We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location and excellent value”
Review of White Crystal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Crystal Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Big White
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I travelled with my 11 yr old son and it was perfect for us.
I would return in a heartbeat. Excellent location for ski in and out as well as 50 yards to ski school and guest services. We faced the valley and had awesome views. Spacious and very clean with bonuses like fireplace and what we really appreciated: a mini kitchenette. Not high end but excellent value: we are coming back!

Room Tip: We liked the 3rd floor facing the valley. Bonus: the whole hotel is non smoking!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, General Manager at White Crystal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Dear Ann K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Big White Ski Resort. We are pleased to hear that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for White Crystal Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is very convenient- right near the lifts and centrally located- truly ski in and ski out. The garage doesn't allow for cars higher than 6 foot 8, so with a Thule one we had to park outside.
The staff were friendly and helpful- we had a TV that wasn't working and they replaced it. The cleaning service didn't vacuum the room every day, and we had to ask for shampoo and coffee replacements each day. We stayed in room 102- near the elevator, and the exit and ski locker- very noisy especially on the weekends when party goers are in and out at all hours of the night.
the hot tub really needed a clean!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seattlecrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We've always stayed at the Inn at Big White and thought would be nice to try a true ski-in/out resort like this one. We specifically requested a room facing the village for a better view and to avoid the road noise. Unfortunately, we forgot about being on the slope meant being right next to the grooming machine, which came at 2:00 am and then back at 3:00 am the very first night. Not only that the machine was noisy, it practically shook the entire building like an earthquake. We didn't sleep at all for the first night and had to request to move back to the Inn the next day. We were exhausted and it wasn't a good way to start a ski vacation.

We also found the room at White Crystal not very functional, the bathroom is huge but there is absolutely no counterspace in the little kitchen. There is no dining table, only a counter with two wooden bar stool. All the chairs are not comfortable. There is no luggage stand AND the hot tub was not opened during our stay. We stayed at #315. So comparing to what we get at the Inn, we personally find the Inn more comfortable if you don't mind a short walk to the Hummingbird run and walking across the road to ski back to the hotel.

As usual, the staff members at both hotels are exceptional. Will definitely revisit Big White but will not stay near the slopes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jag1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We just spent a week at Big White skiing and snowshoeing. The White Crystal Inn is the best ski in/ski out that I have stayed at in a long time. The resort does a wonderful job with storage of the skis and access to the outside is just a short walk away. After you get your skis on the lift is close by. Our stay was quite and very relaxing, enjoyed the hot tub and dry sauna.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klspinuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed at White Crystal for three nights in room 307. The room was very large, with a small kitchenette, which was perfect for quick breakfast and lunch. The room was comfortable, but a bit noisy. You can definitely hear your neighbors, people running in the hall, ice machine and the hill grooming machines outside which start up around 7:30. But chances are you are not there to sleep in, so this wasn't a huge deal.

All staff we encountered at the hotel and the resort in general were great. Andrew at the front desk was super helpful.

The ski locker is great for ski in and out. This hotel is perfectly located: close to the lifts, village mall (where you get your rentals, tickets, food, liquor, clothes etc.), there is restaurant on the main floor, which not bad.

I did use the ski school, group lessons which was great and I definitely recommend.

Room Tip: ask for a ski hill facing room, otherwise you will be looking over a road and hot tub.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VikaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is our family's 2nd year at BW. Last year we stayed at the Whitefoot lodge, the room was way to small. This year we opted for a much larger room at the WhiteCrystal. As advertised it was ski in and ski out, and very central (within feet of the gondola). The only thing keeping me from giving it 5 stars is that the place was noisy and in fairness the listing for that room did say as much...but the road noise was one thing, but when guest are blaring radios... that is controllable. My other critique was they seemed to be stingy with the towels but they would be right there with a phone call. These two short comings were easily offset by the clean accommodations and great staff.

This time we choose to eat at several restaurants. The Bullwheel= awesome, great staff and good prices. Happy Valley lodge=good food, quick service, kinda of chaotic but a great family Apres scene. The Kettle Valley Steak house= $$$$ but great food and service, menu was limited but great wine selection.

As for the skiing, BW finally started to get snow the weekend we were there, either way it was still much better conditions than the states. If you are able to go and participate in Cruz the Bluz I highly recommend it as it is a great way to get you to explore the mountain.

Look forward to next year!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPokaneSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We were in room 318

It was very comfortable with a huge bathroom
We like to take our time and enjoy our breakfast in the room with a beautiful mountain view so we bought our groceries at the market located at Whitefoot Lodge and at the Bakery.
It had a nice fireworks view.
Its Ski-in, and ski-walk-out (to the right a short distance to the Bullet express chair or 100 yards to a tunnel that goes to hummingbird run to Snow Ghost and Ridge Rocket chairs base)
Lots of varied runs for every skier level
Enjoyed very much Happy Valley Lodge, we went there every day after skiing and some days to have lunch. Theres a skating rink, snow coaster and snowmobile rentals
The snow hosts that volunteer to show you the mountain are a great idea, and they enjoy doing it.
Big White have an excellent Kids Centre
We had the famous whiteout just one afternoon, so we enjoyed 4 days of great skiing with excellent snow.
This is not a place to show off, but a relaxed place to enjoy a good ski mountain, with friendly people, 2 or 3 nice ambient bars, and 4 or 5 nice restaurants.

We are planning to go again next year with our 16 y.o. son

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UnPapuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big White hotels
58.3 mi away
Inn at Big White
Inn at Big White
#3 of 3 in Big White
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort
0.1 mi away
Chateau Big White
Chateau Big White
#1 of 2 in Big White
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stonebridge Lodge
Stonebridge Lodge
#1 of 15 in Big White
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Big White Ski Resort Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Crystal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Crystal Inn

Address: 5275 Big White Road Big White, Big White, British Columbia VIP IP3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Big White
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Big White
Price Range: £97 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Crystal Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Crystal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Crystal Hotel Big White

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing