We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Ski Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Big White
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Ski Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Timing Dec 26 - Jan 1st.
Family of 5. Ages 11, 13, 15.
Hotel, Sundance.
Snow. Snow was great. I dont know how it could be better, The base was great, the snow at all levels on the hill was amazing. Great view from the top. Usually the bottom of the hill was overcast and the top was often sunny. Very little fog. Night skiing was fun as well. Big White is a great place to ski the trees. lots of options from open tree runs to tighter.
Hill. The layout of the hill / village at Big White is great. You can ski in and out everywhere. Really liked that you were able to ski down to any lift. ie the village and accomodations are above the bottom of the hill. Were were expecting it to be a busy time but there were almost no lines on any lift. The first two days we skied right onto the chair. Near the end there were some 5 minute lines occasionally.
Village. Easy to walk anywhere, 4-5 different food options, all good, also a small market for buying food.
I rented skis on the trip and they were great, All the brand new skiis were there to try.
Hotel. The hotel is very new. The rooms are very spacious, it's more like an apartment than a hotel room. Our suite had two bedrooms off the main room, each had a full bathroom with shower. There were marble countertops in the kitchen and the ceiling were 12' high. I liked how there were ski lockers on the first floor. You could ski right there and go in a seperate entrance to the locker. 2 hot tubs and pool. Kids loved it.
We were able to let our kids just take off and meet up with us or come back to hotel. I think overall this place is way better than
whistler. The snow sure is alot better.
I'd go back to big white in a second, my number 1 ski trip.

Room Tip: There were a couple of rooms on the main floor that had their own entrance off the side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2015
Dear Joe B,

Thank you for your thorough and thoughtful review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort. Sundance is now under new management. We plan to raise the level of service at Sundance making it one of the best choices for a Big White vacation.

There are a few new restaurants at the resort since this visit. We hope you will return soon for more powder skiing and luxury accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    18
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
53
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

This was a fun ski trip! the night skiing was a favorite of mine and the chalets were top notch!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2015
Dear Suzie C,

Thank you for your short, yet sweet, review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort. Sundance is now under new management. We plan to raise the level of service at Sundance making it one of the best choices for a Big White vacation. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here in March 2012 and had a fantastic stay. Family of 5, 3 small kids, we were in a 2 bedroom unit. Was well appointed, a nice layout (rooms on opposite sides of the condo), nice updated kitchen and modern bathrooms. Lots of storage space and in-room laundry. There are ski lockers downstairs that are easy to access.

The common areas were great - nice common room with fire, tv and pool table, a games room for kids, a movie theatre, steam room and outdoor pool with slide and 2 hot tubs. The pool was heated, but on the chilly side (at least for parents), but the 2 hot tubs were very warm.

Very friendly staff at the resort.

Easy ski out to the lift. 5-8 min walk to the village on a lit snow trail, nice walk to/from dinner, but often we carried the kids up the hill on our way back home.

Overall, exceeded my expectations. We had a great trip, and would stay here again. I think this was the nicest resort on the hill (outside of individual chalets - but the kids wanted a pool). Also loved Big White - very relaxed ski resort, family friendly, great skiing, especially in the glades. Excellent ski school and children's program.

Room Tip: we were on 2nd floor - elevators were slow, so an easy walk up 1 flight of stairs. I wouldn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank willtravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2015
Dear Willtravel5,

Thank you for your thorough and thoughtful review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort. Sundance is now under new management. We plan to raise the level of service at Sundance making it one of the best choices for a Big White vacation. We hope to host your family soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Travelled here in March 2012 for work. We stayed in a 1 bedroom condo on the backside of the hotel, we had a view up the hill of private properties but it was still a beautiful view. Our room was perfect, it had a big living room area and a separate big bedroom with a queen bed (not so comfortable but still good) and a very good sized bathroom. We were greeted with an awesome welcome package and lots of information about the resort. Sundance was about a 5 minute walk from the village but there is a free shuttle that comes every half our or so that takes you right in.

Big White by far had the best snow on our trip! And the village atmosphere is awesome, full of happy friendly people that are always willing to help out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaiMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2015
Dear JaiMarie,

Thank you for your great review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort. Sundance is now under new management. We plan to raise the level of service at Sundance making it one of the best choices for a Big White vacation. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

not sure what all the comments were about the pool/spa area but i was there a few years ago and it was fantastic. the little slide was fun and sitting in the hot tub overlooking the mountains with snow is heaven. the heated floor was great and worked fine. we stayed in the second building and had good ski out, but yes the ski in part is a bit of a steep turn, but safe and unless you were a novice it should be fine. it is a little walk to the village, but we never carried groceries so wasnt a big problem, we went out every morning and night and it didnt concern us to walk 5mins (walked off some of our meals/drinks!). personally our bed was large and comfy and the room was facing the back (up mountain), so never had a sun problem - it was always well heated and also quite large for 2 people. staff were very helpful even at 3am when we had to get our shuttle. i recommend it as long as your not expecting to be in the middle of the village or have onsite bar/rest.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brissietravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2015
Dear Brissietravellers,

Thank you for your supportive review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort. Sundance is now under new management. We plan to raise the level of service at Sundance making it one of the best choices for a Big White vacation. We hope you will return soon.

The complimentary on-mountain shuttle bus now stops at the top of Feathertop Road, just in front of the Sundance Resort entrance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed at Sundance for 5 days during Xmas vacation. The customer service was great and friendly. My daughter enjoyed the movies and pool table.
BUT... the beds where way to ferme for our liking. It was like sleeping on a stack of cardboard boxes with sheets. We slept on beds of more modest hotels before and NEVER had we woken in the morning with sore backs and muscle aches. My husband didn't ski and he was as sore as I was.
Then there was a problem with the ground heating system in the pool area. We were allowed to use the pool and hot tub but the heated ground that was supposed to melt any accumulation of ice was not functionning well and therefore the pool area was covered in ice (including steps to hot tub). the next day it was resolved but they should have put salt or closed the area. The pool area is a junction between both buildings (rooms and activity and front desk). I would have never left my daughter (8) go across to the movie room alone because of the icy ground.
Then there was the bad plumming that overflowed the toilet after use. Staff were very kind and gave us another room until it happened again in the second one. If they had a sign thant mention to hold down the flush handle until the water was flushed, it would have helped us prevent this.
Overhall, great staff but a major concern regarding safety and BAD mattresses for the price we paid per night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Minophen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2015
Dear Minophen,

Thank you for your thorough and thoughtful review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort. Sundance is now under new management. We plan to raise the level of service at Sundance making it one of the best choices for a Big White vacation. We hope you will return soon.

We will pay close attention to the mattresses and gather a lot of guest feedback next winter. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

My partner and I had a wonderful weekend at this resort. We loved the easy access for parking, the easy ski in & out, the ski lockers on ground floor for all our gear made it terrific so we didn't have that stuff in our guest room. And the guest room was a beautiful one bedroom suite with full kitchen with granite counters, living area with fire place and master bedroom with ensuite! It was great and felt like home away from home! We didn't use the outdoor pool or slide (looked great) but used the hot tub which was fun - especially as it was snowing!! We also used the wonderful "library" room with TV's and a pool table which was good fun.

The staff were incredibly friendly and "ready to please" which was great. They even offered free DVD's to watch in our rooms if we wanted....great service! Had a wonderful weekend with all the things to do that are offered at the resort and at Big White in general.

We'll be back again next winter....hopefully for a couple of weekends! :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RosemaryPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCR, Manager at Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2015
Dear Rosemary P,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort. Sundance is now under new management. We plan to raise the level of service at Sundance making it one of the best choices for a Big White vacation. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big White
Inn at Big White
#2 of 3 in Big White
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
White Crystal Inn
#3 of 3 in Big White
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#7 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Stonebridge Lodge
#1 of 15 in Big White
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Chateau Big White
#1 of 2 in Big White
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort

Property: Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort
Address: 255 Feathertop Way | Big White Ski Resort, Big White, British Columbia V1P 1P3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Big White
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Big White
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it is a family Christmas ski holiday or a weekend get together with your best snowboard buddies, the Sundance Team know how precious your vacation time is. We take great pride in providing our guests with a level of professional friendly service you will not find anywhere else. We believe in the little things like finding a babysitter at the last minute or helping line up the best bottle of famous Okanagan wine for impromptu romantic evenings. And hey, if you ask the right person, a guided excursion into some of our secret champagne powder stashes might be in your future. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sundance Resort at Big White Ski Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Resort At Big White Ski Hotel Big White

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing