We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful experience”
other traveller has booked this property
Front of the villa /olympic-sized swimming pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the villa /olympic-sized swimming pool.
Front of the villa. Back of the villa / Kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Front of the villa /olympic-sized swimming pool.
Front of the villa.
Back of the villa / Kitchen.
Back yard.
Front villa at night.
Villa and surrounding olive grove.
View from upstairs suite's private terrace.
View from upstairs suite's private terrace.
Pool.
Garden with century-old olive tree.
Pool.
Garden with century-old olive tree.
Garden with century-old olive tree.
Garden/pool with century-old olive tree.
Sunset dinner patio.
Garden with century-old olive tree.
Sunset view from patio.
Sunset view from patio.
Night view from patio.
Mosaic at the bottom of the swimming pool.
Wedding reception.
Garden with Mediterranean pine trees and cypresses.
Century-old olive trees garden at night.
Northen-side Veranda.
Living room
Living room
Living room
Study (with fire place)
Dining room & kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Outdoor wood-fired oven
Sauna
Tennis court
Garden
Garden
Cherry trees of the estate
Countryside view
Owners
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Palombara Sabina, Province of Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Norwegian first
Russian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
eleanor s
Newtownards, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

stayed at the villa in May to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday with famiy and friends of all ages. guiseppe was very helpful especially ewhen my father took ill. the celebration meal was delicious and everyone is still talking about it
. the villa was spacious ,clean and location to Rome excellent . would definetyly go back and would recommend the property .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: sprinklers going off when sitting in garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler M
Puyallup, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Vacation”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The trip to Italy was two years in the making and I couldn't have been more happy that we found such an excellent villa to celebrate my grandmother's 80th birthday. We had the pleasure of staying at the Villa for 10 days durning the first weeks of March 2014.

A trip with 14 people with age ranges between 8 months and 87 years is not easy to plan but because of the owner's Giuseppe and his brother Andrea our time was nothing short of amazing.

The villa itself was large enough to fit 15of us including two babies. We were spaced out so that even with the rough jet lag the babies had to overcome traveling from Seattle no one in the other rooms was bothered. The family living space was nice for all of us to be and the dinning room fit us all so we were able to enjoy meals together.

The pool was beautiful though the time of year was a little cold for us to get in more than once. The tennis court is in rough shape but we were able to play with provided rackets and we had a blast.

The location to the train station was incredible as we went into Rome 4 times over the 10 days and we were able to take a train out of Tiburtina to get to Florence. Exploring the hill towns was just as fun and the restaurant recommendations from the villas owners were exceptional.

We rented 3 cars that were delivered to the villa as well as Giuseppe arranged for all of us to be transported to and from the airport.

I probably inundated Giuseppe with hundreds of questions over the course of the year that we had the villa reserved and he was so kind and promptly answered all of my emails. Would we do it again and stay in the villa if we had to do it all over? Absolutely! I have already shared my experience with so many others. Our time was wonderful and so was the villa!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBodwick
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing is the only word to describe our time at the villa and the villa owner Giuseppe. We stayed in the villa for a week in May and through out this time we were married in Rome and had our reception at the villa. Giuseppe organised everything and nothing was too much trouble. From the minute we arrived at the villa everyone felt instantly relaxed and enjoyed the luxury of the surroundings both adults and children alike had plenty to do to occupy their time. The train station is only 3mins drive away and the train runs regularly to Rome.
Our wedding day was perfect and everyone loved the day and continually speak about how wonderful the reception was at the villa. The location, food, band, waiter service, villa chefs and especially the wedding cake were some of the many highlights not forgetting the beautiful sunset made our wedding so special. We could not recommend the villa enough and for any one who is looking to have the most romantic and beautiful wedding this is your place and Giuseppe is your man to ensure every detail is perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lemon/orange trees and villa chef
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann H
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday,beautiful villa”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful family holiday for 3 weeks in this beautiful villa.
It was all that we expected. There was plenty of space beautifully furnished and very clean. The management were always available to help if needed.The swimming pool was excellent with plenty of loungers and seats and most important a very large poolside umbrella for shade. The grounds are excellently maintained.
A car is necessary. The local railway station is about 3 minutes drive away with a good service to Rome. The shops about 20 minutes drive.
Really great experience for all the family together. Would recommend villa for a perfect place to spend a holiday.
Ann Hartnett

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of space for all
Liked least: The car being necessary
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isorys D
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Amazing Experience - Dream Come True!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We cannot say enough to describe the amazing experience that we and our family had in La Tartaruga Sabina this last May.

The villa provided the perfect setting for our families to get together in the days leading up to our wedding ceremony in the Vatican. We could not have dreamt of a better wedding day and location!

Giuseppe, the owner/manager, went out of his way to help us and our families have the best experience possible. Giuseppe not only helped us coordinate our wedding reception at his villa, but he was invaluable as a resource to help us navigate through Rome and the challenging logistics for a wedding in the Vatican.

The villa itself was amazing, very well managed, clean, and spacious, perfect for a large family getaway. We highly recommend staying in La Tartaruga Sabina, you will not regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything was amazing! We loved this villa.
Liked least: The GPS would not recognize the address, making it challenging to access it.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anouska H
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most magical Wedding Week”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at LaTartaruga Sabina in June 2013 for our Wedding, we were a group of 16 adults and 3 small children and had an absolute ball. The villa was superb and catered for all our needs especially on the Wedding Day. Guiseppe organised everything including travel to and from the local castle, the travel to and from the aiports and the wedding meal on the day, everything we needed and requested was accomodated. This man was unflappable and made everything happen including leading our wedding car to the castle which was over and above the package. The pool was great and was appreciated by all with the heat wave that we had during the week. We would recommend this venue for a wedding as the castle was beautiful and ladies; it was like being a princess. The view from the castle is breath taking and a memory that will stay with us forever. Make sure you hire a car so that you can get to the local supermarket which is about 20 min drive away but is very reasonably priced.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the villa and the pool area
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful villa, perfect management”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My fiancé, family and friends stayed at La Tartaruga Sabina for our destination wedding. The villa is gorgeous, clean and well maintained; it is located in the peaceful and picturesque countryside near Palombara, yet a quick 3 minute drive to the local commuter train (with easy access to Rome or Fiumicino Airport). Long story short, the property is beautiful, functional, complete with all amenities, and will certainly exceed your expectations based on the limited amount of information that can possibly be conveyed on a website.

Aside from the physical property, what truly sets La Tartaruga apart is its management. Giuseppe is extremely competent, honest and diligent. Planning a holiday/wedding requires much work, and Giuseppe will do everything that is humanely possible to organize your party and reduce your stress. He’s obviously a very busy person, yet somehow manages to respond to any request very quickly; he’s one of the most organized people I’ve ever met, and will think of your needs before you can. I believe that Giuseppe’s motivation transcends that of simple monetary profit, he sincerely wants his guests to have a great time.

So on behalf of my family and friends I’d like to thank Giuseppe again for helping us have one of the best weeks of our lives; it was truly memorable and wouldn’t have been possible without him.

Regards,

Alex

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great management
Liked least: Wooden cross beam by BBQ needs foam padding (can bump head). Tennis court can use some work.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing