We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience in a special place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Donnington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wren House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Donnington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2010

My husband and I researched many places before settling on Wren House, and we were rewarded by finding exactly what we'd hoped to find - a beautifully refurbished and historic Cotswold house with gorgeous gardens in a quiet setting with lovely views of the countryside. And there's more. We greatly enjoyed Kiloran McGregor, the owner of Wren House, who made us totally comfortable and helped us with many suggestions for lovely walks in the area, places to visit, and good restaurants. The bedrooms are on the small side but we lacked for nothing that we might ever need. The beds were comfortable, with nice linens and the bathrooms well supplied. Throughout the house Kiloran has displayed her impressive art collection and her knack for design. Breakfast was lovely in the large sunny kitchen/breakfast area, and we loved seeing the milkman bring milk from the Guernsey cows down the road, entering without knocking and with a cheery hello. There are several terraces and garden benches for relaxing outdoors and a pretty living room which guests are invited to use. Donnington is a charming hamlet in arguably the most beautiful area of the Cotswolds. It is very near several market towns, including Stow-on-the-Wold and Chipping Campden, and there are many fine restaurants nearby. The five nights we spent at Wren House were really special, and I heartily recommend it without reservations.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2010

We spent three days here hoping for a relaxing base from which to explore the Cotswolds. We could not have chosen better. Killoran was a wonderful hostess, making us feel like house guests invited to her home. The house is compact and very comfortable, with attractive objets d'art everywhere, set in a small, charming, peaceful village. You wake to glorious birdsong and go down to a superb breakfast. Killoran gives excellent advice on things to do and places to see, and on lovely local restaurants, and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandPrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

is the best place to stay, you fell like at home. great room, magnific breakfast, the owner is great, give you the best recomendation for dinner, or places to visit. i have just to say thank you for give us wonderful time in our trip

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lidiacesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

This beautiful, old but comfortable home set in stunning Cotswolds countryside was a perfect place to be for a visit of the area. Kiloran is a perfect host. She welcomed us with tea and a warm cake at our arrival in front of a nice and warm fireplace and was always ready to help us with tips and suggestions about our options regarding the choice of restaurants, walks or scenic drives in the area. The breakfast Wren House offers is very good, with great variety of high-quality food in a well lit and spacious kitchen where it is a pleasure to start the day and have a chat with the other guests. A special mention must be reserved for the other host of the house, an incredibly sweet golden labrador. A walk in the beautiful countryside surrounding the house in her company takes up added value and will become an unforgettable and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fil54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

A delightful house dating from the 1600's with beamed ceilings, an enormous open fireplace in the lounge and beautifully and tastefully decororated throughout.
I stayed in the Pink room on the top floor in the eaves with a lovely en suite.

Kiloran is a lovely lady and very good host paying attention to every detail to ensure a comfortable stay for her guests. Her Labrador, Gigha, is also very friendly but not overwhelming.

Despite the age of the building Wren House has all the modern comforts. I travelled on business and was able to connect to the Wireless network on my laptop and my mobile phone signal was great!

I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone wanting a comfortable and relaxing getaway. It’s also a great base for business travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyBShropshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

This is a stunning house located in a small peaceful village, just 2 miles from Stow on the Wold. The owner, Kiloran is very welcoming and helpful in planning your stay. The house has a beautiful interior with lovely bedrooms. We stayed in the pink bedroom on the top floor, which has a great view of the garden and its own fab bathroom. The kitchen is just gorgeous and the breakfasts are also incredible. This is a fantastic place to go for a few relaxing days away.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosewLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donnington
1.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
286 reviews
2.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
984 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Porch House
The Porch House
#1 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Bell at Stow
The Bell at Stow
#3 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
358 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Limes Guest House
The Limes Guest House
#10 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
135 reviews
1.5 mi away
Victoria House Boutique Bedrooms
Victoria House Boutique Bedrooms
#15 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wren House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wren House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Wren House Main Street, Donnington, Stow-on-the-Wold GL56 0XZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold > Donnington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Donnington
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wren House Bed and Breakfast is a charming 15th-century house in the small and peaceful hamlet of Donnington barely two miles from Stow-on-the-Wold. There are three double bedrooms and three dedicated bathrooms, one en suite, each with large and very comfortable (everyone says so!) kingsize beds and feather duvets. This is the private home of Mrs. Kiloran McGrigor and her two yellow Labradors opened up to staying guests. It has a beautiful south-facing garden, and all rooms overlook it, in which guests are invited to sit and, if fine, breakfast is served al fresco. Breakfasts are sumptuous affairs - lots of fruit, cereals, juice and yoghurt and full cooked breakfast if guests wish. Conversation round one table can be entertaining and stimulating. Next to Wren House is a self-catering cottage for two under the same ownership. Guests at the cottage can enjoy all day access and their own secluded garden so this works best for longer stays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wren House Bed & Breakfast Donnington, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing