We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, good service and nice rooms”
Review of Hotel Punta Negra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Punta Negra
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fertilia
Certificate of Excellence
Elst, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Perfect location, good service and nice rooms”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Everything was perfect! The room, the restaurant, the breakfast, the views, the beach and the beautifull pools. Also, the service is very good in the hotel. Everybody has a smile and that is what we want to see. I have visited many hotels, this is one of the best.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThijsPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNAlghero, Responsabile reception at Hotel Punta Negra, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
We thank you Mr Thijs Peters for your kind review.
We are really glad you appreciated the facilities offered at Hotel Punta Negra and the kindness and the smiles of our staff. We try every day to do our best to make our guests happy and to let them spend a beautiful holiday at our hotel.
We do hope to welcome you again here. Paola anfd the whole staff of Hotel Punta Negra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    223
    66
    34
    14
See reviews for
173
297
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I had never been to Sardinia (and never even knew where it was) until this summer. I chose Hotel Punta Negra from the website description/photos. It looked beautiful. I was not disappointed! We had a lovely view of the ocean and beach from our room. The room was simple but very comfortable and the bed was excellent. Very clean too. The hotel staff was uniformly friendly and helpful and a few of them even went the extra mile to be of superior service. I will mention Elisabetta (who found me a chiropractor!), Matteo (who showed me TWICE how to work the TV), Giuseppe, Fabrizio (adorable) and the cleaning ladies who all greeted me early in the morning with a cheerful "Bongiorno!". The pool was beautiful and very relaxing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone without reservation. Thank you!!

Room Tip: get an ocean view if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenMerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNAlghero, Responsabile reception at Hotel Punta Negra, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Karen, we thank you for your kind words towards our staff and our hotel and we are really glad that you spent a lovely holiday at Punta Negra.
The hotel's staff is at disposal of its guests and does its best to let them have a great time here. Hotel Punta Negra is the ideal place for those who just need to relax, spend some time in a beautiful location and enjoy the beach and the swimmingpools. We do hope to welcome you again in Alghero. Many greetings from Paola and the whole staff of Hotel Punta Negra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was a quick getaway from the UK in May to Hotel Punta Negra - we were not disappointed it was just what we were looking for somewhere quiet and relaxing. Girls on reception were kind and helpful and top marks for the cleanliness. Beds were very comfortable and our room overlooked the bay which was so beautiful.
Breakfast was fine hot and cold choice and great to explore the town and restaurants at night you can either bus or we treated ourselves to taxi.
The hotel in itself is in a great location but don't expect great entertainment just gentle pianist during the evening. However suited us as this was what we were looking for, and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Either overlooking the bay or at the front would be pine forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank webster000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPuntaNegra, Responsabile reception at Hotel Punta Negra, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Webster00, we thank you for your kind words of your review.
Our hotel is located in the regional natural park of Porto Conte, facing the town of Alghero in a small bay called Punta Negra. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we do hope you will visit us one more time, maybe in May again to find the necessary quietness to relax.
Please visit our web page or our FB page to keep in touch with us!
Paola and the whole staff of Hotel Punta Negra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a fantastic weeks stay at the 'Hotel Punta Negra' in Fertilia for our wedding anniversary in July 2014. This is generally a quiet/peaceful hotel with friendly staff and comfortable modern facilties. The restaurant serves excellent food and I cannot really find anything bad to say about the Hotel Punta Negra. The following information may be useful to people considering booking into this hotel:

1. Hotel Rooms
The hotel has two types of room, one facing the sea to the front and the other faces the gardens to the rear. The hotel rooms are either on the ground floor or first floor.
The Sea Facing rooms are more expensive to book and do have a magnificent view of the ocean however the hotel bar is also situated to the front of the hotel. The sea facing rooms do not have sound proofing and the hotels entertainment can be noisy and does not finish until 11pm at night. The path to the pool is directly in front of the sea facing rooms allowing very little privacy to the rooms balconies.
The Garden Facing rooms to the rear have exactly the same interiors as the front sea facing rooms. It you are not bothered about a sea view and would prefer a bit more peace and quiet and privacy then the garden view rooms are for you.( and they are cheaper )
The Rooms have comfortable beds with clean bedding changed daily. The bathrooms are equipped with the best showers I have ever used. They also have a good hairdryer. The towels are white and fluffy and are also changed daily. Each room also has a free secure safe for your valuables and free air conditioning. There is also a large Samsung TV with Sky TV and a fridge filled with expensive drinks (small bottle lager 4 euro). It is worth noting that there are no coffee/tea making facilities in these rooms.
The Rooms are well cleaned every day by friendly cleaners. The cleaners return on an evening whilst you are having your evening meal and they puff up your pillows and turn down your blankets. Your night wear (nightie/PJ's) are also placed on your bed. Bedding and towels are changed daily.

2. Staff
All the staff are polite,helpful and friendly. The majority of the staff speak English, some better than others. During our stay the majority of the guests were Italian, there were also Germans, Swiss and Dutch nationals as hotel guests as well as a few English.

3. Restaurant - We booked half board which covered breakfast and evening meals.
For Breakfast you had the choice of cereals, a fried breakfast (bacon and eggs etc..), toast,coffee,orange juice, fruit,continental breakfast, the choice was extensive. Breakfast was on a self service basis. Eat as much or as little as you like. Breakfast was between 7.30am - 10am.
Evening Meals start at 7.30pm until 10pm and cover a 4 course Italian menu, served by waiters. You did have a menu to choose from. The first course was a self service salad, second course was waiter service of a pasta dish,third course was a meat or fish dish, and finally a 'sweet' course of ice cream or cheese cake type dishes.
The food at this hotel was fantastic !! Do not expect to eat chips !!

The Dress Code in the restaurant for all meals was informal ( t-shirt/shorts/flip flops or shirt and trousers - both acceptable )

4. Cashless Policy
If you buy drinks or snacks during your stay at the hotel it is charged to your room number. You pay this bill when you check out at the end of your stay.
** You do have to pay for any drinks you have with your evening meal ( water,wine,beer,pop, coffee etc..) A large bottle of water was 2 and a half euro,a cup of coffee was 2 euro, a large bottle of red wine started at 15 euro per bottle. A large beer was 5 euro, a small beer 3 and a half euro. **

5. Pools and Beach
The hotel provides guests with a large blue fluffy towel each day to use at the pool or on the beach. These towels are free however if you lose your towel there is a 20 euro fee to pay. There was always enough sun beds/loungers for all the hotel guests. These sun beds were comfortable and were maintained by the hotel staff. Lifeguards employed by the hotel were on duty at both the pools and the beach.
The pools were always clean and pleasant.
The beach was smelly due to the constant sea weed that seemed to wash up on the beach daily. This sea weed was removed by the hotel staff every morning. The sea weed made swimming in the sea uncomfortable, the sea was also shallow with rocks on the sea bed. The beach is divided into two halves, one half exclusively for the Hotel Punta Negra guests only.

6.Evening Entertainment
Each night an old man played the piano between 9-11pm. He played the piano to backing music and sang (mumbled) to Barry Manilow type music. I am being polite when I say he wasn't very good. On one night we had a local Italian 'tango' dance group dancing the night away inviting guests to dance with them. The entertainment did seem to be aimed at the older generation should we say.

7. Location
A 5 minute walk behind the beach is Fetilia town. This is a small town with one main street. The town has a traditional town square beside the church where the local bus stops. A bus ticket to Alghedo costs 1 euro (bought from the adjacent tobacco/newsagent kiosk) or 1 and a half euro if bought on the bus ( buses every 20-30 minutes). Fetilia main street consists of a coffee shop, ice cream shop,a small supermarket, a pizza restaurant / bar and the tobacco/newspaper kiosk. Fetilia has a 60 year old family ran coffee shop, it is well worth having a cup of coffee whilst sitting outside with the local people.
We also noticed that the bottle of red wine that the hotel supplied us at a cost of 15 euro's was available at the supermarket for 5 euro's !

The Hotel Punta Negra is generally a quiet pieceful hotel. It is situated in an isolated location and you will at some point need to take a local bus to the larger town of Alghedo and visit its shops, beaches, harbour and the 'Old City'. Boat trips also leave from Alghedo. It is a 10 minute bus journey into Alghedo from Fetilia.

8. Airport Taxi's
Please check when booking your hotel transfer with your tour operator. It costs 20 euro for an airport taxi to take you from the airport to the Hotel Punta Negra. The return taxi was easily booked when we checked out of the hotel. The taxi arrived within 10 minutes of the hotel reception phoning the taxi company, the cost was again 20 euro.

9. Are you a Runner or Jogger?
I like to run and the Fetilia - Alghedo road is a scenic 9km straight road. It is filled with runners at all times of the day. I enjoyed this 18km run every morning from Fertilia to the Alghedo 'Old City' walls and back.

10. Trips
There are lots of sights to see in the Alghedo / Fetilia area. I will suggest you visit the various ancient 'Nuraghe' ruins, the charming town of 'Bosa' with its Old Ladies making lace in its back streets, the bread museum in the hamlet of Monteleone Rocca Doria, the Neptune Caves, snorkeling amongst the marine life at Porto Conte to name but a few.......
(We booked the 'Sardinia Tour' through our 'Thomson Holidays' rep. It cost 55 euro per person but was cheap at the price. A Fantastic day trip.)

And finally, would I visit Sardinia and the Hotel Punta Negra again ?
The answer, yes without hesitation. A fantastic holiday.

Arrivederci.........

Room Tip: Sea front rooms have excellent ocean views but can lack privacy when on the balcony. May encounter n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Jazzcat203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPuntaNegra, Responsabile reception at Hotel Punta Negra, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Jazzcat20, we appreciate your "extensive review" of our Hotel Punta Negra.
The suggestions as well the critiques made by our guests help us to improve our facilities and to give a better service to everyone who wants to spend some days in Alghero and at our hotel.
We thank you for having spent your time in reviewing us and we you write you will visit again Hotel Punta Negra without hesitation, that is a new motivation to do our best to make our guests happy and satisfied. We do hope to welcome you back soon in Alghero.
Paola and the whole staff of Hotel Punta Negra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have spent the week here on recommendation. The Hotel is located around 6 kilometres from any where of interest but makes up by being right on the beach. The best rooms overlook the clear blue sea and have a good size balcony. The beds and pillows are on the firm (hard ) side of comfort and are time warp 70s. The bathrooms are bright and modern. We used the hotel restaurant on 5 nights, a very limited A La Carte menu. Excellent food and a good range of wines. The staff without exception are excellent. The pool area is of a high standard.
Taxi into Alghero 15/20 euros each way, the bus, every 2 hours 5 euros

Room Tip: Upgrade to any of the sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNAlghero, Responsabile reception at Hotel Punta Negra, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear David K, we thank you for having spent your time reviewing Hotel Punta Negra.
We are glad you appreciated the staff and our facilities during your stay. We always try to do our best to satisfy the expectations of our guests. We do hope you will come and visit us again. Thank you for choosing us. Paola and the whole staff of Hotel Punta Negra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent our honey moon in Punta Negra and it was absolutely amazing! We had a sea view room, which was magical. Waking up every morning to a beautiful sea view is priceless. Location is great, a short ride away from Alghero but still tucked away nicely from everything. The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times. Delicious food for dinner and a great selection for breakfast. We can't wait to go back. Highly recommend it!! M & I.

Room Tip: Sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNAlghero, Responsabile reception at Hotel Punta Negra, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear M &I, we thank you for reviewing Hotel Punta Negra. We are really glad you appreciated your stay and the location of our hotel as well as its facilities.
Alghero is only 7 km far away from Hotel Punta Negra and easy to reach by bus or by taxi.
We are happy that you enjoyed the sea view room and the food served at our restaurant. During the summer our guests can also have dinner outside on our terrace facing the sea with a menu à la carte.
We hope, you will visit us once again. Paola and the whole staff of Hotel Punta Negra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Punta Negra is a wonderful hotel located in a pine forest on a quite little cove.The hotel is run by friendly,knowledgable staff always at hand to help.The swimming pools are well landscaped and well presented being clean with fantastic views.The pine forest is accessed by foot with walks into the hills and mountains or along a picturesque coast line.The small beach is kept clean and tidy with soft golden sand,the sea is clear and blue and full of fish.The beach is on the edge of sea reserve which has a unique sea weed this is farmed and removed from the beach as and when required.The hotel food is typical Mediterranean,Sardinian,Italian and top quitly.This hotel is perfect for a quite break in beautiful location.The town of Alghero is approximately 5 miles away around a bay and can be viewed from the hotel.We have been visiting for 10 years now and shall return again.

Room Tip: Sea View or Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PNAlghero, Responsabile reception at Hotel Punta Negra, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Deborah 16, we thank you for spending your time in describing and reviewing our hotel.
Hotel Punta Negra is located in a natural bay not far away from the town of Alghero and it is surrounded by a pine forest daily cleaned by our staff. We are glad, you enjoyed your stay and the hotel facilities, as well as the Mediterranean food we propose every day in our restaurant. We hope you will keep visiting Alghero and Hotel Punta Negra for the next 100 years :) We invite you to visit our web page and have a look at the new pictures gallery. Paola and the whole staff of Hotel Punta Negra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fertilia
1.2 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#11 of 49 in Alghero
653 reviews
3.7 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#7 of 49 in Alghero
919 reviews
2.9 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#10 of 49 in Alghero
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
118.1 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
826 reviews
70.6 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
512 reviews
76.0 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#3 of 21 in Porto Cervo
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Punta Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Negra

Property: Hotel Punta Negra
Address: Reg Punta Negra CP 24 | Localita Punta Negra, 07041 Fertilia, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero > Fertilia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fertilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Punta Negra 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has recently been renovated, and now boasts beautiful, pastel-coloured, light green and pink, stucco walls to match the decorative pink ceramic floor tiles. The same colours have been used to blend in with the tablecloths and furniture. Inside the rooms, the doors and furniture are green, red and natural wood. The curtains and drapery are decorated with traditional Sardinian designs.The Punta Negra Hotel looks out directly onto the sea front. The low level, typically Mediterranean architecture featuring spacious terraces, blends well into the beautiful natural surroundings. As you cast your eyes over the sandy white beach surrounded by high cliffs, you will undoubtedly be overcome by a wealth of emotions. In the background you can admire the wondrous gulf with the view over the harbour and the historical centre of the charming, colourful Catalan town of Alghero. Service on the beach, weather conditions permitting, will be ensured from the 15th of June to the 15th of September. The Punta Negra Hotel is a three-storey coastal building. The ground floor is divided into two parts: one wing is given over to a spacious lounge, a snack bar a, restaurant and the kitchen, whilst the second wing contains bedrooms. The first and the second floors are devoted entirely to bedrooms, half of which have balconies overlooking the sea, and the other half of which face onto a beautiful pine forest. The hotel has a total of ninety-two rooms and a Suite all equipped with air conditioning, mini bar, colour TV and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Punta Negra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Negra Hotel
Punta Negra Alghero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing