We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Baie des Anges
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Solid”
Reviewed 2 May 2008

(Although everything in St. Barth's is very, very expensive, I am still reviewing this place according to value for dollar (or Euro). This is one of the cheapest hotels on the island, amazingly, yet we paid the equivalent of $500 a night in high season (which dropped to about $350 when low season began half-way through our visit). I've stayed in London, Paris, Geneva, Zermatt, Gstaad--but still was amazed at prices here.) Anyway: the positives: location is wonderful and the owner (Annie) is a great person (she was really helpful with suggestions and didn't balk at driving me to the airport at 6:30 AM. Her family has lived on the island for eight generations, so be sure to ask about the history of the place. I was traveling with friends on this trip, so she asked me to come back with my family the next time--this is a very family-friendly hotel). The hotel is small and intimate and directly on a gorgeous beach. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfasts were very French (bread-based) and good. Each room has a little kitchenette on the balcony that allowed us to prepare several meals "at home." The rooms all have very nice views of the bay (which is beautiful with little commercial development) and get great cooling winds from the water. The beach is very nice for sunning and long walks, but the waters were too rough to allow any swimming while we were there. The less-than-positives: the hotel needed some updating and repairs (all little things, like a torn beach umbrella, old sliding glass doors, interior walls in need of a fresh coat of paint, outdated bathrooms, older furniture, broken clock radio, rusty appliances (not surprising, because they are in salt air), incomplete inventory of kitchen items, broken shower head, broken public phone). The one meal we had at the restaurant was pricy and not very good. The drive to our hotel from Gustavia took about 10-15 minutes over some very bumpy, hilly roads with hairpin turns (par for the course on the island, though).

All in all, I would say that this is a comfortable hotel that needs some updates but has great beach access and accomodating management and staff.

  • Liked — Great beach location
  • Disliked — Needs some TLC
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kluttel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    24
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
43
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2008

I've been to St-Barth with my sister during the month of November for 12 days and we stayed at the Hotel Baie des Anges in Flamands. It was absolutely beautiful. It is a small and friendly hotel right on the beach of Flamands. Be careful of the beach because the current was be strong and the waves can be a little rough.
We had a room on the first floor and it was very big and clean. The bathroom was also big and there was lots of storage for all of our clothes. There is a lovely balcony with a great view of the beach. I really recommend this hotel, because it wasn't very expensive compared to other hotels on the island and the room was very nice.
I recommend to rent a car, that you can book via the hotel, so you can travel around the island and go beach-hopping.
The island is really small so you can go anywhere in just 15 minutes. Sometimes it can be a little tricky to drive on those steep roads, but it's fun.
The restaurants are amazing also, I especially recommend the Wall House in Gustavia and Esprit de Salines.
I am already looking forward to going back one day and I would definitely stay at Baie des Anges.

  • Liked — the location on the beach
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Admayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2007

We were scheduled to stay from the 10th through the 18th. US Airways delayed us in Charlotte, NC and we had to stay overnight so we did not arrive in St Barths until very late on the the 11th. Yes, we lost a nights stay and were charged as most places will do.

The hotel owner (Angie) hires exceptional people and as a result the hotel is well run. The rooms are clean, the food is exceptional and the beach is stunning. You can rent a room with a car as part of a package. The prices are available on Angies website.

About the only area I can pick is the SAT. TV had only about 4 channels. 3 were in French and the only english station (CNN) went away after about half the stay. This left us with only 3 French speaking stations. Since hurricane Dean was near us it would have been nice to have had an english speaking station to check on its position.

Just a note: We stayed in a Deluxe room (there are only 2 like this) which has the kitchenette outside overlooking the beach. We found the refrigerator (which is outside in the heat) a little weak for keeping anything other than cheese and drinks. The little freezer worked pretty well but anything below that was not going to get very cold. If your planning on making a meal and storing leftovers you will want to be careful and consider the temperature.

Overall, this hotel is a great place and the beach is awsome. We may be back one day.

P.S. Take plenty of bug spray with deet. The mosquitos were bad because of the rain. I was told that they are not usually that bad.

  • Liked — The Beach and The Staff
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kz1300a1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twix gatwick and heathrow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2007

We popped in here for lunch and agree with previous review. Nothing grand just a simple welcome, 10 lovely bedroms, family run, and complete with resturant pool and direct access to the beach. Wish we'd stayed here. It reminded us of a Pension in Normandy, in the sun !

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank 3bagsfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2007

We loved this hotel. We stayed in an upper beachfront room which had fabulous views. Location can't be beat, it's on a gorgeous, wide, sandy and swimmable beach that is relatively uncrowded. The room was nicely furnished with a comfortable bed and very clean. We drove all around the island and felt we made the right choice in accommodations for location and value. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. This is a small hotel and perfect for people who do not want a huge resort with all the amenities. The restaurant is also very good, however, we ate out most nights as there are so many excellent restaurants on the island. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank phillinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando, fl, usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2006

My wife, infant son, and I spent week on Flamands Beach at the Baie des Ange. It was our second stay in the past two years at this hotel. Annie, the hotel owner, rotates the young staff in from France regularly (they are young and helpful). The hotel is very clean and well maintained and has all of the necessary compontents for a relaxing vacation (right on the beach, restaurant, wi-fi, swimming pool, balconies, views, car rental included in package). All in all it's a great value; no doubt we'll return.

A side note concerning poster with the schedule change issue: we actually switched rooms during our stay (to a room with more "kid friendly" furniture). The second room was less expensive and while I was prepared to pay the cost of initial room, Annie gave us the lower price (and I don't believe she rented our initial room during our stay).

  • Liked — On the beach, pool, restaurant and bar, wi-fi, secluded location
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank basaintl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Jackson, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2006

We stayed here May 2006 and were very pleased. Since there was limited info on TripAdvisor we were hesitant but booked on agent recommendations. We had a first floor beach front room that you could go out on the balcony/kitchenette and almost touch the beach. The room was modest but spotlessly clean and provided everything you could want. The pool area/restaurant was small but again very clean. The food was good and was reasonably priced for St. Barths standards. We explored the whole island and found this beach to be the most beautiful. I couldn't get my wife out of the calm clear water. Our room included a rental car but be forewarned driving is a challenge on the island as the roads are narrow, curvy and people drive fast. The owner (Annie) was very gracious, not intrusive, but always willing to assist your needs. We checked out some of the other "posher" resorts on the island and if we would go back we would stay here again. We are well travelled in the Caribbean and Mexico and If you are looking for a private, intimate property and don't need a large mega resort you will enjoy this property immensely.

  • Liked — The scenic beach
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse des Flamands
2.7 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
1.6 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#3 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Taiwana
Hotel Taiwana
#2 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baie des Anges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baie des Anges

Property: Hotel Baie des Anges
Address: Flamands, Anse des Flamands 97133, St. Barthelemy
Region: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Anse des Flamands
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Anse des Flamands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baie des Anges 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Flamands Bay, one of Saint Barth’s most breathtaking beaches, the charming Hotel Baie des Anges welcomes couples, families, and reflects the ambiance and serenity of the island. Facing the Ocean, the 10 studio-apartments are decorated in blue, green and white, in perfect harmony with the sea. They all offer comfort and modern conveniences : fully equiped kitchenette on the balcony (including fridge and mini-oven). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, West Indies, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Baie des Anges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baie Des Anges Hotel
Baie Des Anges Gustavia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing