We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for (but in a good way)” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star
Ranked #4 of 5 Silver Star B&B and Inns
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for (but in a good way)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived at 2pm, was aware of check in time, were allowed into our unit # 31. A big shock with repairs to hotel, were a bit shocked to find workplace in full swing. Unit very adequate for our needs. Great beds, lots of hot water, good size kitchen and lounge. Staff looked after our needs at all times. Listened to our complaints and concerns and acted on them. Overall we had a great stay. Not 5 star but very comfortable. Thanks to Andrew, Pauline, Theresa and others.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    14
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

If you're looking to stay someplace cheap at SilverStar, pay a bit more and avoid this place like the plague. We just got back and had the following issues:
1) Pubic hair in bathtub upon checkin
2) hotel under renovation, they never let us know this when we were booking reservation
3) WiFi not working for half the trip
4) Worn out, sagging furniture.
5) Couldn't get to sleep, even with earplugs, due to drunks rampaging on the second floor, swearing, and slamming doors. This on a Monday night from 11pm - 3am.
6) Check in time at 4pm - weren't notified of this upon booking so we showed up at 1pm
7) Faux Arts decor trying to brighten a worn-out, 70s era interior
8) $20 food voucher to Mountain Katz restaurant - this restaurant was even worse than the hotel - "under new management," 1/2 the menu items not available, 2 different drinks not available, and both bathrooms not working. The place was empty. Next time stick to Long John's restaurant, MUCH better.

On the plus side, the hot tub was hot and no one else used it. The showerhead in the shower was also good.

Room Tip: Do not select any rooms and stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b0rn2run74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCflyer13, General Manager at The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback however it is unfortunate your, well, unfortunate comments have reached this public forum rather than discussing your concerns here at the hotel with me personally, but we are in the 21st Century, and nothing can be done about that! So, here we go.

I see you booked through the Silver Star Resort's Central Reservations rather than our hotel directly. We have had discussions with Central Reservations about their lack of communication with guests who have booked our hotel through them regarding the restoration going on here, and I know I can say, on behalf of the Resort, we apologise for that oversight.

Also, I have in front of me the confirmation sent to you by Central Reservations. Please notice to the right of the underlined "Reservation Detail" our check-in time of 4pm. I hope I can convince you, however, to be sent another booking confirmation for a future stay. More on that below.

In terms of the housekeeping slip-up and the lack of wi-fi, all I can say is please get in touch with me directly on jason@silverstarmountain.com so I can find out which member of staff you passed these deficiencies on to (for reasons of coaching not disciplinary) because they should have been fixed for you on the spot. Both are unacceptable and I apologise for that. Basic cleanliness and wi-fi availability are staples these days, there is no doubt.

Regarding the furniture and decor, I will investigate the former, and yes, the latter is not for everyone but we believe we offer a good value-for-money product, as you can see by the majority of positive reviews on this page.

With the noise in the guest corridors that evening, we should have been more on top of it, absolutely. Internal follow-up has already been conducted. Unfortunately, however, sometimes on a ski hill there are those young guests who just have too much fun in the snow - and in the pubs - at too late of an hour, but they should have been read the riot act by the member of staff on shift at that time. Again, coaching rather than disciplinary unless it happens twice which then becomes a choice not to take action. I also apologise for this.

Finally, I will forward your constructive comments on to the restaurant across the village from us. Not good.

So, Mr. Nameless Guest (even though I know who you are), now comes the time for me, on behalf of the Resort and the restaurant in question, to ask if you will allow us to turn this situation around. As above, please email me so I can offer compensation for your, again, unfortunate visit.

Looking forward to hearing from you,


Jason Truscott
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Let me start off by saying this isn't a fancy hotel or ski chalet. It's quaint and cute and very functional. We had the one bedroom with alcove booked but due to flooding they put us up into two separate rooms. They bent over backwards trying to accommodate us and that was greatly appreciated. This is our second time staying at Silver star. One of their rooms can accommodate 2 adults and 3 children which is nice as usually for families of 5 you need two rooms or a suite. We brought our 2 spaniels with us and were thrilled we could do that. It isn't easy finding pet friendly accommodations. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. We did have challenges with the thermostat as the room would heat up even with it off. I think it was from the hallway heat (they keep it pretty warm). We just opened the window as needed to cool it down. Each room has a mini fridge. When they aren't under renos they offer a continental breakfast which is wonderful. We missed that this trip for sure. I can't wait to go back again once renos are complete. There is a small hot tub. They really could use a bigger one or an additional one as it only fits 4-5 people so can fill up with one family. No pool, but I don't think I saw any accommodations at Silver Star with a pool when I looked. The towels are large and fluffy. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are large. We will be back.

Room Tip: If you have kids, the room with the bunkbeds works well. It has a twin on the top and a double on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jokelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Awesome location, great ambiance and dedicated staff. While it is not the flashiest hotel it makes up for it with its dedication to customer service and the comfort of its customers. It's unique decor is truly original and the value is amazing, i highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeustache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We arrived in Vernon on the long weekend and were just looking for a super cheap motel to lay our heads. Lady at the Visitor Information center said the Bulldog had rooms on that night for $60, and it sounded intriguing. I absolutely loved the atmosphere, like a true mountain resort, with things to do and restaurants and shops.
The hotel itself was super tacky (in a good way) and had crazy paintings and pictures everywhere. The room was tiny, about standard motel fair, but it was clean and comfortable. I probably would not pay more than I did for this quality of room, but the food at the restaurant was amazing, and the service personable and awesome. We went bowling and hiking around, had a hot tub, and an early night. Got waaay more than we had expected, and for as much as we would have paid for a cheap motor inn in town.
Theresa was at the front desk when we checked in, worked in the bar all night as a waitress, and was back on the job first thing the next morning when we went for breakfast. Talk about a hard worker. She was totally great with us and all our questions.
Theresa

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I haven't had the opportunity to stay at the Bulldog Hotel - but my husband and son are there at present; and it's my husband's birthday! So I emailed the hotel and asked them to 'make a fuss of him' ....... the complimentary creme broule served with dinner on the night of his birthday sure was a nice touch! Well done guys - I'm impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

best value hotel of the whole trip.
A long drive up to it but once there amazing,
only down side was that we arrived to late for dinner which closed at 8.00p.m. and we arrived at 8.10pm keys were waiting for us on the desk.
would love to go there in the winter.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richlee1malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Star
18.5 mi away
Sparkling Hill Resort
10.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Vernon
11.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pacific Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vance Creek Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
The Pinnacles Suite Hotel
The Pinnacles Suite Hotel
#1 of 5 in Silver Star
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Silver Star
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star

Property: The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star
Address: 142 Main Street, Silver Star, British Columbia V1B 3M1, Canada (Formerly Putnam Station Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Silver Star
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Silver Star
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bulldog™ Hotel is a cozy slope side lodge located in the Victorian-inspired village of Silver Star. The truly unique Bulldog Hotel reflects the colorful theme of the village concept and offers a warm and inviting atmosphere perfect for every kind of mountain retreat. We have excellent chair lift access, a Shared Hot tub and Ski/bike storage facility. All hotel rooms have are equipped with: Sony LCD 26" Cable TV, Vanity Kit by “Environmentally Sensitive Amenities”, free High speed wireless internet access, Mini Fridge & Tea and Coffee facility and complimentary continental breakfast. Pets stay free! Featuring a full-service restaurant, we offer an open patio and the largest covered Patio Lounge on the mountain. The Bulldog’s Grand Cafe is an extension of The Bulldog™ Amsterdam. Many parts of the interior have been brought over from Holland to authenticate The Bulldog™ feeling. Featuring rock fireplaces and leather sofas, the Grand Cafe is open daily. A variety of menu items includes Dutch, Thai, Indonesian, and West Coast specialties. Join us at DeVine Cellar, our new and exclusive wine and tapas bar! Tucked down in the lower level of The Bulldog™ Hotel. Our guests receive a 10% discount on all The Bulldog Grand Cafe and DeVine Cellar have to offer. (This includes food, non-alcoholic beverages) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing