We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like royals in this beautiful castle”
Review of Castello Camemi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castello Camemi
Ranked #1 of 4 Vizzini B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed one night at the beautiful Castello Camemi and loved every bit of it. Everything is done to perfection, the interior, the gardens, the pool and the view is to die for (especially in the morning when you can see snow capped Etna). Also the towels, bedlinnen, interior decoration was divine. This is the place you wish you could hold your wedding or a great party as it is perfect for this.

Room Tip: We decided on the superior room and had our own fireplace which was very nice and worth it. If you r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollandDutchcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

My boyfriend and I were anticipating a lovely relaxing 2 nights at Castello Camemi at the end of our busy 10 day trip around Sicily, and were really disappointed to find that it was not the peaceful relaxing oasis we were hoping for... :(.

Things were going well initially when we arrived on a Friday evening - the place is admittedly beautiful, set in lovely countryside, and our room was very large and beautifully decorated. It was also very quiet as we seemed to be the only guests! However, things started going downhill on the Saturday, when it turned out that the hotel was hosting a wedding reception that evening - throughout the day as we were trying to relax by the pool, staff were bustling around, setting up tables etc. Pretty hard to relax when with a backdrop of clattering tables and chairs all around you, and we started to feel like we were getting in the way... :(. We asked what time the reception would be starting, so we'd know how long we could use the pool etc (not that we should have had to stop using it because there's a wedding, given that we're paying guests!), and were only told that it would be starting around 7pm. We went out for dinner, and returned to find the bulk of the wedding reception taking place in and around the courtyard... just outside our bedroom door. This included very loud music, which lasted until around 2am - again, hardly the relaxing stay we were hoping for. Not only that, we had to be up at 6am for our flight home, so had a terrible night's sleep before a day of travelling...

Now, I understand that the Castello is likely to be a popular wedding reception venue, but surely it's only fair to ensure that other guests are aware if there is going to be a wedding taking place while they are there?! We only found out in passing when we were already there, which is a bit late, and were just told 'we normally tell guests when there is a wedding' - NOTHING was mentioned to us about this when we booked. If we had been told, fair enough - then we would have had the option of choosing somewhere else if we wanted to.

The attitude of the staff in response to our complaint about this was perhaps the most aggravating aspect - no apology, and a frankly 'couldn't care less' attitude. I called reception at about 1am to ask whether we could move to a quieter room, but was simply told 'there's no need to' and that the music would stop in a while; I was also told 'it's only 1am!' - hardly the point, and an alarming lack of customer service skills...! I also had to push quite forcefully for a discount on our bill in the morning - nothing was offered (still no apology).

On a separate note, we personally found the food ok but fairly unimpressive - we each had the four course taster menu on the first evening, and found it all pretty average. Bear in mind that if you want to go out for the evening, it's a bit of a drive to get anywhere with a range of options for dinner.

Overall, a real let-down on what should have been a really great end to our holiday - we left feeling really disappointed, and would not stay here again. To avoid a similar disappointment, please check with the hotel whether they are hosting a wedding while you are there, as apparently they may not tell you otherwise...!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Freckle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vittorio T, Direttore at Castello Camemi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

We don't want to discuss everything you've written but only say that some things are not true and others are frankly excessive claims.
It is not true that we have not apologized, but indeed we did it many, many times and you haven't had to insist to get the discount (which, moreover, is not due but is a concession of the hotel): on the evening of the wedding you stated that you had no intention of paying in full and the next morning found the account already halved (further, you didn't tell about the free upgrade that we made at your arrival).
The fact that a customer pays for the room (which is normal in a hotel) does not mean he cannot have any limitation of space or time in the enjoyment of the hotel.
We believe our duty to inform customers if there is a wedding banquet at the time of reservation request, but you have made a direct and automatic booking through a web portal. In this way, it is natural to accept the "risk" of finding a special evening . Nobody should think that a quiet place, as Castello Camemi actually is, should be that 365 days a year: there are soirees like New Year's Eve , the Assumption and some private parties such as weddings, things that normally happen in all hotels of the world. In addition we would point out that the music is not continued until late at night but it finished around 1.00.
Finally, it is disappointment for all of us when the guests have not a good stay at the Castle , but it is our opinion that the discomfort you experienced – also due to the very early wake up - made everything looked extremely negative.

Sincerely,

The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Castello Camemi is a great place to enjoy the beauty of Southern Sicily. The castello offers nice rooms, great interior design for the breakfast room, charming service, a great swimming pool. Best of all, the food and cook has Michelin star qualities.

A short notice: The Castello is a bit hard to find, it is possible to look for the SS 124 and continue a while on that street, until signs arrive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luxadoptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the end of a 10 day stay. It was the best accomodation! We could choose out of several available rooms. Breakfast was super. Dinner was also good. The only "noise" comes from cows and birds. On the last day we stayed long at the pool before we finally needed to leave in order to catch the plane.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pierre19671024752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Our plane was late, we got lost on our way to the hotel and we didn't arrive until gone midnight even so our welcome could not have been better. We had an upgrade and a fantastic room/suite for our stay. The hotel was in a lovely building in a beautiful setting. Wi-fi reception in the room was good. Food unfortunately was a bit of a let down, breakfast was limited on the first day but much better on the second. The evening meal was not up to standard for the price we had to pay and I write this after sampling the food in other hotels and restaurants during our stay in Sicily. A shame as otherwise I could not fault the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennieWSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

My husband and I spent 3 days at the Castello Camemi at the start of our trip to Sicily. Castello Camemi is a converted, baronial Castello around 45 minutes by car from Catania airport. Having until recently been near derelict, the building and interiors have now been totally restored with superb architectural and historical sensitivity. The hotel has a beautiful and tranquil setting with lovely views over its own estate and the local countryside. Etna broods in the distance. Our bedroom was of a good size and tastefully furnished and very comfortable. We stayed at the hotel on a half board basis which was extremely good value as we were treated to a lovely four course meal each evening with an extensive and largely local wine-list. The owners and staff were amazingly helpful – Country House hospitality, but with Sicilian finesse.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ajames19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank S22ilovect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vizzini
24.9 mi away
Eremo della Giubiliana
Eremo della Giubiliana
#4 of 37 in Ragusa
490 reviews
20.2 mi away
Relais Antica Badia
Relais Antica Badia
#6 of 37 in Ragusa
569 reviews
21.8 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#1 of 37 in Ragusa
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
San Giorgio Palace Hotel
4.8 mi away
'A Cunziria
'A Cunziria
#3 of 4 in Vizzini
39 reviews
5 mi away
Il Campanile
Il Campanile
#2 of 4 in Vizzini
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Camemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Camemi

Address: Contrada Camemi sn, 95049 Vizzini, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Vizzini
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Vizzini
Price Range: £121 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Camemi 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country inn located in the territory of Vizzini, into the heart of eastern Sicily, far from town, occupies an ancient dwelling, a fortress of xv century. It is "castle square", with a large green courtyard in the center, and today it has fourteen rooms equipped with every comfort, all different, decorated with taste and refinement, most of which are suites. The main floor, designed as an apartment, has a touch more of elegance and sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castello Camemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing