We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully restored hamlet”
Review of Finca La Ramallosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca La Ramallosa
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were initially annoyed to find that this finca is 5 miles off road along a very rough track which was not mentioned on the website , otherwise we would have hired a 4whhel drive, our car was particularly low suspension and kept hitting the bottom.
When we arrived all was forgiven as this is such a beautiful place with great views from the pool terrace. Our 2 bed apartment was beautifully restored but rather dark especially the shower room.
Alphonso so was charming but his wife must be too busy now with 3 children. The food was excellent and a nice change from the standard extramedura restaurants
There are lovely walks from the finca which was just as well as we were a bit nervous about leaving the property due to the road
M

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a lovely time at Finca la Ramallosa with our two children (aged 20 months and 3 months). Our cottage (Los Alcornoques) was perfect for us: we had a comfy bed, a great shower and were provided with beautiful wooden cots for the children. The decor was very stylish in a rustic kind of way, with lots of lovely antique furniture and nice little touches.

We had been slightly apprehensive about travelling with two very small children, but our stay couldn't have been more relaxing. Alfonso (his wife and daughters weren't there during our stay) went out of his way to make life easy for us, preparing an early tea for our daughter then a later meal for us, so we could really relax and enjoy the evenings. There is a fence round the swimming pool and gates by the cottages, so our daughter had the freedom to toddle around wherever she wanted without us worrying. She loved going to see the friendly sheepdogs who looked after the sheep and horses which grazed under the olive trees.

The weather was a bit iffy during our stay and could be chilly at night and in the mornings, so we really appreciated the roaring fire that was lit for us both in the cottage and in the lounge/dining room each morning and evening, making it feel very cosy.

We stayed for five nights and only went out one day, as it was so nice relaxing at the finca, which is really beautiful. Alfonso recommended several walks around the farm, as well as to a nearby river where we went swimming and he did us a packed lunch that day, so we didn't have to worry about being back in time for meals. I would say that we were surprised that breakfast was served quite late, so this might be a problem if you're thinking of going out for the day, but it's fine if you're just planning to have a leisurely holiday.

We saw plenty of wildlife, including a large deer, and our daughter particularly enjoyed watching the geckos on the walls! We would love to go back when the children are older so they can really make the most of playing outdoors and enjoying all the nature at this special place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejgray30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This beautiful hideaway is truly a piece of Paradise with the biggest and clearest sky I have seen for a long. The beautiful wild flowers and the birdsong make you forget that there is anywhere else. The cottages are both roomy and cosy, the hosts are incredible making you feel like old friends not paying guests and the food is delightful. you'll never want to leave . And the walks and the river are in another world

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The perfect place to forget problems, enjoy nature, beauty and a great food. You can go with either family or friends and do not forget your pets. It is a nice little village, confortable, beautiful and full of special details will surely be back!! Thank you.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Che73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Once again Alfonso and Rebecca were the best hosts one could wish for.The countryside is amazing with long walks to take,birds to identify,or just relax.After our stay last year we didn't think that they could improve on their standards but they have.Despite having two small children and another "on the way" Rebecca surpassed all expectations with her 5* cooking.I only eat chicken,fish and lamb but while we were there all meals were different and delicious.Well done both of you.We will be back. Van and Paul

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet,except for the bleating of the sheep and the gentle sound of their bells and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baqueret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

If you are looking for a vacation/escape experience out of the stressed urban world and into the most beautiful countryside (Dehesa extremeña) surrounded by sheep, horses, pigs, olive trees, cows, ATVs, etc... plus a wonderful personalized service from owners Alfonso and rebeca that includes a fantastic organic and delicious food cooked by owner Rebeca: this is the place. You will not believe you are actually in the 21st century. And wait to see the starry nights as you lay down in onw of the outside beds. I bet you will not want to return to your home afterwrds!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zappa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Top score on all fronts. Beautiful, extraordinarily picturesque - inside decoration and views all round, fun for all ages - lots of activity from walks, quads, horses, great food and top hosts. Homely whilst being away from the home and chores. Thoroughly relaxing. Great way to re-charge the batteries and de-stress.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Martin de Trevejo
1.8 mi away
A Velha Fabrica
A Velha Fabrica
#1 of 3 in Valverde del Fresno
140 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hospederia Conventual Sierra de Gata
Hospederia Conventual Sierra de ...
#2 of 2 in San Martin de Trevejo
212 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Rural El Duende del Chafaril
Hotel Rural El Duende del Chafar...
#1 of 2 in San Martin de Trevejo
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Casa Rural Antolina
Casa Rural Antolina
#2 of 2 in San Martin de Trevejo
16 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Finca La Ramallosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca La Ramallosa

Address: Camino de la Granja | Ctra. EX-205, Km 24, 10892 San Martin de Trevejo, Spain
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > San Martin de Trevejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in San Martin de Trevejo
Price Range: £81 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A break in Extremadura, perfect place to enjoy wild nature and get away from daily routine. A private farm with 130 hectares to enjoy and relax. Taste our culinary creations at the restaurant and enjoy our wine selection...After hikking or riding our quads near the river. Over 200 years old tiny hamlet refurbished as a charming hotel in the countryside. The owners, Rebecca y Alfonso, will take care of customers personally... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Finca La Ramallosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing