We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We celebrated our 20th anniversary here for 10 days...it was an amazing experience. Beautiful hotel and accommodations. The best part was the gracious service of the staff. Our butlers - Thomas and Alex - made our stay extra special. They were available to accommodate any needs or wants. They were professional, pleasant and proactive. Such a special treat to have them. We also appreciated the morning staff at the restaurant who greeted us every day by name and with a smile. No need went unmet. The bar staff - flo - made sure he had the blue cheese olives ready for our perfect martini. Thank you to the staff for making our celebration so relaxing and special. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: The beachfront suite was absolutely amazing. Very expensive but worth it
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deaners2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBIDF, General Manager at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We really want to thank you for this beautiful comment on Trip Advisor, which is such a reward for all the Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France team.

We are more than happy that you loved your stay at our property, we can say that our wish is granted.

It was our pleasure to meet you and to share with you this experience,

We simply hope to greet you soon, maybe for your next birthday!

Best sunny regards from all the teams,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager & Her Teams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
There are newer reviews for Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have not stayed at this hotel however, when we are in St Barths we like to visit other hotels for a change of scenery and other dining options and we really like to visit this property, for drinks a nice lunch and or the spa. That being said, the hotel itself is absolutely beautiful, love the white and blue decor. Just stunning.

The food is good but can be inconsistent at times, great wine list etc.

The spa is very small and intimate, you have the option of having your massage indoors or outdoors in the garden. We chose the outdoors in the garden, which I do not recommend. While you are in this this lush tranquil garden, I found it hard to relax due to being attacked by mosquitoes during my massage. They spray the area with repellent which doesn't make for good aromatherapy and it just kills the mood so to speak. The massage itself was good but I would opt for indoors next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wanderlets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear client,

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment on Trip Advisor, and we are really happy that you appreciated the Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France, its decor, and our restaurants.
This year, our Chief Yann Vinsot invites you to discover our new menus, full of tasty suggestions.

We are really sorry for the inconvenience with the mosquitos, actually we use special candles, and a natural spray for the skin. Please be sure that we will take in consideration your comment, and find a better solution to avoid this.
We will always try to improve the service that we provide to our dear guests.

We hope to welcome you back this year to discover the new massages & treatments at the Spa,

Best sunny regards,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager, and Her teams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

a beautiful hotel located directly on Flamands Beach. Many rooms open directly on the beach and they certainly are the ones to try. the restaurant is the perfect location for lunch. the fashion show every Tuesday night is not to be missed. i certainly will be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Ed,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great comment on Trip Advisor, and we are really happy that you loved your stay at Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France.

It would be a real pleasure to welcome you back at our property, or at our restaurants La Case de l’Isle or La Cabane de l’Isle. The loyalty of our lovely guest is our best reward!

All the friendly teams of Hotel Saint Barth Isle de France will be glad to hear those beautiful compliments.

Best sunny regards from all the Saint-Barth Isle de France Team,

Christelle Hilpron, General Manager, and Her teams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We visited IDF twice earlier in the year and will be returning again later this year. IDF is our paradise and little secret which we are reluctant to share with others. However, reading some of the recent comments here has made us rethink that perhaps we should take time out to write about our favourite holiday destination.

IDF is a superb boutique hotel run by a dedicated professional team. They make us feel like family immediately when we arrive at the airport. The hotel, beautiful gardens and beach are well maintained and immaculate. Housekeeping’s attention to detail is on par with the top hotels of the world and we were especially impressed by them this year. The staff in the restaurant and beach club was attentive and service level was very high. The quality of food in the hotel restaurant is so good that we always debate as to whether to dine outside or stay in after a busy day of sunbathing!

IDF has a base of loyal clients (like us) who visit annually and in fact book a year in advance to avoid disappointment. There is a mixture of chic and trendy ambience together with a host of sophisticated clients.

Similar to other Caribbean islands, choosing the right time of the year to visit is key to your enjoyment.

Having exacting standards and demanding the best in life, we drive around every year to check out other hotels and we know that we have chosen the best hotel in St Barths for us!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Berniebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBIDF, Directeur général at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to write this so eulogistic comment on Trip Advisor about Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France.

It is a real reward for all our teams because we daily work to satisfy all our guests’ needs and requests.

We are so attached to a warm welcome for our dear guests, and we are really happy that you have enjoyed once again your experience at Hotel Saint-Barth Isle de France.

We hope to joyfully greet you soon,

Best sunny and friendly regards,

Christelle Hilpron, general Manager & Her Teams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We planned to spend a fabulous vacation on the island, but unfortunately the place was not meant for it. Frankly it's not good value for money. First of all even though we stayed in a spacious villa with a large terrace it was impossible to spend time on it. Each time we tried to relax we were immediately attacked by plenty of mosquitoes. The staff was helpful providing us with mosquito nets and different sprays and readily sent the maid to clean the dirty windows of their "best" villa. But still several times a day we had to spray repellents all over our body and clothes and breath in this smell. Another option for relaxation was staying indoors or near a small pool where all the hotel guests gather as the hotel doesn't have any other territory for the guests to spend time. It's a big disadvantage of the hotel. I don't think that other guests of the hotel were luckier than us, they just had to put up with everything once the've come or not pay attention to anything as the hotel doesn't refund if you want to leave earlier because you don't get what you have expected and paid for. Other things which do not represent good value for money is the beach which is narrow and very steep (we don't recommend to come with small children) and the only restaurant which serves breakfast and lunch and dinner. Friendly servers and the girls at the reception are the only plus we can mention. The director preferred not to listen to our complaints in person, but phoned. It seems that she is more concerned with her own profit than with the satisfaction of the guests and the reputation of the hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms near the ocean are better.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nat I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBIDF, Guest Relations Manager at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you found the villa spacious and the staff helpful and friendly.

I am sorry that you had such a difficult time with the mosquitoes. We arranged for extra anti-mosquito treatments, over and above the usual ones, the very first day you told us about the problem. I know that you were satisfied with the extra mosquito net and the sprays provided, as you mentioned this to the front desk. However, I am sorry that all the solutions provided did not finally meet your expectations.

It is a shame that the weather in July didn’t allow you to experience our beautiful beach: we usually have a large beach where people like to relax but the beach has been eroded by the sea earlier than usual this year. This normally happens during September, when the hotel is closed.

It was sad that you left before the end of your stay. As Christelle Hilpron, our General Manager, told you, our cancellation policy is strict but we can help you with your travel insurance company should you wish to claim through them.

We very much hope that you will give the hotel a second chance; We would be very pleased to welcoming you back at Hotel St Barth Isle de France.

Yours sincerely,


Assistant Hotel Manager - Guest Care Manager at Hotel St Barth Isle de France,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I stayed in a stunning villa with private outdoor pool up the hill, gazing on the bay. Verry helpful and nice staff. Hotel offers a wide range of service. Its just a perfect escape! Georgeouse beach where you can grabe a good meal with a nice bottle of wine. Cocktails are just amazing . I really love aswell my personnelized Iced latte ! The restaurant by night is just a once- in-a-lifetime Experience ! The view!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globetrotterfabie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBIDF, General Manager at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Guest,

All the hotel team and me thank you for taking the time to share this really nice comment on Trip Advisor following your stay in June.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you at Hotel St Barth Isle de France.
We are all happy to read that you appreciated that much the property and enjoyed the beach, the service and the food.
Our staff takes a great deal of pleasure in making sure that all our guests’ needs are met and it is hugely rewarding for them to receive a review such as this.
Thanking you again for your appreciation.
We do look forward to welcoming you back among us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Christelle Hilpron, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Hotel St Barth Isle de France is an amazing hotel on beautiful grounds. My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon and we already cannot wait to go back! The hotel staff is amongst the best in the world, not only for their being extremely accomodating, but friendly and responsive to all of your needs. We stayed in one of the beach suites with a private pool and would recommend this to all guests, it was a truly outstanding room and with a beautiful view of the ocean. We had breakfast at the hotel every morning which was delicious and also dined at the outside restaurant for lunch and everything we tried was exquisite! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a private, relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Beach Front rooms are extremely private.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCHAMAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSBIDF, General Manager at Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having post this wonderful comment on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you found our hotel amazing and your room outstanding and that you enjoyed the work of our staff. We really want our guests to feel comfortable.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Isle de France very soon, we remain,
Yours sincerely,

Christelle Hilpron, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse des Flamands
2.5 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
617 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
606 reviews
3.4 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#3 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
1.5 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taiwana
Hotel Taiwana
#2 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France

Address: Baie des Flamands, Anse des Flamands 97133, St. Barthelemy (Formerly Hotel St Barth Isle de France)
Region: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Anse des Flamands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Anse des Flamands
Price Range: £450 - £4,852 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Flamands Bay, widely regarded as the island's finest, the iconic Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France is home to 40 beautifully appointed rooms, suites and villas, with panoramic beach views or nestled in the lush gardens. Savor an exquisite locally-inspired French cuisine created by Chef Yann Vinsot at La Case de l'Isle restaurant overlooking the pool and the ocean or at La Cabane de l'Isle for a feet-in-the-sand lunch or a private dinner. The Cheval Blanc Spa and its Pavilion hidden in the tropical vegetation, offer Guerlain rituals, in exclusivity in the Caribbean. Enjoy a highly personalized service, exclusive events organized with the most prestigious champagne houses, tailor-made experiences imagined by a passionate team. The Concept Store proposes you latest creation of local and international designers and fashion show every Tuesday night around the pool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing