We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only open restaurant at Silver Star year-round”

The Bulldog Grand Cafe
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Dutch, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Bulldog Grand Café is an extension of The Bulldog Amsterdam, a renowned Dutch establishmentThe ambiance in the restaurant is that of the infamous 'Brown Bars' in a grand café setting. Many parts of the interior such as the Bar, tables or souvenir shop have been brought over from Holland to authenticate The Bulldog feeling. Leather sofas and natural rock fireplaces combined with the earthy décor make The Bulldog Grand Café the ideal place to enjoy a casual meal or drink, either in the main café or the large covered Patio Lounge.The menu offers a large variety of foods, mostly concentrated on Dutch & Thai-Indonesian Cuisine with a hint of West Coast Fusion. All the menu items are prepared from the freshest ingredients and all baked items are homemade in our bakery. Our qualified chefs have created a menu that appeals to any craving you or your family may be having that day.
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
272 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“The only open restaurant at Silver Star year-round”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I've reviewed The BullDog during the ski season, and am now reviewing it for the off-season. This is the only restaurant that stays open year round even in the spring/fall when the other restaurants close. During the off-season it is only open for lunch (until 3:00) except for Friday's till 8:00. You can enjoy the sunny balcony or dine inside the restaurant. Lots of appy type choices as well as full entrees. (Great wine selection too!)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank svQuickStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    41
    23
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
191 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice Warm Place on a Cold Day”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We met friends for lunch here. the soup our friends had was hearty, I shared a chicken sandwich with my husband, it had a whole chicken breast with condiments and it was very good. Lunch for 4 was $34, which I think is very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great food, s#!tty service”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The Bulldog Grande Cafe has good food, nothing to write home about but after a day of biking one can't complain, especially because they are usually the only restaurant open. However the service leaves something to be desired. This is based on more than one visit to the restaurant. Even when the restaurant is dead (less than 4 tables) the services is mediocre at best. The waitstaff are curt to the point of being rude and most of the time you have to serve your own glass of water and find your own menu. Getting breakfast is a feat next to impossible unless you corner your server and even then the order may never arrive. I would rather drive the 15 min to Vernon to eat, at least I know I'd get served. I normally don't complain (having been a waitress for 5 years) but a whole summer season of bad service is enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeustache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
revelstoke
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great service! Very nice ambiance! Comfused chef!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Nice overall experience just confused food ! I add the bulldog burger ! I knew before ordering that could be a hit or miss but most likely a miss but the thai peanut sauce didnt go well with the pickle and the beef patty! To the chef !! Get the pickel out of there make it on chicken and would be awsome ! My partner had the falafel pita , once again they ware more like deep fryed hummus then falafel and the dressing for her mix green was totaly out of balance , try to put honey to balance the acidity! And also make you falafel from dry bean that you soak overnight and the ground! Not the can stuff!! You will have lots more texture!
Will go again but wont trust the chef experience!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodmatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will not return”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Had lunch with out of town guests and was embarrassed by the poor service and food. Service was slow even though restaurant was nearly empty. Were given a jug of water with plastic glasses which we had to pour. Food took 35 min plus to arrive and was mediocre. Had already complained about taste of soft drinks which was not taken seriously by server. Not impressed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Macvernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bulldog Grand Cafe also viewed

Silver Star, Okanagan Valley
Silver Star, Okanagan Valley
 
Silver Star, Okanagan Valley
Silver Star, Okanagan Valley
 
Silver Star, Okanagan Valley
Silver Star, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Bulldog Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing