We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
Review of Snowshill Manor

Snowshill Manor
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Snowshill
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We are National Trust members and visited Snowshill Manor for the first time. I was looking forward to the visit as Snowshill Manor looked different to the usual National Trust properties. We arrived and was given a timed ticket for entry to the Manor which was in 50 minutes time so we looked around the Garden first which was very pretty.

However, there were alot of people waiting to get into the manor at the same time so once we were able to go inside it was quite crowded. We were in a queue all the way around, so we weren't really able to take a proper look everything as were very aware of everyone else behind us waiting. There was no proper written information in the rooms either. There were some interesting pieces but found the majority to be quite boring and repetitive. The rooms were dark, musty and felt unloved. I was quite happy to get out into the fresh air afterwards.

The visit was ok but not great, we won't return. I guess it just wasn't to my personal taste as the property has generally good reviews from others.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank claireandchris164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    173
    39
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Eccentricity at its English best.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Snowshill is a perfect example of the English eccentric at play. If you had no money you would fill your house with plastic bags and old junk from skips and get carted off to the nut house. When you have money and acres of space this is where your obsessions can take you.
What a wonderful eclectic range of the beautiful the functional the historical the practical and the just plain nutty.
I loved it. Every room has a treat for the eyes if you look.
The garden is a similar collection of styles like outdoor rooms pushed up against each other.
This has to be one of my favourite places we have visited all week.
The tearoom cafe is good too.
Always like it when you get 2 scones with your cream tea.
Go go go to the Snow.

Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous scenery and house, disappointing cafe”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Visited on a beautiful day and the peace and tranquillity of the setting was wonderful, enjoyed the house with its lovely guides, so knowledgable, and the amazing collections, gorgeous views and a small but pretty garden. The only disappointment was the cafe which on a Thursday lunch time only had one dish on the menu, tartlet with a salad in the plastic tub which did not look very appetizing. Alternatives were soup or pre-made sandwiches similar to service station ones, we went elsewhere which was a real shame, perhaps it is better at a weekend although it was fairly busy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Bonkers collection but quite fun for a visit”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

So, if you wondered what crazy people did before there was TV to divert them, the answer is they collected bizarre stuff from round the world, and bought quaint manor houses to stuff all the bits in. Snowshill is a lovely little house, with a nice little garden, a pleasant cafe, and a truly nutty collection of fabulous things and random bits. The National Trust staff really excelled, chatting happily to visitors and explaining things beautifully, right from the reception area to the house and collection itself. Good fun, great staff, very slightly insane in that British bonkers sort of way that we seem to specialise in.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank IanSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The most fascinating day out of my life”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This place has to be the most interesting and fascinating place I have ever been to.

As a creative person I loved all the items and thought that had gone into the place.

The National Trust have done a great job looking after it and were very knowledgable.

A must for any garden lover or creative mind.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bondmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Snowshill Manor also viewed

Winchcombe, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Broadway, Cotswolds
Stourton, Shipston-on-Stour
 

Been to Snowshill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing