We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic country pub with very friendly landlady”

The Tippling Philosopher
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A small quiet country pub, friendly adult atmosphere.Good Food, Real Ales and Traditional Ciders. Lager, wines and spirits.Sunny garden (in the summer!) with adequate smoking area.Suitable for wheelchairs and helpful staff, accomedate all your needs.Tuesday to Saturday Lunchtimes Lunches Available along side our Specials and Daily Menu Thursday Nights Thai Kitchen Wednesday and Friday Nights Meal Deal Nights Sunday Lunches 12-2pm
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Convenient roadside location with good parking.Wonderful welcome from very friendly landlady. Food is good value but fairly basic. Wine list is somewhat restricted if you like good quality.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2017

We frequently have Sunday lunch here as it is our local. Today was my birthday and I did not want to cook so we decided to try the everyday lunch menu.
We were delighted, inspite of being the day following a bank holiday, there was a wide selection and it was all beautifully cooked and presented.
We are really lucky to have such a brilliant local on our doorstep.
We will be back on Sunday and I am already looking forward to it.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lesley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a meal on the way home, looked good on the outside but needs a bit of a revamp on the inside. Not a big selection of beers to try but the Ines I tried were good! The food was good and normal pub fare but some menu offerings were slightly different which made them a bit more interesting. Staff were very helpful, friendly and chatty!

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

We stopped for lunch, an unplanned visit while passing through.

Good beer. Hot tasty wholesome food in a classic pub environment.

Just what was needed. We would certainly do so again.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank david B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

We were here, by happenstance, on Thai night. We weren't quite sure what to expect, but the menu offered a nice selection of Thai food, and we were happy with what we ordered. It is, indeed, real Thai food, nicely prepared and presented. Service was wonderful. I can't speak to the food on other nights, but I would certainly give it a try.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jxx9595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tippling Philosopher also viewed

 
Milborne Port, Somerset
 

Been to The Tippling Philosopher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing