We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spa Hotel Salina Maris - Wellness & Vintage
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed in an incredibly spacious family apartment. The furniture was essential and quite old, but functional- The hotel is linked to a very large swimming pool and spa, facilities that enrich significantly the stay.
The ski room is basically non-existing (it is a staircase) and the restaurant is ok.
Overall a good quality but not all services and amenities are 4-star level.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

I had booked a room on the nearby 2-star B&B but on arrival I was greeted with a complimentary upgrade to the 4-star hotel!

The arrival and departure processes were conducted in a very professional way by the receptionist Caroline Schwery, who provided great customer service during all my stay. She even congratulated me for my birthday during check-out! Well, I must say I couldn't see that coming and it really made my day :-)

The room I was given was huge, with kitchenette, sofa area and a big double bed.

Overall, I was very impressed with the hotel and I would definitely recommend it to anybody in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javipena82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Hotel is very nice,the people there are friendly and ready to help you in any situation. If you need any informantion,they are ready immediately to give you advice and to help you to find the best solution. The restourant was close,but they arranged shuttle bus to bring us to the next village to have a dinner and later to bring us back in the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milenawill13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We planned only to stay for one night during the weekend with my son who is 3 years old and my mother in law. Story of having a relaxing weekend. It turned out that the swimming pool with salty water made us such good that we stayed one night more. The personnel is wonderful. Mr. Schmidt (must be the owner) organised a toast with drinks and snacks Saturday night to answers our questions about the region and introduce the region to us. There is a common room with tea and cafe available 24h/24 and the prices of the rooms are totally reasonably for Switzerland.

Really a very good hotel to recommand!

Room Tip: The family room has 6 beds. If you go with a family, definitely take the family room which is not ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Realtraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breiten, Owner at Spa Hotel Salina Maris - Wellness & Vintage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you very much for your great review!
Please note, that family rooms have between 3 and 6 beds.
Best regards
Markus Schmid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My wife and I booked the Salina Maris as a one night stop on our journey to the Italian Lakes. We enjoyed the visit so much, we decided to stop there on the way back also.

The Spa facilities are very good, and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Also, across the road is a restaurant that provides really excellent food of great quality that is a must to visit.

Of course, the surrounding area was as peaceful and beautiful as you would expect.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Not a 4 stars at all, very old premises, hard mattress, old tv and basic breakfast buffet. The hotel is uphill in a small place called Breiten which is 15 min away from a proper village (uphill through an uneven path). They only offer a free ride from the station when you arrive, otherwise you'll need a car o taxi to move around. The whole little village have free access to the spa area (all the other hotels, B&B and rented apartments in the area too), and same thing about the breakfast: all other premises seem to belong to the same people, who also seem to be related to the only restaurant where all will have dinner, cause there is no other option (unless you want to drive, of course). Reception only opens until 9:00 pm and the receptionist are not very helpful since they don't seem to know anything around and are not able to recommend properly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smarkanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breiten, Owner at Spa Hotel Salina Maris - Wellness & Vintage, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Dear Samarkanda
I'm sorry, that you didn't like your stay in our house.
Hotel Salina Maris is officially classified as 4* hotel. The decoration isn't modern - me and my wife like a more classic style. That doesn't mean, the hotel is 'very old'. We are continuously developing our hotel, having renovated in the last year all guest rooms (incl. the mattress), the lobby, the breakfast room, pool and spa (800 m2), etc.
We are in the countryside, so don't expect a hotel in a town. Our small village is quiet. To the 'center' of Mörel you have to walk 1km (uphill it can be 15 minutes). On arrival and departure we offer free transfer, during your stay you can order the hotel car (CHF 7.00). In the center of Mörel you find 4 restaurants, in Breiten you have "only" the restaurant TAVERNE; a lot of people like the food very much.
The reception desk is open until 9p.m., the reception staff is 24 hours at your immediate disposal. Our staff at the reception knows the region (they love) very well. I'm very sorry, if in your case we weren't able to help you properly. But for such cases our guests have always the possibility, to speak with me or my wife personally.
Markus Schmid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed a week in a spacious room. Beds ok, Bathroom ok. Breakfast good quality, with ample choice. The looks of the hotel interior are not so very much 4 star, but the staff is friendly and of course there is very nice swimming pool. During our stay this pool was never crowded.
Our room was very spacious with a nice sunny balcony. The furniture was nice and comfortable.
We booked with the 3 course evening meal in the nearby restaurant which is real good value for the money. The location near Brig is very good for trips in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morel
1.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose
Hotel Alpenrose
#4 of 8 in Riederalp
65 reviews
1.6 mi away
Berghaus Toni
Berghaus Toni
#1 of 8 in Riederalp
105 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hotel Le Bristol
Hotel Le Bristol
#6 of 26 in Leukerbad
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Waldhaus
Hotel Waldhaus
#3 of 7 in Bettmeralp
122 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Bettmerhof
Hotel Bettmerhof
#1 of 7 in Bettmeralp
180 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spa Hotel Salina Maris - Wellness & Vintage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Hotel Salina Maris - Wellness & Vintage

Address: Breiten 1 | Breiten ob Mörel, Morel 3983, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Salina Maris)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Morel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morel
Price Range: £106 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spa Hotel Salina Maris - Wellness & Vintage 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Healthy and relaxing pleasures await you at the comfortable spa hotel Salina Maris. Whether you want a highly effective spa, an uncomplicated mountain holiday or a relaxed chill out after a working day: all is possible here, and also combinations are ideal. The hotel and it’s well known restaurant Taverne is situated 7 km from the centre of Brig at the door to the UNESCO world heritage "Swiss Alps - Aletsch Jungfrau". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spa Hotel Salina Maris - Wellness & Vintage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing