We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub for food and drink”

The Tippling Philosopher
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A small quiet country pub, friendly adult atmosphere.Good Food, Real Ales and Traditional Ciders. Lager, wines and spirits.Sunny garden (in the summer!) with adequate smoking area.Suitable for wheelchairs and helpful staff, accomedate all your needs.Tuesday to Saturday Lunchtimes Lunches Available along side our Specials and Daily Menu Thursday Nights Thai Kitchen Wednesday and Friday Nights Meal Deal Nights Sunday Lunches 12-2pm
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

Ate here with friends and dog. Staff very welcoming and locals friendly. Good range of beers, lagers and soft drinks and all reasonably priced. Dogs allowed in bar area and large garden. We selected the vege burger and classic burger that came with a good sized portions of French fries or chunky chips. I chose the chicken dish with rice that was also very good. The food really is very good value for money and if in this area again would certainly eat here again.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank annabel609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Visited with my partner and Dad . Lovely Welcome we were early before orders were taken but the landlord /Chef took our order very quickly . Dad and Nick had steaks and they were thoroughly enjoyed. My burger was delicious. Very friendly atmosphere great value for money. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank karenaF2157ZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Di B, Owner at The Tippling Philosopher, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thank you Karen for taking the time to review us. We use all feedback to help us grow and improve. Many thanks and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

Just had one of the best pub meals I've had for a long time had the Thai menu everything looked good and tasted even better can't recommend it enough

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank rosemyrarendellr2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Di B, Owner at The Tippling Philosopher, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our establishment. We’re glad your visit was enjoyable and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful lunch at the Tip today, hot, fresh and tasty. My only teeny complaint would be that the condiments are Litchfields, it’s a bit nasty and offended the lovely lunch that we had. Wouldn’t hesitate to return.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank beckalott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Di B, Manager at The Tippling Philosopher, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our business. Your comments with regard to the condiments will be taken on board. (We tend to only use the Litchfields Salad Creme but have been trying the Mayo lately too). We do not use anything other than Heinz Ketchup and Sarsons Vinegar but have been keen to try new things.
Happy Christmas to you. From the Team at the Tippling Philosopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Only place we could find open for a midweek lunchtime snack. Helpful and friendly staff but with limited range to offer.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Siphrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tippling Philosopher also viewed

 
Sherborne, Dorset
Chetnole, Sherborne
 

Been to The Tippling Philosopher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing