We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular wedding and holiday”
other traveller has booked this property
Front of the villa /olympic-sized swimming pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the villa /olympic-sized swimming pool.
Front of the villa. Back of the villa / Kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Front of the villa /olympic-sized swimming pool.
Front of the villa.
Back of the villa / Kitchen.
Back yard.
Front villa at night.
Villa and surrounding olive grove.
View from upstairs suite's private terrace.
View from upstairs suite's private terrace.
Pool.
Garden with century-old olive tree.
Pool.
Garden with century-old olive tree.
Garden with century-old olive tree.
Garden/pool with century-old olive tree.
Sunset dinner patio.
Garden with century-old olive tree.
Sunset view from patio.
Sunset view from patio.
Night view from patio.
Mosaic at the bottom of the swimming pool.
Wedding reception.
Garden with Mediterranean pine trees and cypresses.
Century-old olive trees garden at night.
Northen-side Veranda.
Living room
Living room
Living room
Study (with fire place)
Dining room & kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Outdoor wood-fired oven
Sauna
Tennis court
Garden
Garden
Cherry trees of the estate
Countryside view
Owners
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Palombara Sabina, Province of Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Norwegian first
Russian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
ryanhobso...
Birmingham
1 review
“Spectacular wedding and holiday”
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Myself, my fiance and my family stayed at La Tartaruga villa for a week and had our wedding reception in the grounds of the villa. We all had one of the best weeks of our life. The villa is breath-takingly beautiful and the facilities are fantastic. The owners are a lovely family and over the two years that it took to plan our wedding they were incredibly helpful and kind. This continued on the day of the wedding and throughout our stay at the villa. I felt like I was dealing with friends when dealing with the owners. The catering for our reception was just exceptional and our every need and desire was catered for.

The villa is located in the countryside surrounding Rome. If you stay there you will need a car to travel around but we and all of our guests found that driving and shopping locally only enhanced our experience and we all enjoyed it. Food and drink at the local supermarkets is relatively cheap and we spent a lot less then we thought. In addition there is a superb restaurant only next door to the villa which is also relatively cheap.

The whole experience was just wonderful and I find it difficult to put all my feelings into words. I recommend this villa either for a wedding or holiday without reservation!! Thank you Giuseppe and Andrea for everything!! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wedding reception
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
33steve
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“16 relax in style, out jubilee celebrations”
Reviewed 20 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

A delightful property, and freindly host Giuseppe. Our group of 16 family & freinds, children and adults, relaxed in style.
Through our host a Pizza evening proved a great hit with the children, and the endless supply of delicious pizzas satisfied the largest of appetites. for young and old.
The swimming pool, tennis court and open space provided something for all, and created lasting memories.
The Final night made extra special with a beautifully catered meal, another recommendation from our host. What better way to enjoy life, than to eat great food in great company of family and freinds

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury of space inside and outside, particualry the outside eating areas
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Reviewed 9 June 2012 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dan R
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Magnificent Roman Countryside!”
Reviewed 7 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing experience in the Italian countryside, with easy access to one of the most beautiful cities in the world, or a unique wedding destination, Villa La Tartaruga Sabina is the place for you! Giuseppe will greet you warmly and take care of you for your entire stay.

This wonderful 8 bedroom, 8 bathroom villa is fantastic for a large family gathering or a couples retreat for a group of friends. With the large swimming pool, expansive covered porches and sweeping views of the Italian hills, you will fall in love the moment you arrive. In addition, there is a bocce court, tennis court, sauna, wonderful gardens and cool evening breezes waiting for your enjoyment.

Take advantage of the recommendation for gelato in Rome, and be sure to make time for the pizza making dinner that can be arranged. The pizza dinner, at the villa, was by far a highlight of our stay and I am sure you will enjoy it too! The food at Gran Paradiso, next door, is also fantastic and a must try.

With a train station located just 3 km away, transportation to Rome is quick and efficient, but make time to explore all the wonderful things the region around the villa has to offer. Oh, and be sure to try the fantastic and authentic olive oil, Osco, that is produced from the orchards around the villa. It is by far some of the best I've ever tasted.

There is no doubt that our stay at La Villa Tartaruga Sabina is one of the best vacations that I've ever had. If you are looking for a great vacation spot, look no further, you've just found heaven on earth.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality, location, food
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katyak58
winfield. pa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to stay.”
Reviewed 7 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We went here with 9 friends and had a wonderful time. The villa was roomy, open and the bedrooms and bathrooms were far better than what I had come to expect in Europe. The location is a plus for anyone who wants to see some of the Italian countryside but doesn't want to be around crowds of tourists. There is plenty to see and do in the small towns surrounding the villa. The pool is huge and there is plenty of yard for sports or games. If there weren't so many other places to travel to, I would book this villa again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, view, outside covered terraces, pool, ping pong table, sauna
Liked least: Tennis court not in good condition.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelawim...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Your own private hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

All 16 members of our family aged between one and seventy five, were able to join us at La Tartaruga Sabina , and there was something for everyone and plenty space in which to enjoy it.
The day trips to Rome, easy by car or train, and Tivoli, were enjoyed by all, but most of the time was spent enjoying each others' company by the pool, or playing tennis
The villa is spacious and well equipped for 16 people, but the internet connection was erratic, a problem for those in our party having a working holiday.
Great outdoor cooking facilities meant that we did not go to many local restaurants, but those tried were very good.
Giuseppi was so helpful, especially when we needed a doctor.
We would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and spaciousness, both inside and out
Liked least: No shops near enough to walk to.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addwhitne...
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A MUST Stay!”
Reviewed 1 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

This villa is absolutely incredible. I can't stress that enough. As nice as the pictures are, they do not even do it justice. The villa itself is gorgeous and the landscape that surrounds it is breathtaking.

My husband and I recently rented the villa for one week so that both of our families could stay together and we could have our wedding at the villa as well. There were 11 adults and 2 children ranging in ages from toddler to 60+ years of age - so the villa is truly suitable for all ages. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The amenities were amazing! The villa is very spacious with a very large swimming pool, spa, tennis courts, ping pong table, workout equipment, and more! There is a family owned restaurant right next door that serves very fresh, very authentic Italian food and wine - delicious! The location is perfect for a nice peaceful retreat, while also in the midst of plenty to do as there are several nearby towns for grocery shopping, restaurants, etc. and of course, Rome was only 30 minutes away. We also traveled to Florence from the villa, which was about 2 hours via car.

Giuseppe, one of the owners, was incredibly helpful answering all of our questions and truly going above and beyond in helping us plan our family vacation/wedding. Since we were traveling from the US and trying to plan a wedding, it was a bit difficult to know who to hire, etc, but Giuseppe helped us with every single detail of the planning process.

In every aspect, this villa is truly a dream, and I highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Italy!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing