We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect holiday cottage”
Review of Colston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colston Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Badingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in the self-catering Carpenters Cottage for 3 days for a family wedding. There were my husband and me, my son and daughter-in-law and 3 grandchildren. All 3 bedrooms were well furnished with en-suite bathrooms, hospitality trays and toiletries. The cottage was very comfortable with ample sofas and chairs in the lounge and a well-equipped kitchen. The setting is idyllic with a fishing lake and a well equipped games room for rainy days. I would highly recommend this for a good self-catering holiday. There are other cottages on site with varying accommodation and b&b in the farmhouse.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank knmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B, Owner at Colston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

I'm so glad it suited your needs. Self-catering is a very relaxing way of attending family 'get-togethers' as a group. Hope to see you all again one day - Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Squires room at £240.00 for the stay including breakfast. Access to the room was by a very narrow, steep staircase. There was virtually no privacy as the door was so warped the gap was about an inch. The four poster dominated the room; the duvet was lumpy, the pillows too soft. There was no view. The en suite was pink; couldn't sit on loo without banging knees on hand basin and the shower, well! Awful is the only summary; small; pink; poor pressure.
The breakfast was reasonable apart from the sausages, making your own toast and restricted to exactly two cups of coffee. On the last morning, my wife asked for no eggs which happened but, instead of maybe another rasher, she got one less rasher. All in all far far to expensive for very basic accommodation.

Room Tip: No the Squires!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I was certainly glad of my sat nav to find Colston Hall but it was not difficult to get to. We arrived at about 17:00 and were shown to our room, called the hayloft. The whole place was beautiful and clean and the decor was lovely. The bed was so comfortable that I had one of the best nights sleep I have had in ages. The breakfast was very good and set us up well for the day ahead.
This is certainly a place I would return to and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to chillax.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spookynursey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B, Owner at Colston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

There is nothing like a good nights sleep, to face the world refreshed ! Our breakfasts are prepared from locally produced foods. Shhhh ......our sausages and bacon can be purchased from our local butcher to take home - Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Little Maid's Room at Colston Hall. Comfortable bed, tasteful furnishings, separate en suite with bath, view of the fields and lake beyond. Sloping floors and ceilings (very low), twisting staircases, original old latch doors, this place was delightful and distinctive. Very clean.
Breakfast was wonderful with a range of fruit, cereals, homemade bread, and superb full English.
Special mention for the homemade marmalade which was very very good, apparently winning awards.
Overall we had a really lovely time, and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldnotmyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B, Owner at Colston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

That room certainly has character ! I'm pleased you enjoyed the marmalade, maybe next time try our homemade jams - we have everything from Quince Jelly to Red Gooseberry, not to mention strawberry, plum and blackberry - Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Booked this lovely B&B at the very last minute for a getaway to Suffolk. The hosts Liz and John were both friendly and helpful and made our stay relaxed and enjoyable. The bed in the Squires room is so comfortable that one doesn't really want to get up for the delicious locally sourced home cooked full English breakfasts. Having said that, the breakfasts were well worth getting up for.

Lunch/dinners are not provided here, so you will definitely need to have access to a car to explore this part of the world. "The Dennington Queen" - a gastropub in the middle of nowhere - is worth a visit for dinner and is not far from Colston Hall. There are range of sights/activities/history to explore from saxon burial mounds, local produce markets and the Suffolk coast. The nights are so still out here you can only hear yourself breath and is perfect for just getting away from the rat race/noise of the big cities.

Room Tip: This B&B is more for couples or adults, and adjoining rooms are not very well sound-proofed. Hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ox0xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B, Owner at Colston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for coming, it was lovely to meet you both. There is still plenty more to see in Suffolk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

On arrival we where not sure we had got to the write place, no sign of the entrance at all. The outside and out buildings are very tired, once we had been welcomed and shown to our £150 room things didn't get better!
There is a difference between rustic/cosy and unclean /old fashioned. Half empty shampoo bottles, and toilet roll, black mould around the shower seal. Black marks on the ceiling among the numerous cobwebs ( which we wouldn't have minded if the spider was still alive to make them between room cleans, he wasn't as we found him dead later). We then found various hairs in the bed some cat and some short and curly, safe to say we had to say something at this point.
Thankfully the bed linen was changed for us, but only after talking to the male owner who wasn't very pleased we had asked for new sheets, no apology was given for our complaint.
We where hoping breakfast would be a redeeming feature........it was Luke warm but over cooked!
Very unwelcoming especially after we polity asked for clean bedding.
If it wasn't for the fact that the stay was a gift from a family member we wouldn't have stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Lvcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B, Owner at Colston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Are you sure you stayed with us ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed here for a weekend and it was perfect. Liz and John are very friendly and the rooms are really nice, Liz was kind enough to show us the other rooms. The house and outer buildings are pretty and well decorated, exactly what you would expect from a country farmhouse. She was also kind enough to suggest a few dining options for the evening that were very helpful.

The location was good for our stay, with plenty of nearby towns and villages to explore and Sutton Hoo not too far if you fancy a history lesson :)

The breakfast, using local produce, tasted great! There's a good selection and each table has plenty of bread, cereal, milk and juice.

Thank you both for a comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narsus78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz B, Owner at Colston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

I hope we'll see you both again sometime. liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badingham
5.2 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
733 reviews
9.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
11.9 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#1 of 2 in Wangford
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sibton White Horse Inn
5.9 mi away
Trustans Barn
Trustans Barn
#1 of 1 in Darsham
111 reviews
2.8 mi away
Thurstons Farm
Thurstons Farm
#1 of 2 in Rendham
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colston Hall

Address: Colston Hall Just off the A1120 Yoxford-Stowmarket Road | nr. Framlingham, Badingham IP13 8LB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Badingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Badingham
Price Range: £89 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colston Hall is a sixteenth-century farmhouse and cottages offering both self-catering and B&B holiday accommodation. We are the perfect choice for couples and groups looking for somewhere quiet and convenient to stay in rural Suffolk, with real history and character.Whether you want a restful getaway or a more active holiday, you can find it here. We’re ideally situated for enjoying beautiful Suffolk by car, by bicycle or on foot.You can explore the peaceful market towns of Woodbridge, Framlingham, Halesworth and Debenham or discover the scenic Suffolk Heritage Coast at Aldeburgh, Southwold and Dunwich. We also offer meeting facilities for businesses and organisations, free wi-fi and on-site coarse fishing. *Eighteen rooms comfortably furnished in traditional style, most with en suite bathroom (one with four-poster bed) *Accommodation for larger groups (business meetings, conferences, club trips, reunions) *Ground-floor rooms available for easy access *Tasty local produce, including our award-winning home-made marmalade *Ideal base from which to explore Suffolk and its coastline *On-site coarse fishing lakes *Free wi-fi throughout the site *Seminar and meeting room with indoor games *Ideal base for cycling, walking, wildlife and birdwatching ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colston Hall Badingham, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing