We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC TRIP WITH SEATREK - GREAT FUN”

Seatrek Marine Services
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Inverkip
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Seatrek Charter offers RIBs tours and charters on their gentleman's motor yacht. Whether you would like to book for a special occasion, a one off event or just a leisurely trip, Seatrek Charter can help you out.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
inverclyde
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC TRIP WITH SEATREK - GREAT FUN”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We booked an itison deal to do a 1 hour RIB experience trip out of Inverkip Marina for 3 adults at half the normal price; we paid £30 for the 3!!!

From the outset of contacting Seatrek we could tell that they are a professional outfit. Lesley was brilliant at accommodating our preferred date and time and provided us with all the information we required pre-event.

We arrived at Inverkip Marina and were briefed well and supplied with lifejacket. Lesley warned us that John had a passion for ensuring his clients had a good time during their trip and often spent a wee bit longer out than booked! As a result we were very slightly delayed in heading out which was not a issue for us..... plus he added lots of extra time on when we came to be out at sea.

The RIB was a 5mtr boat with seating on console for 2 and the other 2 sat comfortably on the tubes. The boat had a 90 engine on which I thought was pretty impressive for he size of the RIB and we were not disappointed.

From the outset John was highly professional and his love, respect and enthusiasm for the sea and power boating was contagious. As we eased out of the marina he stopped the RIB and handed it over to my wife (don't know who was more apprehensive.. her or me!!). With his expert guidance we all then had a fantastic time taking a shot each of the RIB throughout the journey and back. With his expert tuition, constant monitoring of the person driving and relaxed nature in delivering same we all relaxed in a very safe environment.

John shared his years of knowledge of the sea... pitched at the correct level and we all had a ball. The RIB shot across the river, past Dunoon and up Loch Long before returning back to Cloch Lighthouse and back to the Marina; I estimate we were out for about 80/90 mins instead of e 60.

You get to choose which direction you wish to go (depending on sea conditions) as we were pretty choppy the smoothest option to get to appreciation of the speed the RIB can achieve we headed to Dunoon and up the river.

We were with my 75 year old father and we all had a ball.

Thanks to John & Lesley for a memorable day; I would happily have paid the full £60 and will do it again. Benefit of the smaller RIB instead of the bigger "Seafari" boats and similar is that you get a shot at driving under John's expert guidance.

For the leisure trips John said they would take out younger kids... just give them a call to discuss ages and any limitations. Next time we will take our boys and there will be a next time.

Thoroughly recommend..... go for it book up!!!

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank waggy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley R, Owner at Seatrek Marine Services, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we were pleased you all had a good time it was a lovely gift for your father and we hope you all had a terrific time in the evening to round the day off. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future best wishes Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
siiting in a chair
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out on the water”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Having completed a few courses both on and off the water with John and Lesley I have to say how expertly they have honed their skills over many years . I don't know how they do it but they manage too change what can be a very stressful time for a student into a pleasurable experience and one where you also remember everything they teach you for years to come .
I can highly recommend a cruise up the Clyde on the November 5th to watch all the fireworks from the various bonfires , a trip I made with john some time back .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sprat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley R, Owner at Seatrek Marine Services, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback we aim to give a professional service not just with our charter business but also with our training and am delighted that you have found it to be of value and continue to do so. We are always happy to answer any questions you may have we hope to see you in the future Regards Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callander, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trip on the Island Fox”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We took a 6 hour charter on the Island Fox and had a wonderful trip leaving from Inverkip and circling Bute through the Kyles. We were splendidly looked after by skipper John, hostess and principal organiser Lesley and young crew member Victoria the whole time. The whole occasion was organised in a very professional and friendly way with a superb buffet meal served in mid trip. We ended up heading back to harbour as the sun was setting a perfect end to a lovely afternoon and evening. I had kept the trip as a surprise for my partner Marilyn and our friends and everyone was delighted with the day.
I wish I could award Seatrek Charter more than 5 stars.
David M.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley R, Owner at Seatrek Marine Services, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review David, we were delighted to meet you and all your guests on Saturday and pleased that Marilyn had an enjoyable time. We wish you well for the summer and hope to see you all again in the future. Best wishes Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic experience!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Would highly recommend whizzing around on the rib boat to everyone!! Both John and Lesley made this an exhilarating and unforgettable experience from booking to the very end of the trip! Loved the scenery and getting the opportunity to drive the boat! Everyone should experience this-fab fab fab!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mandyj-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley R, Owner at Seatrek Marine Services, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review it was a pleasure to meet you both and we were delighted you had such a good time. We hope to see you in the future Best wishes Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great way to spend the weekend!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Having booked the Rib trip through Itison, we found the standard of customer service from John and Lesley was excellent. All the safety procedures were thoroughly explained and any of our concerns were quickly put at ease. The trip itself was very exhilarating and an experience we would definitely recommend to others. Each member of our party had the opportunity to drive the rib for a substantial amount of time under the guided supervision of our instructor John. This is a unique experience on this part of the Firth of Clyde and a chance to see the local wildlife and spectacular views. On this occasion we were lucky enough to see a porpoise. Thanks again for a fabulous afternoon!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank gabarretbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley R, Owner at Seatrek Marine Services, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review we were delighted that you had such a good time and look forward to seeing you all again in the future Best wishes Lesley Robertson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seatrek Marine Services also viewed

Been to Seatrek Marine Services? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing