We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Colston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colston Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Badingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Booked this lovely B&B at the very last minute for a getaway to Suffolk. The hosts Liz and John were both friendly and helpful and made our stay relaxed and enjoyable. The bed in the Squires room is so comfortable that one doesn't really want to get up for the delicious locally sourced home cooked full English breakfasts. Having said that, the breakfasts were well worth getting up for.

Lunch/dinners are not provided here, so you will definitely need to have access to a car to explore this part of the world. "The Dennington Queen" - a gastropub in the middle of nowhere - is worth a visit for dinner and is not far from Colston Hall. There are range of sights/activities/history to explore from saxon burial mounds, local produce markets and the Suffolk coast. The nights are so still out here you can only hear yourself breath and is perfect for just getting away from the rat race/noise of the big cities.

Room Tip: This B&B is more for couples or adults, and adjoining rooms are not very well sound-proofed. Hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ox0xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B, Owner at Colston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for coming, it was lovely to meet you both. There is still plenty more to see in Suffolk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

On arrival we where not sure we had got to the write place, no sign of the entrance at all. The outside and out buildings are very tired, once we had been welcomed and shown to our £150 room things didn't get better!
There is a difference between rustic/cosy and unclean /old fashioned. Half empty shampoo bottles, and toilet roll, black mould around the shower seal. Black marks on the ceiling among the numerous cobwebs ( which we wouldn't have minded if the spider was still alive to make them between room cleans, he wasn't as we found him dead later). We then found various hairs in the bed some cat and some short and curly, safe to say we had to say something at this point.
Thankfully the bed linen was changed for us, but only after talking to the male owner who wasn't very pleased we had asked for new sheets, no apology was given for our complaint.
We where hoping breakfast would be a redeeming feature........it was Luke warm but over cooked!
Very unwelcoming especially after we polity asked for clean bedding.
If it wasn't for the fact that the stay was a gift from a family member we wouldn't have stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Lvcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B, Owner at Colston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Are you sure you stayed with us ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed here for a weekend and it was perfect. Liz and John are very friendly and the rooms are really nice, Liz was kind enough to show us the other rooms. The house and outer buildings are pretty and well decorated, exactly what you would expect from a country farmhouse. She was also kind enough to suggest a few dining options for the evening that were very helpful.

The location was good for our stay, with plenty of nearby towns and villages to explore and Sutton Hoo not too far if you fancy a history lesson :)

The breakfast, using local produce, tasted great! There's a good selection and each table has plenty of bread, cereal, milk and juice.

Thank you both for a comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narsus78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B, Owner at Colston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

I hope we'll see you both again sometime. liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We booked into the Squires room with a Super Kingsize four poster bed, which was so comfy! The room was perfect and it was the little extra touches that were provided that made it so special.
Liz & John are lovely people and very helpful & friendly. We started each day with a proper full English breakfast which set us up for the day ahead. The location of the B/B was perfect for us and we used it as base for property hunting in Suffolk.
This is a great place for couples and familes as well. They also have a large function room for family get-togthers, or parties.
We will definetly stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkingforSofties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B, Owner at Colston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hope you found the property you were looking for. There are beautiful villages with their traditional Suffolk cottages, and peaceful rural views, not to mention the coast too, all very well served by the A12 and A14 - Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed in one of the self-catering homes on the farm. Place was immaculate when we arrived, and table set ready for us to eat and a bottle of wine provided on the table. Good amenities in the house. Colston Hall is a working farm, so sheep around the fields. Overall, very quiet, good views, walks around the farm, ponds for wildlife or fishing. Well placed for sight-seeing around Suffolk - close to Aldborough, Southwold and so on.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clivel_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B, Owner at Colston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for coming. liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We just spent 2 nights at Colston Hall .
Liz met us to check in and we were lucky to have the Squires Room with its Super Kingsize four poster bed which was probably the most comfotable bed ever!
Wooden Beams gave the room a wonderful old feel but it did not feel small or dark because of this. View from window was onto the farm with its fields of sheep along with Lakes and a whole Host of Birdlife and this was a fab way to wake up .
This is only bed and breakfast but Liz and John will advise you on nearby eateries as well as booking you a table/taxi if you wish, also a folder available with all local menu's and notes from guests which help you to choose,
Breakfast room was delightful with the hosts winning Marmalades out to try.
Best suprise was sitting down at your table which had a selection of cereals and a huge bowl of fruitsalad ( kiwi/blueberry/melon/ pineapple etc) as well as Grapefruit and juices and fresh bread with your own toaster . And then came the cooked breakfast with the best sausage we have tried for a long time . Certainly needed to 'walk the grounds' to work that lot off!
And wonderful grounds they are, fields of curious sheep and lovely fishing lakes that gave us Deer/ Hare/ 2 types of Woodpecker/Pheasant and much more
Amenties in room were more than we could of hoped for with non of that having to read a folder of info to get to grips with anything.
On night two we wandered down to the local pub 'The White Horse' where we ate and had our fill of beer/ perfect v& t's before getting dropped back to our digs by the lovely landlady .
We would definately recommend a stay here, either in the farmhouse itself as we did or in one of the lovely self catering cottages available.
Lovely hosts, lovely place, lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moominmama72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B, Owner at Colston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

We appreciated you coming to stay with us, I'm glad you enjoyed the local area too. Thank you. Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We have stayed a couple of times, in different rooms on a B & B basis, and are really pleased with the comfort, quality and ambience of Colston Hall. Its location is peaceful and quiet, yet within easy reach of the many attractions of the area. The hosts are friendly and welcoming and the breakfast is very good. There are also a couple of fishing lakes in the grounds and lots of wild bird activity. An ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanewdonCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B, Owner at Colston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Looking forward to seeing you next time ! Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Colston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colston Hall

Address: Colston Hall Just off the A1120 Yoxford-Stowmarket Road | nr. Framlingham, Badingham IP13 8LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Badingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Badingham
Price Range: £101 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colston Hall is a sixteenth-century farmhouse and cottages offering both self-catering and B&B holiday accommodation. We are the perfect choice for couples and groups looking for somewhere quiet and convenient to stay in rural Suffolk, with real history and character.Whether you want a restful getaway or a more active holiday, you can find it here. We’re ideally situated for enjoying beautiful Suffolk by car, by bicycle or on foot.You can explore the peaceful market towns of Woodbridge, Framlingham, Halesworth and Debenham or discover the scenic Suffolk Heritage Coast at Aldeburgh, Southwold and Dunwich. We also offer meeting facilities for businesses and organisations, free wi-fi and on-site coarse fishing. *Eighteen rooms comfortably furnished in traditional style, most with en suite bathroom (one with four-poster bed) *Accommodation for larger groups (business meetings, conferences, club trips, reunions) *Ground-floor rooms available for easy access *Tasty local produce, including our award-winning home-made marmalade *Ideal base from which to explore Suffolk and its coastline *On-site coarse fishing lakes *Free wi-fi throughout the site *Seminar and meeting room with indoor games *Ideal base for cycling, walking, wildlife and birdwatching ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Colston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colston Hall Badingham, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing