We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concrete slab mattress”
Review of White Crystal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Crystal Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Big White
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Concrete slab mattress”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Sleeping here was literally painful - I could not find a comfortable position. And I like a hard mattress! But this was like sleeping on a concrete pad, covered with the scratchiest, cheapest sheets I've ever encountered in a hotel room. It's like prison beds in an otherwise lovely room. Seriously, I had to eventually line up rows of pillows to sleep on as my hip bones felt bruised by the middle of the night - ! Bizarre.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at White Crystal Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Rebekah,

Thank you for providing your feedback and comments about your recent stay with us at the White Crystal Inn.

I am concerned about the issue with the hotel bed which you encountered during your stay and I'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further at a time that is convenient for you. To this end, I have provided my direct contact information in a message to your profile inbox.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    26
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
21
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We recently took up a deal for 7 nights and 6 days skiing, and for the price we thought things might be quite budget, however we were pleasantly surprised at what we got and where we were for the money. this our 6th time to big white and went because of the value deal on the big white webite for "hotel accom", but we would definitely stay here again. we had a 2nd floor superior kitchenette which was huge, had a fireplace and lovely, with a nice big (large queen) and comfy bed, tv, fireplace and small kitchen which we never used. the furnishings, bathroom and décor were pretty modern and much nicer than I expected. we never had any noise issues, however if you are very light sleeper you might want to get a room on the downhill side as the groomers come past in the early hours albeit just pass once or twice. the big plus is the location - absolutely middle of the village(but not near snowshoe sams, so you don't get the loud drunks making noise late at night) and total ski in ski out, with lockers on the slope level, so very easy to get in and out everyday. the bar and rest downstairs are also so convenient and great value, good quality meals and very popular especially at lunch. so easy to drop home anytime for more/less clothing, change socks etc. the outdoor hot tub is nice but not really views due to snow, but at times it would be great. all the staff were welcoming and very helpful, check in and out was easy and shuttles arranged which was great. the room was always clean and toiletries (Neutrogena!) were refreshed everyday. Cant fault this as a place for couples who just want somewhere to stay and get out on the slopes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brissietravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at White Crystal Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Brissietravellers,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback regarding your recent stay with us at White Crystal Inn. We are pleased to hear that your stay was so enjoyable and that you appreciated the Neutrogena amenity package.

We hope we have the opportunity to host your visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Comfortable, well equipped room....competent, friendly staff....good pub and separate restaurant next door...ski in and ski out....didn't use fitness room or other amenities such as sauna and hot tub.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the village if you don't like music booming from the pub across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killiansdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at White Crystal Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Killiansdad,

Thank you for sharing your review with the travel community, we really appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 7 days in early February 2013 and had an excellent time. The room is very spacious and well equipped. While we would have loved to have an oven in the kitchenette we found everything to be just about perfect.
Our room looked out over the valley (i.e. away from the hill), and noise was never an issue. The amenities such as the outdoor hot tub were great.
And what could I say about Big White - other than: this is a fabulous resort for families with diverse skiing abilities. While I'm more inclined to go on Black Diamonds etc., my wife found the green and blue runs to be just wonderful. Snow conditions were excellent, with lots of powder in the woods and no ice anywhere.
In other words: highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the valley tend to be a bit quieter. But you can't go wrong either way with this e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, General Manager at White Crystal Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Hello Chris B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Big White Ski Resort. We are pleased to hear that your stay at the White Crystal Inn was so enjoyable and that you hope to return soon.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed for 4 nights, taking advantage of a pay for 3 stay for 4 nights promo. We had a unit on the second floor, superior kitchenette.
We arrived at 3:30, check-in was at 4pm. Unfortunatley our room and the room of ther firends we were travelling with was not available until 4:30, so things did not start out well as we just had to sit around and wait after a long drive from Vancouver.
Once we got into the room, it was layed out well, one queen bed and a pull out sofa. Kitchette was a cook top, large fridge, microwave and all the utensils, dishes and pot and pans you could need. Room looked over the village, which was nice. There was a fireplace that threw out more than enough heat, which compensated for the heat register in the bathroom that did not work.
Room was quiet excpet for the nighty visit by the grooming machine at 2am that shook the whole building, but that is out of the hotels control, just a bit frightneing the first night.
Ski in and ski out is outstanding, you are right on the runs, with access to 2 lifts, kids ski school, rental bulding, ticketing and gondola.
There is a huge variety of accomidations in Big White, I would suggest this is a good choice for families for price and location, we would here stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay_&_Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, General Manager at White Crystal Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Hello Jay_&_Barb,

Thank you for providing such thoughtful and thorough feedback regarding your recent stay at Big White Ski Resort.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
I'm sorry to hear that your units were not ready for our advertised check-in time, we do strive to ensure our units are ready by 4pm for all check-ins and I will look into why both you and your friends units were not ready for this time.

Hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stay in a two bedrooms two bathroom unit on the second floor for five nights till Christmas eve. The unit is very spacious with a good functioning kitchen that is equipped to do basic cooking. Laundry room is where the underground car park is, it is coin operated. It is like a self contained vacation rental yet with daily cleaning service. The unit is warm, cozy, comfortable. The location is great, truly ski in ski out. We can see and film the children from our windows when they ski in, fantastic!
The flat screen TV did not work and we were given a old very small TV. We bought two DVD from the grocery store and for two nights struggle to watch them having to sit on the floor to be closer to the small TV as neither the TV nor the sofa could be easily moved closer to each other. On the last day they replaced us with the big flat screen but we were leaving the next day.
Big White is a great ski resort, definitely for family with children who are beginners. White crystal inn is in perfect location for beginners trail. Also close to grocery stores, village central etc.
Will definite visit again and stay in the same unit, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose unit 209!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anaest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, General Manager at White Crystal Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Hello Anaest,

Thank you for the review of your recent vacation at the White Crystal Inn. I am glad to hear that you and your family had such a great stay. I'm sorry to hear that we had a slight issue with the TV in your unit and that it took a couple of days to rectify. I hope to see you and your family at Big White again soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New forest
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This hotel is located next to the piste, next to the main day lodge (ticket office, ski hire etc). We had a lovely family room, with a loft, and a amazing view over the pistes and mountainside. There is a fre car park on the ground floor and a ski locker room. On the down side, when we checked in the receptionist kept telling me about potential fines I would incur if I lost my key or smoked in my room (we are non-smokers), which was not the holiday welocme I would have expected. Also breakdast did not begin until 9.00! When you go sking you need breaskfast at 7.00 so you can be on the slopes when the lifts open (and when you have a family it takes ages for everyone to get ready). So we took the Gondola down to the base of the Village (Happy Valley lodge) and had breakfast everyday in the Moose Lounge - excellent breakfasts for $10.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, General Manager at White Crystal Inn, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear OwlNewforest,

Thank you for providing such thoughtful and thorough feedback regarding your recent stay at Big White Ski Resort.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

The restaurant at the White Crystal Inn is privately owned and operated, unfortunately during some periods of the season they have reduced hours of service. I'm glad however that you did find breakfast at the Moose Lounge, they have some really great options for a great price.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big White hotels
58.3 mi away
Inn at Big White
Inn at Big White
#2 of 3 in Big White
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort
0.1 mi away
Chateau Big White
Chateau Big White
#1 of 2 in Big White
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stonebridge Lodge
Stonebridge Lodge
#1 of 15 in Big White
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Big White Ski Resort Accommodation
0.2 mi away
The Urban Retreat Hostel
The Urban Retreat Hostel
#12 of 15 in Big White
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Crystal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Crystal Inn

Property: White Crystal Inn
Address: 5275 Big White Road Big White, Big White, British Columbia VIP IP3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Big White
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Big White
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Crystal Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Crystal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Crystal Hotel Big White

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing