for breakfast - the staff were shouting at each other - especially an older man who was grumpy and was giving out to the young girls very loudly - which was extremely uncomfortable to watch even though we didn't understand what was being said. I gave up on going for breakfast after that and chose to keep some fruits etc in the room. As there is no option to but a room only package - I think the management are cutting back on breakfast as they know everyone has to pay weather or not the breakfast is good. They really need to make it acceptable as right now its far from it.

Dinner: Same restaurant manager - very rude and unhelpful.
We went for dinner once and were left waiting for 20 min without being approached - even though there were only three other tables occupied and we could count three suits and five other staff. We were eventually approached by the restaurant manager who asked us "what you want" at which stage we just said thanks but we will just go into town. Which we did and found an excellent restaurant " Placa Civica" in Alghero excellent food, lovely staff and great setting in the square right next to the sea, We ate several time there. On other occasions we ate at the restaurants in Fertilia which were all great.

Overall - we felt that the restaurant staff were inefficient - did not want to be there and mostly it would appear because of the attitude of the restaurant manager - who just couldn't be bothered. They really need to learn how to be hospitable. Every time we approached the restaurant staff weather it was the bar or restaurant they were on their mobiles and rather than cut the conversation short - they see you approaching and walk into the back rooms to continue their conversations. I found this extremely unprofessional - I cant believe that service staff have not been told that this is inappropriate. Shocking really.

Transport: To Alghero there are two or three buses on the hour generally and you can get a €1 day return ticket for the 10 minute trip. Great city center, beautiful old town and fantastic white sand beach. To airport - better to get the bus too, same €1 day return its a 5-7 minute ride. Taxi costs €17 to €20 for the same trip - we took a taxi from the airport but a bus back.

Pool and beach - this is the best aspect of the hotel. Adults pool is heated and lovely, kiddies pool next to adults pool - both well maintained and just perfect. Infinity pool is not heated but just as well maintained. The pool hand Pablo if I remember correctly - is very helpful and by far the most friendly staff member along side the housekeepers.
Beach - its private and maintained well. Reception staff declined our request for beach umbrellas - which meant that we ended up going to the beach only in late evenings as the sun was too strong during the day..

all in all - while we thoroughly enjoyed Sardinia and the view from our room. I will certainly not recommend this hotel to anyone - simply because the staff and management need to wake up and start prioritizing their guests. Further more the hotel does not deliver value for the price we paid. I am sure you can find better hotels for your money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNAlghero, Responsabile reception at Hotel Punta Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

we thank you for leaving your comment on Tripadvisor Mrs Kaur.
We are sorry to read about your disappointment and we would like to reply to some of your complaints.
The price for all your stay (7 days 2 people) was euro 658 like in our Ricevuta Fiscale n° 2355 del 14/10/2012.
We made this special price because you were booked into another hotel and we confirmed the same rate.
We do not understand why you did not say anything about the poor service at the hotel
We thank you for your stay in our Hotel and we hope to guest you again in the future.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I was moved to this hotel by Hotel dei Pini due to them closing early for the season. I was dissapointed by the move and unfortunanately I was proven correct.

First the pro's:
The swimming pool area is very nice, beautiful view, nice gardens and well kept. The view from the room was good. The room was good (new style, with sea view), not very big but with all the features and with a good but small bathroom. Good breakfast with a good selection.

Then the con's
The hotel is a bit dated and somehow lacks a nice atmosphere. They have live music every night (from 9:00 - 11:15) which is fine, but the sound proofing of the rooms is so bad that the music was stronger in our room than on the balcony.
The main selling point, the beach, is a bit dissapointing both in size and in the view from the beach, which is on a residential area well captured on the pictures.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel, especially for the price we paid (170 per night). If you get a good package deal maybe it's a different story.

Room Tip: If you don't want live music in your room go for 2nd story or at the end of the halls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maarten81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We enjoyed the hotel and its sea view. The location was good. Close to the city bus. Transportation to the city was inexpensive. Ride from the airport was very expensive. Try to take the city bus. It generally runs on the hour. Good location too. Breakfast was okay but the guy working at the bar was rude and prices were ridiculously high. Try not to use the bar at all.

Room Tip: Try the sea view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam2000_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Spent a fabulous 2 weeks at the Hotel Punta Negra.
the staff are all very helpful and the rooms now all have new showers fitted which are
a blessing after a day spent on the sandy private beach or around the wonderful infinity
pool.
Just a 10 minute bus ride from the lovely old town of Alghero the hotel is situated in the
perfect location and has a 5 star sea view!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view because its amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Beautiful view, relaxed and nice atmosphere. Good service. NO noise, except from the waves of the sea. Nice little beach with nice sand.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fertilia
1.2 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#10 of 49 in Alghero
697 reviews
3.7 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
994 reviews
118.1 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
75.6 mi away
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
Hotel Gabbiano Azzurro
#2 of 14 in Golfo Aranci
405 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Negra

Address: Reg Punta Negra CP 24 | Localita Punta Negra, 07041 Fertilia, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero > Fertilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fertilia
Price Range: £118 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Punta Negra 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has recently been renovated, and now boasts beautiful, pastel-coloured, light green and pink, stucco walls to match the decorative pink ceramic floor tiles. The same colours have been used to blend in with the tablecloths and furniture. Inside the rooms, the doors and furniture are green, red and natural wood. The curtains and drapery are decorated with traditional Sardinian designs.The Punta Negra Hotel looks out directly onto the sea front. The low level, typically Mediterranean architecture featuring spacious terraces, blends well into the beautiful natural surroundings. As you cast your eyes over the sandy white beach surrounded by high cliffs, you will undoubtedly be overcome by a wealth of emotions. In the background you can admire the wondrous gulf with the view over the harbour and the historical centre of the charming, colourful Catalan town of Alghero. Service on the beach, weather conditions permitting, will be ensured from the 15th of June to the 15th of September. The Punta Negra Hotel is a three-storey coastal building. The ground floor is divided into two parts: one wing is given over to a spacious lounge, a snack bar a, restaurant and the kitchen, whilst the second wing contains bedrooms. The first and the second floors are devoted entirely to bedrooms, half of which have balconies overlooking the sea, and the other half of which face onto a beautiful pine forest. The hotel has a total of ninety-two rooms and a Suite all equipped with air conditioning, mini bar, colour TV and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Punta Negra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Negra Hotel
Punta Negra Alghero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing