We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Taiwana
Nearby Hotels
Villa Marie Saint-Barth(Colombier)(Great Value!)
US$846
US$802
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tom Beach Hotel(St. Jean)(Great Value!)
US$448
US$426
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Village St Barth(St. Jean)(Great Value!)
US$223
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Baie des Anges(Anse des Flamands)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Mouettes(St. Jean)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Christopher St Barth(Anse de Lorient)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
101
16
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
16
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflamands beachcheval blancprivate poolquiet beachde francetop notchthe hotel managerabsolute perfectiongreat propertyevery guestother guestsan upgradeover the topbeach servicealexparadisesuite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is the best hotel experience we have had. Check in was easy. The room was luxurious. That we have had in many hotels. However, we have never had such great service. Everything from buying beach clothes, to service in our room, to renting a car and getting advice on what to do on the island was perfect. Beach service was great as well. The restaurant was great. We only ate at another restaurant once in our 6 night stay as the service and food were so good at this hotel. I have special diet needs and the chef suggested wonderful creative meals that were tops. We felt like we stayed in a home and were treated like family. This hotel is expensive but worth every penny. We will be back, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merlin612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I just got back from a 6 night stay at Tawaina and it was truly a remarkable week.. From the minute they pick you up from the airport to the moment you check out everything is more than perfect. The staff is warm and friendly and they could not do enough for you. The newly renovated rooms are beautiful and housekeeping keep them immaculate every time you leave the room. Food is fabulous and will accommodate whatever you need. Hotel manager, Philippe, Guest relations manager, Alexander, and restaurant manager, Octavia, especially go out of their way to look after every detail, which make this place a dream come true. I highly recommend Taiwana if you want the perfect vacation!!!

Room Tip: Beachfront suites are great but if not available any room not too high up is good
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My visit at Taiwana can be summed up as " You get what you pay for". Sure the prices are expensive but this is St Barths. Let me tell you, Taiwana is worth every penny and I would gladly pay again.

St Barths: St Barths is not a place which is overrun with tourists and families from cruise ships. It is not a self sufficent island (i.e. no farms or industry) therefore things are expensive since they have to be imported. That being said, St Barths is the perfect place to get away from the mainstream vacation crowds and large faimiles and have a couple days of peace and quiet to yourself and your spouse/partner etc. My restaurant/shopping reviews will be forthcoming but I will focus on the Taiwana for this review.

The Taiwana: Like everywhere else on St Barths prices can be expensive, but you definitely get service that is above and beyond most places in the Carribean. The Taiwana is situated in a quiet corner of the island and quite possibly one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The atmosphere is definitley low-key. There are no raucous noisy groups. Things are peaceful.

The Room: We had a three room suite with a deck and private pool, however we occupied only one. Our room had a window jutting out in front of the bed with a great view of the beach/ocean. We literally woke up to an ocean view in front of us. The decor was modern mediterranean and was perfect for the location. Walls were a crisp white. Toiletries were by Hermes (very appropos). Depending on the room, you may get a rainshower type fixture +/- a seperate tub. The linens were impeccable and the bed was very very comfortable. There was turn down service every night. The towels were fluffy and replenished every day. Robes were a very comfortable waffle-weave as were the slippers. Little things: The AC was great. You can make it ice cold if you want. There was a mini fridge in every room without that annoying sensor device, so you can rearrange the bottles to make room for snacks etc. We particularly enjoyed the nespresso machine in the AM.

The view from our terrace was amazing. The deck/private pool area in our unit was again done in the tasteful mediterranean theme. Part of the walls outside were made into vertical gardens which had flowers and orchids which was a nice and unique feature. The ambient lighting on the terrace at nighttime was also a great touch. It is the small things and details that make this place a winner.

The Service: The Taiwana staff are top notch. Alex. Phillipe and the rest of the staff were great! They arranged transportation for us to and from the ferry/airport. They also arranged scuba diving for us and made restaurant reservations on our request. I also needed packing material for wine I bought to take with me, and they were able to find bubble wrap and tape! The staff can also be found walking around during the day to make sure nothing is out of place. Very professional without being intrusive.

In Sum: I would most definitely come back to this particular hotel. The rooms and service are phenomenal. Also, the hotel is on Flamands Beach which is arguably the nicest beach on the island. Very quiet and perfect for relaxing.

The drawback to this place is that it is not very suitable for large families with children, or the party/frat crowd. I would venture to guess that these two groups would be bored out of thier minds.

Tip: you need a car to get around St Barts even though most things are 10 minutes away and taxi prices can be expensive. Save yourself some time and arrange for the vehicle to be waiting for you at the hotel versus wasting 1-2 hours picking it up yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cas560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Our experience at the Taiwana was extraordinary. This hotel is worthy of nothing less than 5 stars. Everything from the initial booking, picking us up at the ferry, scuba excursions, car rental, and dinner reservations was expeditiously and professionally handled by the Taiwana team. Their work made this a true sit back and relax vacation.

Location / Beach: The property is beautiful and well maintained with over a hundred orchids growing out of several walls. The Taiwana is located on the easternmost point of secluded Flamands Beach which is an excellent location for swimming or lounging. There was a good amount of space between beach chairs and the beach was never packed as is too common in St. Martin. The sand is akin to velvet. There does not appear to be a high or low tide but instead a gentle rolling surf. There is a small reef located where Taiwana's beach meets the rocks which was nice for casual snorkeling. The reef had over a dozen species of fish along with sea urchins, sea fans, and corals.

Room: Hermes bath products, 120 to 220V adapters, a refrigerator, a hair dryer, bath robes with slippers, and an air conditioner were provided. The interior design was simple yet beach chic. The linens were impeccable and one fell asleep right away on their comfortable mattress. Our three bedroom ocean view accommodation with a private pool was a standout!

Food: We sampled a Taiwana pizza at the beach and were happy with the casual fare. Alcoholic beverages were prepared with fresh fruits. Evian was provided in our room daily.

Cons: St. Barths is expensive. Everything is imported and there are no farms present on the island. If you are one to complain about cost, you might want to try another island. You go to St. Barths because you are searching for pampering in a quiet beach paradise complete with luxury foods and lodging. Truly, no one knows how to relax and enjoy life better than the French!

Room Tip: Room 8 is a beautiful 3 bedrooms opening onto a private deck with a pool. One of the rooms has a great view of the downstairs hotel pool and ocean. A second has a similar view with vaulted ceilings. The third has a soaking tub.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank silentepiphany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked a long weekend; stayed over two weeks. This is truly an amazing hotel in every way: luxury suites, large terraces with sea view, impeccable room service, and a staff that is well-trained, professional, polite and happy to assist with requests. Delicious food at the restaurant overlooking the water; we loved the fresh juices and croissants for breakfast and the seafood pasta for dinner. Also liked the hair salon and spa and the chic boutique right next to the reception area. Walking from our room to the famous Flamands beach just a few feet away, with the "plagiste" carefully setting up our chairs and serving us our drinks, was an oasis of calm before going to town for a night out. Having stayed at many luxury establishments in St. Barth over the years, this is the absolute best in every way. We are returning next month.

Room Tip: Must see Room 22! The founding owner's residence, now a luxury suite at the very top of the property.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELPINTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews