We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect get away”
Review of Hotel Taiwana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Taiwana
Certificate of Excellence
Watkinsville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect get away”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

With all of the glowing reviews, I was worried we may be setting our expectations a bit too high for this trip. But from start to finish we were never dissapointed once during our stay. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and we were treated marvelously all week. Everything about this hotel from the staff to the room, the beach and the food was top notch.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank travelsofsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    16
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
77
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel was wonderful and peaceful, it felt like we were on a most perfect vacation ever until a family with a good number of kids moved in, reserved all the front beach chairs and allowed their kids run around screaming all day. That's when we gave up on the beautiful Flamand beach and permanently rellocated to Saline, where it was tranquil and quiet and had no children (god bless the nudists). Everything was very nice but be warned a group of barracudas has been spotted in the waters near the hotel, so it's advised not to wear shiny jewelry or splash too much or swim at night as to avoid an attack. Having said that, historically speaking barracudas are ubiquitous in the Caribbean yet attack very rarely and generally do so when provoked so I wouldn't worry too much about this, just leave your diamonds in the safe. Back to the hotel: the food at the hotel restaurant was yummy and well presented, the staff overall were very nice and accommodating, it's located, maybe a 5 min ride from Gustavia where the majority of nice restaurants and shopping is located and maybe a 15-20 min drive from the Gouverneur and Saline beaches, so it's a fairly convenient location. The rooms are large and feel more like apartments or villas; essentially every guest is in their own building so you won't hear other people much, sometimes it felt like we were the only guests there, it was an amazing feeling. I do wish they offered red wines at proper temperatures - like everywhere else on the island they chill the red wine and I find that abhorrent - I wish there was an option to have it chilled or at 50-60F.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mshkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

great little secret hotel with fantastic staff from the GM all the way down to the team in the restaurant.
stayed in the hotel last month for a quick visit and thoroughly enjoyed it and thinks its one of the best on the island. they understand subtle and personal service which is hard to get right.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickypeterpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were extremely happy with our week stay at Hotel Taiwana. The room was very large with a balcony and plunge pool and great view of the ocean. The room was very clean, modern (shower in the middle of the room), open and breezy. We could not have been happier with the staff. They were over the top helpful with all of our inquiries. More importantly there is a family feel there and you are left alone to take it all in and enjoy the hotel and island. It was an incredibly wonderful experience and we have plans to go back.

Room Tip: Room #15 is large with a plunge pool on the balcony. It's one flight up, very close to the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleRF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We arrived on St Barts at the beginning of January 2014,and as soon as we arrived at the hotel we immediately had that "oh yes" feeling.
The vibe is understated luxury with the most friendly and helpful staff.
The food was excellent and the service exceptional.
We had a suite,beautifully fitted out, with two bedrooms,two bathrooms and two living rooms,and the most fabulous terrace,overlooking the sea,and it really was perfect with two teenage children.
This is one of the most charming relaxed hotels I have stayed in,and they understand exactly how to take care of their guests,in the best possible way.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Just wanted to say - the hotel is beautiful - modern, chic and even supplies Hermes soaps and shampoos. The restaurant is fabulous as is the staff. The beach is spectacular!! I loved St Barts and will make it my destination of choice from here on. If your looking for best in class - this would be it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We just spent the most wonderful, relaxing, luxurious week at the Taiwana. Everything about the hotel is absolutely perfect - the rooms are modern, yet tropical; we had a huge private terrace; the service was impeccable - the staff anticipates your every need so you rarely have to ask for anything; the beach is divine; the restaurant is breezy and comfortable with great food and drinks. I've visited other hotels on the island in the past and decided to go a little more luxurious this time around and it was worth every penny. I am already trying to figure out when I can return!!

Room Tip: I can't imagine any room not being fantastic. We stayed in the Coral Room and it was blissful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anick2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse des Flamands
2.5 mi away
Christopher St Barth
Christopher St Barth
#1 of 1 in Anse de Lorient
605 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eden Rock - St Barths
Eden Rock - St Barths
#1 of 8 in St. Jean
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de France
Cheval Blanc St-Barth Isle de Fr...
#1 of 4 in Anse des Flamands
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Le Sereno Hotel
Le Sereno Hotel
#3 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
224 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tom Beach Hotel
Tom Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in St. Jean
365 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Village St Barth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Taiwana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Taiwana

Property: Hotel Taiwana
Address: Flamands, Anse des Flamands 97133, St. Barthelemy
Region: Caribbean > St. Barthelemy > Anse des Flamands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anse des Flamands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Taiwana 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bienvenue au Taiwana situe sur la partie la plus confidentielle de l'anse des flamands, une des plus belles plages de Saint Barthelemey. L'hotel propose 22 chambres et suites, une villa donnant sur la plage ainsi qu'un penthouse compose de 4 chambres, tous dotes d'une vue exceptionnelle sur la mer. Certaines chambres disposent de piscines privees, jacuzzi, balcons et terrasses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Taiwana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing