We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Placid”
Review of Is Arenas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Is Arenas Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narbolia
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel is located in a green, uninhabited area, reachable via a bumpy private road. The facilities are as described, the venue is well maintained. Breakfast and dinner are in order. Plenty of deck-chairs, even a private beach - which suffers from an unfortunate exposure to the wind - there is a red flag on the mast most of the time. Staff very friendly and forthcoming. However, neither the facilities nor does the service justify the 5 star rating. There is no à la carte restaurant for dinner, no welcome drink at arrival, no real fitness center. Waiting times at breakfast and at the pool are inexcusably long due to lack of staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jelle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Is Arenas G, Direttore at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Jelle71,

first of all we wish thank you for the nice words: we're are happy that you enjoyed your staying here at Is Arenas.
Regarding the restaurant, it offers a la carte service with a menu choice of 3 starters, 3 first course, 1 soup, 3 main course (1 meat, 1 fish, 1 vegetarian) and 3 different mignons dessert freshly made by our chef patissier.

However we will take note of your suggestion in order to offer a better service.

Best regards


we do have

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for Is Arenas Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

The facilities here are superb and we felt truly spoiled from the moment we arrived. We stayed on a half board basis and the food is very good, but gets a bit samey after a while, but all of the staff are exceptional and they LOVE children. There is a small kids club, which our little girl loved, and she made lots of friends. Although there are prettier beaches in Sardinia, the one here at Is Arenas is great because everything is provided for you: there is a golf buggy to take you to the beach. Lovely big suite with very spacious terrace.

Room Tip: wonderfool golf course
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lori V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Is Arenas G, Direttore at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Lori V,

we are so happy that you liked our resorts and our services, and that the efforts of our staff were appreciated by you. We wish to thank you so for these nice words.

Best regards from the beautiful Sardinia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here with friends in June - lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Great secluded location and private beach with golf course for the gentlemen.
Food was also very good - the only thing we weren't keen on was the art work in the hotel! Childlike paintings of animals with huge eyes! Quite disturbing! Otherwise a thoroughly pleasant stay - wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nlincs2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Is Arenas G, Direttore at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Nlincs210,

we are very happy that you enjoyed your staying at Is Arenas appreciating our services, our staff kindness and the creations of our Chef.
Regarding the paitings, we are sorry that they have so negatively affected you: they are form the local artist Bob Marongiu and they are much appreciated but the great majority of our guests. Of course tastes are subjective, but we will keep in mind your note.

However, we hope that you will come back soon.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks on half board.It is in an isolated position in a huge pine forest with a golf course nearby. There is a deserted safe sandy 5 km beach about 800 m away which the hotel provides a golf cart service to. They have a good beach bar and plenty of sun loungers. Beside the hotel restaurant is a large pool which is a uniform 1.5 m deep , so good for swimming. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the pool and the sea were quite warm at the start of September . The beach is exposed and faces west so depending on the wind you can have a mill pond or quite choppy conditions, but the pool is always sheltered. I have played the golf course in the past and really liked the challenge of it. It is not manicured but the design and setting are great and greens are good. I have to say that the price for golf now is twice what I would expect to pay. The hotel is new so facilities all work well especially the air con.
Rooms are very good with lovely marble bathrooms. Terraces /balconies are all shared though. There is a small gym which has some equipment but little space and a spa. Wifi works well but the access expiry time is unpredictable. Staff are pleasant and helpful with most interface being in the restaurant and reception. The restaurant is good with a wide choice at breakfast and variation in the daily 3 course dinner menu. Service is fast and friendly with thanks to Elena for her efforts. We also appreciated support from the friendly reception team when we needed it.
Although this is a golf oriented hotel anyone who likes a quiet holiday close to nature can enjoy it. You need to have a car to do anything else and this is not a highly populated part of Sardinia.
It is certainly a hotel I would visit again.

Room Tip: The families tend to be put in the garden area. If you like quiet ask to be put in the main hotel bu...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TropicalDepression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Is Arenas G, Direttore at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear TropicalDepression,
we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed you holiday at Golf Hotel Is Arenas. You could appreciate the sober but elegant style of the hotel and all the services related to golf and relax, as well as the nature and surrounding environment. Therefore we thank you for the review, which gives a complete idea of your wonderful experience in Sardinia.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and hope to see you again for your next summer (and golf) holiday.
Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were two parents with two kids, what seemed quite normal at the Golf Is Arenas. The hotel provided us with more than a satisfying stay. Access to the beach was quite a distance, but over the first few days we got over it, and more importantly began to love that idyllic, remote beach. Hotel facilities need a facelift, but are more than adequate and in fact fairly good. The food was wonderful, the range of activities more than we could possibly do in the two weeks we were there, and the staff were some of the friendliest in Italy, in fact in Europe. The highest honor we can pay is a return visit, which we plan to do in 2014.

Room Tip: We liked the quasi-cottages closer to the beach. After staying in those we will never stay in the h...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audi123man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Is Arenas G, Direttore at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear audi123man,
It was a pleasure to have you and your family in our hotel and we really thank you for the review. We are happy to know that you spent a pleasant stay, having the opportunity to appreciate all the services offered at the resort.
We would be happy to host you again next summer, hoping that you will be able to appreciate all the Golf facilities as well.
Regards from our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in July with our 5 year old daughter in a garden suite as part of a 2 week trip around the island. We booked Is Arenas because it had all the facilities we wanted in one place so we could flop for 5 days and totally relax before travelling around the island. We were not disappointed, it delivered on every front. The suite was a good size with a vaulted ceiling so it felt really airy(great air con), and our private terrace was lovely, in fact all of the grounds at Is Arenas are lovley, the pine trees and rosemary hedges give the most amazing scent to the place.
None of the suites overlook each other, its all well designed, beds are SO comfy and there was no noise at all! The swimming pool is beautiful, and there are always plenty of towels and beds available, the same with the beach. I read a number of reviews before we went that were quite disparaging of the beach here, and yes it is not the prettiest beach in Sardinia but it's still great! Nice white sand, unless you walk along past the private area where there is quite a bit of rubbish, beautiful, warm sea, like a warm bath, with just the right amount of waves to frollick in. There were plentiful towels and beds, all free of charge. We ate several times at the shack by the beach and it was great, good service, nice salads. Other reviewers mentioned a problem with wasps, I am someone that runs a mile to get away from a wasp and I can honestly say I saw one wasp the entire time we were there! There are lots of wasp traps all over the grounds.The staff are all very proffessional, they take great pride in their work, and they were so attentive to our little girl. We must give special thanks to Paola and Fabio that run the kids club, our little girl loved it there. The food is of a high standard, although i have had better, more interesting. But all in all this is a 5 star resort, well worth the money when compared with other hotels that give much smaller rooms and much fewer facilities, I would absolutely recommend it if you are looking for total relaxation and pampering, and i would love to go back at least once a year!

Room Tip: We had a garden suite which was plenty big enough for three of us but we didn't see any other ro...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GJohnston123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Is Arenas G, Direttore at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear GJohnston123,

Thanks for the compliments; we are very happy that you all had a good holiday. We put great attention to small details so that our guests can enjoy the best relaxation.

Hope to see you here again soon.

A warm greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I would be like to put attention to the fact the reception management is unfortunately ignoring requests by email. I have sent my request two days ago - on Monday and since then I can't plan my journey since the answer is pending. Dmitriy Sukhanov

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Dimitriii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Is Arenas G, Direttore at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Mr. Dmitriy

We are very sorry for what happened, unfortunately we had some problems with the phone line on July 29, not dependent on our will.
For this reason we have not responded promptly to your last message on that day.
We regret that You has decided to cancel your staying, however we hope to have you soon here

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narbolia
79.7 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
857 reviews
38.4 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
687 reviews
85.4 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#5 of 33 in Villasimius
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.6 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
954 reviews
39.6 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#11 of 49 in Alghero
716 reviews
88.1 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Is Arenas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Is Arenas Resort

Address: Loc. Pineta di Is Arenas SS 292 km 113,4, 09070 Narbolia, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Oristano > Narbolia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narbolia
Price Range: £119 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Is Arenas Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A refined 5-star Resort in a modern and elegant style, notable for its unique location, immersed in the beautiful Is Arenas pine forest, a protected area of particular environmental importance. The pine forest is a Mediterranean microclimate that regenerates the spirit and warms the soul, and not just in the summer: 800 hectares of undulating cluster pine foliage that blend into a 6km stretch of pristine beach that slopes gently into the crystal-clear sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Is Arenas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Is Arenas
Is Arenas Resort Sardinia/Narbolia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing