We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn at Big White”
Review of Inn at Big White

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Big White
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Big White
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Ideal position. Ski in and out, ski room, great outdoor hot tub,spacious room. Yes, TV is small, but if you are skiing all day you just need a bed! Great staff, very clean. We got a great deal through Central Reservations. Going back next week.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, General Manager at Inn at Big White, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Hello Susan P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Inn at Big White Hotel. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Inn and we look forward to seeing you again next week!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

This was a decent hotel, with excellent service. Our room was nice and had all the necessities. The staff here were extremely helpful and friendly. The tv was the only drawback, but i was there to ski anyway. i would highly recommend this hotel an I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CfnLds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, General Manager at Inn at Big White, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Dear CfnLds,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Big White Ski Resort. We are pleased to hear that your experience was so positive and that you hope to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

stayed there last year overnight
and did so this winter again
it has everything cheap motel does but now
even cheap motels have Wi-Fi.
here You can check Your emails but only if You're sitting in the lobby near front desk
in the room my lap-top can pick up tens of Wi-Fi' from near by hotels
but not a signal from "Inn at Big White"
and that's not what You expect when You pay $140 per night
rooms are not sound proof either so we didn't get a good night sleep
if I go there next year we're definitely going to check other places!
food in the restaurant is great and that's the main reason we stayed there again

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexinvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, General Manager at Inn at Big White, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Dear alexinvancouver,
Thank you for providing your feedback and comments about your recent stay with us at the Inn at Big White.
It is unfortunate that, at this stage, we are unable to provide wireless internet throughout the entire hotel. We do ensure that all advertisement and booking confirmations for the hotel state this so our guests are not expecting this service when they arrive.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your meals at Carvers Bar & Grill.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have stayed here every season for the last 3 years. It seems this place is getting better and better by the season! Keeping in mind that each year is a whole new staff, this place has had consistently wonderful front desk people and the cleaning standards have been better and better each time there.

If you pay full rate for these rooms....it may not be the best deal, but if you catch the "ski-free", any normal promotion on the bigwhite website, or if you just ask at the front desk (they gave me 20% last time, just because I asked), it is quite reasonable.

Pro's;
front desk staff are phenomenal
cleanliness is great
nice pool and hot tub
in house restaurant is great (although a little pricey)
coffee/tea/cable/and partial kitchen
50 meters from ski run

con's;
wifi in lobby only
outdated furniture/blankets
weird opening hours for pool (who doesn't open these till 12????)
TINY tv

Room Tip: "try to get mountain view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank canadiantruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at Inn at Big White, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2015

Dear Canadiantruth,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback regarding your stay with us at the Inn at Big White. We are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you notice an improvement each time you return. At the start of the 2014-15 winter season, hotel rooms were equipped with new 40-inch HDTVs and provided with Telus Optik TV and internet service: over 77 channels in high definition, Galaxie commercial-free music, movies on demand and pay-per-view programs. Additionally, in-room internet access is high speed (15Mbps), wireless, private and secure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We were falsey accused of damage to the room and have been in constant dispute with them since. They refused to show me the damage, refused to allow me to speak to a manager and charged me an astronomical repair charge. All evidence and documentation that I requested (and that a laywer at my law firm advised to obtain), they would not acknowledge, let alone send me. They continued to say that the damage was my fault, completely dismissing anything that I have to say. They claim to have top notch cleansiness and ensure everything is working, however the thermostat in my room as well as the remote for the tv would not work. Also, the beds are terribly unconfortable. Being treated as if what I had to say did not matter will ensure that I nor anyone I know will ever stay at this hotel and I would highly recommend that no one else does. Even if you have to pay more to stay somewhere, it will be worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jody w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed here for the second week of spring break for 2012. Typical small town ski resort hotel that has seen its days. Towels, sheets and pillows are a little old and could use replacing. Not quite a ski-, ski-out hotel. More like ski-to-road-and-walk-across-road hotel. It's not the end of the world though. The start of the ski hill is literally across a one lane road. We didn't mind it but it may be important to you.

What the place has going for it is the staff. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. Our shower drain badly needed a cleaning as standing in a foot water while taking a shower was quite disgusting. A quick request at the front and everything was taken care of. Requests for additional complimentary coffee, late check out luggage and several other things were all taken care of quickly and with a smile.

The price IMO is a little high. For that price, you can get a true five star hotel at Whistler with clean sheets that feel new, more up to date furnishing and not as outdated looking hotel. However, if you want great powder in a little resort with top notching skiing, your choices are limited.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed at the Inn from Feb 15-19/2012, room was big enough for 2 adults & 2 teens, 1 bedroom, main room had a queen & a Murphy bed, bar sized fridge & microwave, Hot tub holds about 12 adults comfortably, pool was warm I was told, never went in myself, our room overlooked part of the hill,We had about 60cm of new snow while we were there so skiing was a gigantic cornocopia of awesomeness (amazing). we good leave room @ 8:15am and be on the hill in 5 minutes, locks come with the room for your ski equipment which is kept in the locker room on the bottom floor, walk out the door & ski down a little path to the hill, every thing you need is within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel, Carvers Reastruant has a lilimted menu but the food was good the 1 time we ate there, awesome holiday with family & friends.

Room Tip: Get a corner room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank santaclause1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big White
58.3 mi away
White Crystal Inn
White Crystal Inn
#2 of 3 in Big White
63 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Lane Resort & Motel
Park Lane Resort & Motel
#2 of 6 in Christina Lake
58 reviews
12.0 mi away
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
Ramada Limited Grand Forks
#6 of 14 in Grand Forks
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
58.3 mi away
Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort
58.3 mi away
Chateau Big White
Chateau Big White
#1 of 2 in Big White
32 reviews
58.3 mi away
Stonebridge Lodge
Stonebridge Lodge
#1 of 15 in Big White
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Big White? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Big White

Address: Central Village, Big White, British Columbia V1P 1P3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Big White
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Big White
Price Range: £106 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Big White 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the village centre, the Inn at Big White features excellent resort amenity access. Set amidst the spectacular Monashee Mountains, this 100-unit property offers a relaxing, small town atmosphere. After a hard day on the slopes, skiers and boarders love to relax and enjoy the breathtaking views in the outdoor pool and hot tub. The hotel also features a games room, fitness center, heated underground parking and ski locker storage. Adjacent to the lobby is The Blarney Stone Irish Tavern, enjoy their tasty home-cooked Irish and English fare for breakfast, lunch & dinner, with a pint of fine Irish Ale, or try their wide selection of Irish and Scottish Whiskies and a good dose of good ol' Irish hospitality! At the start of the 2014-15 winter season rooms in this hotel will have Optik TV and internet service; over 55 channels in high definition, Galaxie commercial-free music, movies on demand and pay-per-view programs. In-room internet access that is high speed (15Mbps), wireless, private and secure. Each hotel room has its own Galley Kitchen which includes an induction cooker, mini-refrigerator, microwave and sink. Dishes, cookware and utensils are included. The Inn at Big White has been awarded a Conservation Excellence Award in recognition of their outstanding achievement in energy efficiency through sustainable choices and innovative projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn at Big White reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Big White Hotel Big White
Hotel At Big White

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing