We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay in the beautiful hills of Languedoc”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Fumade

Private heated swimming pool at the top of the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private heated swimming pool at the top of the garden.
The house is set in the Haut Languedoc Natural Park Four double bedrooms and one with two single beds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Private heated swimming pool at the top of the garden.
The house is set in the Haut Languedoc Natural Park
Four double bedrooms and one with two single beds
Master Suites on the first floor feature double beds and ensuites
Master Suites on the first floor feature double beds and ensuites
Large sitting room upstairs
Open plan dining room and living room
Pergola with family-sized table and chairs for outdoor dining
Open plan living and dining room
Jacuzzi tub in secluded courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Saint-Etienne-d'Albagnan, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
AnnyBT
Carrboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Fantastic stay in the beautiful hills of Languedoc”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in October 2011

I stayed at La Fumade with several friends for two weeks in October 2011, and we had a fantastic time. (only recently realized I had never left a review!) The house was beautiful and had everything we could possibly need. If I were to do anything differently I'd just spend more time closer to home base; we had a pretty aggressive schedule of day trips that we made, which were all very interesting, but ended up being maybe not as relaxing as it could have been. The whole area up in the hills is delightful, and some more leisurely hiking/wandering around villages will be on my agenda the next time I stay (the cathedral at St. Pons de Thomieres turned out to be a hidden gem, for example). Or just more lazing about the house! (I am planning on going back for sure.)

Things it's useful to know: there is laundry detergent available (having a washing machine is a huge boon to packing light, one of the best features); the kitchen, as expected, is completely outfitted, and there was coffee (and a bottle of wine!) available when we arrived, so you don't necessarily need to make a stop at the store on your way in as we did; the setup for electronics nicely accommodated our very geeky group (good wifi and power strip that takes multiple kinds of plugs—actually there were two of those when we left because I had brought one along just in case!). The choice of UK satellite TV was really appreciated; it was soothing to come back to after a day speaking French. There is also an excellent selection of DVDs and guidebooks on the shelves.

As noted elsewhere you definitely need a car, and the trip out to the house can seem a bit harrowing especially if you're there during boar hunting season as we were—we hit the occasional traffic jam with the men from the boar hunting club that's just down the road! But then again the very fact of boar hunting season was actually kind of exciting, and certainly different. (on evenings we ate dinner outside we heard the boars crunching chestnuts just outside the fence.)

I've added some photos that I think give a good idea of how idyllic the place was on the sunny fall days we were there.

So overall, obviously, I'd entirely recommend a stay for anyone who wants a beautiful getaway to non-urban France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setup of house, and the surrounding property, complete amenities
Liked least: Meeting other cars on the one-lane road.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tucked away in the mountains, this place really is a little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The accommodation is lovely, the pool is surrounded by the forest, the hot tub is secluded.... what more could you want. Its all just so relaxing.
All the nearby villages are so quaint, there are hundreds of vineyards to taste and purchase wine, and plenty of great restaurants.
We were sad to come home, and we are going back next year for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot Tub!
Liked least: The fact that i had to go home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillygir...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing Home in the South of France”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My friends and I had a wonderful time in this gorgeous farmhouse nestled in the hills of southern France. An adventurous ride a down winding country lane brings you to a beautiful stone farmhouse with breath-taking views. The home is stunning and well appointed. A fabulous bottle of local wine and welcome basket awaited us. The surrounding villages are well worth the visit and you will be sure to find adventure & a wonderful meal. Be sure to take advantage of the wine tastings in the surrounding areas. I would recommend paying a visit to Gabelas vineyard. This wonderful home will surpass your expectation. The owner is very accessible via email both before and during our trip. We received precise directions to the farmhouse (there are signs along the road pointing you in the right direction). The hosts also provided plenty of maps and suggestions for local trips & restaurants. It is a very warm, inviting, and spacious home with a large kitchen. The beds are very comfortable, you will surely get a good night's sleep. Plenty of bathrooms, which are roomy and clean. The master bedroom suite with great views of the mountains. The home is completely updated. The pool and hot tub are magnificent. This home is an absolute treasure. No need to look any further, as La Fumade will offer you everything you are looking for in the south of France. Book this home for your next vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! It is just an truly amazing home
Liked least: I have nothing negative to say about the home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeeGlouce...
Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic, chilled out retreat for quality family time”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have been lucky enough to just spend 16 nights at La Fumade in Languedoc. Our party is two families, two adults, two children in each, children aged 10 and 8, 10 and 6. If you're looking to get away from the buzz and stress, this is a great place to be. The house is spacious and light, set apart from any noise or disturbance, nestled in the Languedoc National Park. You throw open the windows to bird song and the sound of the river at the bottom of the garden. The house has everything you need for a comfortable stay and we met Stephen, who lives in Olargues (10 minutes away) who looks after La Fumade and visits on a saturday to check the pool and hot tub and helps with anything that you need. Thank you Stephen. Olargues is a charming little medieval town with a beautiful restaurant overlooking the river and medieval bridge into Olargues where you can sit an enjoy a fabulous lunch and take in the view.
Although we went in March/April Easter break and were not blessed with very good weather, the hot tub proved a great hit with adults and children alike and the children braved the pool on the finer days! Thank you to Gabriel and Rob for allowing us to make use of the pool early!
If you're with children, to be honest, you'd probably benefit from a later stay as most of the things we thought about doing weren't available and the French Easter holidays, when everything opens, started just as we were about to come home (15th April), but we did get a chance to visit the local caves at Les Grottes Deveze which are definitely worth a tour. Also, the waterfalls and gorges at Herac (close by) - beautiful. We didn't do the whole walk but just being at the bottom of the river with the scenery was perfect and an easy walk from the car park for most people. There's a small bar in the village of Mons as you drive through just before you get there and we had lunch on the way back - super food and great service. You have to try the Bavette - very good! Carcassonne is a must and a whole day out. We also were lucky enough with the weather to do the beach 3 times. Both beaches are the other side of Bezier and about 1hr and 30 mns. (Vias, good sandy beach with small amount of shops) and Valras, very big beach with lots of restaurants and shops (zip wires and play area on the beach). We visited a superb Galette/Creperie restaurant in a cave-like setting in Pezanas and went on to the Foret d'Acrobat just outside Montagnac. That provided 3 hours of excellent value for money, zip-wiring through the trees, climbing nets, skimming walls and coping with rope ladders. Pushing our adventurous children and their parents to new limits! If you're brave enough there's kayaking, but the rivers in April weren't quite suitable for the younger children. We did visit the donkey farm at Belou and met the donkeys and Gaston, the 12 week old pot bellied pig - gorgeous! You can also treat yourself to some beautiful donkey milk beauty products. Also, we managed to do the go-karting at Caussiniojouls.com on the way to Bedarieux. 10 minutes of fantastic fun on a full tarmac outdoor track in an amazing setting amongst the vineyards - the children loved it and so did we!
If you don't mind driving, there's lots to see and do, or you can just enjoy the peace and quiet of La Fumade. The children were just as happy to play in the river above the garden with the odd family day out. All in all, a fabulous break with some wonderful local wines and french food to be enjoyed. I would recommend this holiday to everybody. Many thanks to Gabriel and Rob. They couldn't have done more to make our stay a more enjoyable one, including the super "welcome panier' that we found on arrival - brimming with local specialities and a bottle of bubbly!. Thank you for letting us spend time in your home here and making us so comfortable and welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet - scenery
Liked least: Unfortunate weather for this time of year
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adiohenry
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
Reviewed 18 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

La Fumade is perfectly situated for exploring the amazing sights of the Languedoc National Park, and beyond into south west France. The house is large and roomy, yet cozy and comfortable.

The five-bedroom house is well appointed and set-up to accommodate a group of people. Roomy kitchen (with plenty of space for helpers, or watchers-drinking-wine-with-you), big comfy sofa in the living room, plus all modern conveniences like a big telly, satellite tv channels and internet. That said, if you want to retreat from the modern world, you can switch it all off, look out to the mountains and gaze up at the stars.

La Fumade is the last property at the end of a tarmac mountain road - and it feels like you really are away from it all. The area immediately around the house is thick forest and the only sounds you can hear are the leaves rustling in the wind. While we were there we enjoyed some beautiful sunshine (relaxed in the pool), some cooler cloudy days (relaxed in the hot-tub) and heard an absolutely amazing thunder storm that ricocheted around the mountain range.

You really do need a car to get to La Fumade, and, since you'll have one anyway, it's worth exploring some other lovely places nearby. Other reviews have mentioned Olargues, which really is just a few minutes drive away - a beautiful little town. We also visited Minerve, Sete, and Perpignan, not to mentioned several stops at a multitude of local wine cooperatives. If you enjoy wine, there really are some absolutely outstanding wine producers in the region... And since you've got that car, well, you might as well stock up! It's easily done.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Self-contained - once you're stocked up with food and wine, you really don't need to leave.
Liked least: Pesky mosquitoes!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and pool.
Liked least: Bitten by bugs.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gretchenl...
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Relaxing hideaway in Haut Languedoc”
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed one week at La Fumade and loved every minute. A generous gift basket welcomed us laden with local treats. The house is well designed and surprisingly roomy. Us five were joined by another family of four plus one extra adult and we all fitted in fine. The kitchen is well appointed for foodies with sharp knives a real added bonus!The pool is small but managed to be a splashing success for the 5 kids using it regularly. Cool weather on some days meant the spa was a luxury too. So much thought has gone into what visitors want , e.g the bookshelf is a great resource. Nestled up in the bush, the house is a true retreat and we loved coming 'home' to it every day after the many excursions in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout of house, pool and bush surroundings
Liked least: Smallish outdoor space and long drive home from surrounding areas.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing