We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“* Great location* *Clean facilities* *Friendly Staff*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Located next to a lake in the suburbs 20k out of the city. This is a good hotel for relaxing after work. Service a little strange. If you want a desert from the cafe instead of the dining area you have to get it yourself. or you ask to split the bill they struggle. for example. But the staff are friendly just working within their constraints.
Less than 60 rooms a little pool and gym. If you have a view over the lake the sunrises over Melbourne are worth observing. But the other way just views shopping mall.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank overseas_engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Clean, modern, comfortable hotel. Rooms everything you would expect of this standard of hotel; comfie bed, large shower, lake view from balcony. Service at Reception friendly, professional and nothing was too much trouble. Signage for hotel and carpark were abysmal, investing in some exit signs would be a good idea. Carparking is free though; a bonus if you have friends or family visiting you.

Bar was a nice place to sit inside or out and relax, but there was no room service?!? With restaurant and bar food available downstairs, surely a kitchen-hand to deliver to rooms wouldn't be too hard (a bit of a shame, really - room service in PJ's is a luxury when travelling). Bar supervisor was a nasty piece of work; bitter, unfriendly and ridiculously suggested that changing ONE ingredient in a cocktail would incur a "by the shot" charge and would be $30 for a drink.

The fire alarm went off twice and the second time went for 5 minutes with no announcement. Thankfully, I had seen reviews about regular fire alarms and told other guests that it was likely a false alarm (luckily, it was!). I went down for breakfast and was kindly offered free breakfast for the fire alarms going off. Lovely gesture, but why they didn't slip a note under the door advising guests of this? If I hadn't have gone to breakfast at the hotel, there would have been no compensation?

Hotel is by a lake and across from a shopping plaza with restaurants nearby. I suppose people choose the location knowing it's in the suburbs (read: middle of nowhere), but it's worth noting.
You really need a car to get around, there is no direct transport. Hotel is non-smoking and it's not allowed on balconies either. I would stay again for the right price (around the $110 mark).

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room away from the lifts.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tantakesontheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Our group of 4 people enjoyed breakfast here on a Sunday morning. We chose this venue as we are Accor members, and we were certainly not disappointed. I had a Spanish omelette. My meal was well presented and very tasty. Others on our table ordered the breakfast burger and eggs Benedict, which were all good size and enjoyed by all. meals were served quickly and by a waitress with a smile on her face. We are already making plans to return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Judy21Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

First off, loved having the free undercover carpark onsite. Made parking easy and was one of the reasons I decided to stay here. First reaction to the hotel going into the lobby was that it was architecturally beautiful. The view of the lake was a great touch and everything was so new and modern. Despite this, after a long trip into Melbourne from interstate, i was a little disappointed with the service and attitude I received from the gentleman at front desk. He didn't seem interested in his guest at all and was more concerned with checking us in as quickly as possible to get it over and done with. not one smile was seen frm him or his colleague next to him. In all honesty, I was happy at the carpark was above reception so whenever I returned I didn't need to walk past it but instead just take the lift straight to my room.

The room was spacious, very well set out and clean. However I wouldve liked a bigger tv. It was a tad small for my liking. The bathroom was bigger than most places but had a tendency to smell ever so often. It smelt like sewage was coming up through the drains in the floor which was very unpleasant. This led to me having to leave the bathroom door closed at all times.

Another thing that was disappointing was that there wasn't a public ice machine that we could use or room service that could deliver to us. when calling front desk for some ice we were told to go downstairs to get it ourselves. This may be how the hotel has always been run but most other hotels have a public ice machine that we all share or they have staff who will deliver it to us, be it housekeepers, food and bev staff or even front desk staff.

Overall the hotel was good, beds were comfy and rooms were clean but more guest focussed staff and more pleasant smelling bathrooms would have made my stay better and would change my 3/5 star rating to 5/5 star rating.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 230,357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda L, Director of Sales at Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear 230357,

Thank-you very much for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us.

I have spoken to the staff in regards to your feedback at the level of customer service you received, and they have taken it on board.

We have also looked into the smell you mentioned.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed the size of the room and that the bed was comfortable.

Thanks again, and if you do choose to stay with us again, please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

With warmest regards,
Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Didn't enjoy this stay much at all. The fire alarm went off at 1.30am for a few minutes & then 4am for 20 minutes. Other guests says it happens all the time. The lift didn't work properly & the pool area was not clean. Very disappointed as an Accor member. Also only 2 coffee sachets & no shampoo or body wash.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lucky0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda L, Director of Sales at Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Amy,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies in regards to the fire alarms going off twice during your stay.

Unfortunately the alarms were set off by other guests smoking in their rooms.

Our staff do advise all guests at check in that we our accommodation is 100% non smoking with this listed on our registration cards and signs placed in the rooms. Regrettably some guests do chose to ignore this and smoke in the rooms, which in turn sets he alarms off.

I apologise once again for the inconvenience, and please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.

With warmest regards,
Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The place is very nice to stay at. The breakfast manage good take some lessons in good attitude. Signage reminding ACCOR members that meal discounts to not apply on public holidays would go along way to ensuring customer satisfaction

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Neil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda L, Director of Sales at Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Neil,

Thanks very much for taking the time to send in your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us.

I do apologise for the inconvenience in regards to the Adv Plus discount not being available on a Public Holiday. I have advised our staff of your feedback and we will ensure that signs are placed around the venue advising our guests when the Adv Plus discount is not applicable.

I do hope to welcome you back again, and please feel free to contact me directly when you next stay with us.

With warmest regards,
Belinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caroline Springs
0.2 mi away
Quest Caroline Springs
Quest Caroline Springs
#1 of 3 in Caroline Springs
306 reviews
6.4 mi away
Quest Melbourne Airport
Quest Melbourne Airport
#1 of 7 in Tullamarine
701 reviews
7.6 mi away
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
Mantra Tullamarine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tullamarine
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Tabcorp Park
8.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Melbourne, Essendon Fields
7.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs

Address: 10 - 20 Lake St, Caroline Springs, Victoria 3023, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Caroline Springs)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Caroline Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Caroline Springs
Price Range: £74 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs is located in the award winning WestWaters Hotel & Entertainment Complex. The complex is built around the banks of Lake Caroline, in the western suburb of Caroline Springs. It's a 20 min drive from Tullamarine Airport and 25 km west of the Melbourne CBD. Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs opened on April 1st 2011 as Grand Mercure and on April 1st 2012 was rebranded. With 58 accommodation rooms all featuring balconies with outdoor furniture, offering views of the surrounding area. This allows access to fresh air and plenty of natural light. Our contemporary rooms feature 'Gold beds' with a range of pillows, duvet and additional blankets for the perfect night's sleep. In room services and facilities include: - Spacious bathrooms with full hair dryer - Flat screen TVs - Tea and Coffee making facilities - Mini Bar - Work desk and chair - High Speed Internet access - In room safe - Iron and iron board - Secure key card access to rooms - Room chargeback when dining at WestWaters. Our Studio Apartments offer kitchenette and full washing facilities. These rooms are ideal for longer stays when on work projects, relocating or for temporary accommodation when you are renovating. Use of our fitness centre and indoor heated pool & spa is included in for your stay. Within the complex, for your dining pleasure is an a la carte Bistro, Cafe and Sports Bar. Each outlet offers a selection of meals and an extensive beverage list. Indoor and outdoor dining areas are available and are heated with outdoor heaters during winter. We offer entertainment for the whole family including children's play area, themed events, and live entertainment on the week-end. Grand Mercure Caroline Springs is the perfect venue for business, leisure, recreation and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Melbourne Caroline Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing