We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our east coast trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Booked Fraser Island through wicked travel. After reading some of the reviews about palace I was quite anxious about doing the trip but I can safetly say it was the best part of the coast. The hostel itself was really good. It was like little apartments with its own kitchen bathrooms and showers. Each room had a swpie key to get in. They were really organised taking us for food and drink for the trip. As for our tour guide Tony, well what a legend. He made our trip incredible. Nothing was too much bother and the atmosphere was great. If you have a chance to go to fraser go with these guys you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thanks for your review Grace F. I'm glad you gave us a chance after seeing the reviews and that you had such a great time. Tony was glad to hear he made your trip! We're pretty proud of the product we offer so spread the good word for us! Have a great time in Australia and travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

I would recommend this place to anyone staying in Hervey Bay wether it's for one night or more.
The staff is really awesome and helpful, the accomodation itself is really great and CLEAN a well and finaly the trip to Fraser Island which is available with their crew was just EPIC.
So yeah, thanks again Palace and see you next time for sure with much pleasure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yannis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Hi Yannis F, Thanks for your awesome review! We're glad to hear you thought your trip with us was EPIC! Spread the good word and travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed here back in July and I was doing the east coast quickie. I did Fraser Island and stayed the night before the trip and a night after, the rooms were really clean compared to so many of the bad reviews I was little scared to come to this hostel. It was great, it had its own kitchen in each dorm block and had everything i needed. Ange and mick were always there if I needed to ask stubborn questions lol.
I would defiantly recommend staying here again if I come back to aus I will be paying these guys another visit :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharmaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Hey Pommybackpacker! Thanks for your great review. Mick and Ange were thrilled to see they got a mention. We look forward to seeing you back in OZ and on Fraser Island again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Good set up but that's about it. We were going on the Fraser Island trip so it was good getting to know everybody this way. But the kitchen was filthy and smelly and very unequipped. I asked for a blanket at reception I was given (and told it was) a used blanket. Surely there should be the option of having a clean blanket whether it was to be rented or otherwise. We only had two cups for 10 people and when we asked reception for more we were told to basically scout around for some. Ended up drinking out of bowls and bottles. Came across two very friendly female receptionists and one grumpy man who drove us to the supermarket but mis-informed us about some information regarding the trip and didn't seem very happy to answer any questions we had. When we got back from 2days camping all anyone wanted was a hot shower. I was one of the last in our apartment to shower and it was freezing cold. So disappointing. Definitely won't be recommending here for a long stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Hi Adeline P,
We're sorry to hear your had trouble finding kitchen equipment. Our multiple kitchens are great for accommodating lots of people, but unfortunately does mean kitchenware often wanders from one unit to another or is stolen. We're constantly trying to keep up with it! I am glad to hear you had a good time on your Fraser Island trip. It's a beautiful place and we're very lucky to have it on our doorstep here! Next time I encourage you to jump in the shower first. It's an insider's tip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

To all my fellow backpackers and country men travelling the east coast of Australia. under no circumstance's should you give these people your hard earn money. We paid a bond for the 4wd, there were 4 vehicles to use, and each vehicle had a bond to pay of 500, so if you were in vehicle one for example you paid 500, and if your were in vehicle 2 you paid 500, you get the idea. So we put our money in and gave our names, and how much we paid, and gave to office. When we returned an requested our bond, they said we never paid it. After arguing and shouting matches, they just would not give back our money

Now to the tour guide: Dont know now he calls himself a tour guide. we were on the island for 3 days. Pur tour guide did not even bring spare clothes, food or alcohol entertainment for himself, so he help himself to our food, our drinks. And he also stole money from someones wallet, but would not own up to stealing it.

The tents were old and shabby, the cocking facilities did not even have enough water past 1 day. The had to borrow some from another group. Even the accommodation in hervey bay is terrible. They do an all you can eat thing as well......7 pizzas from dominos for 25 people

So my advice to everyone, stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keano1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear guest,
We were very surprised to read your review . Our biggest concern regarding your review is the absolute non-existent contact with our management at the time of your stay or any time since regarding this issues you raise. Management is contactable 7 days a week and onsite 5-6 days a week. if you actually had food, drinks or money stolen by our company or our staff we would have expected you to bring these matters to our attention so we could look into your allegations. You imply that other guests on your tour have been affected by similar problems yet we have heard nothing from anyone. If you would like to actually discuss your complaint with us, please do not hesitate to contact us directly via phone or e-mail. We are eagerly awaiting to hear from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this hostel and there Fraser Island trip to anyone. The staff are soooo friendly and will help you with any queries no matter how big or small. The layout of the hostel is great, clean and spacious. As for the trip to Fraser, it was awesome!! The guides are fun, helpful and knowledgeable. I can't imagine going to Fraser with anyone else. The highlight of my full trip!! And a big thanks to Mick and Angie . . . Legends!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thanks for your review Michael M. Mick and Ange are happy to hear they helped make your trip while you were here in Hervey Bay! If you loved our Fraser tour too, why not write us a review for Palace Adventures - I'm sure everyone would love to hear about your tour! Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

palace is one of the best hostels i have stayed in. the rooms are simple and comfortable lovely mattress and bright and airy. the rooms are split into sections and are like little apartments so less people share the kitchen and bathrooms. the staff pick up very promptly from the greyhound terminal and are all of the staff are very friendly and helpful and their knowledge about the local area and about fraser island is fantastic, they even recommended a place for me to stay at agnes water. want to extend your stay? no problem nothing seems to much for these guys really enjoyed it and would love to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazza_28_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palace_Backpackers, Manager at Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

We're glad to have been of assistance Mazza_28_88! It's all part of the service. Hope to see you back at Palace again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarness
0.8 mi away
Palace Hostels
Palace Hostels
#29 of 53 in Hervey Bay
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island
0.2 mi away
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
#4 of 53 in Hervey Bay
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Friendly Hostel
Friendly Hostel
#4 of 8 in Scarness
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fraser Coast Top Tourist Park
0.2 mi away
Sunseeker Motel
Sunseeker Motel
#1 of 1 in Scarness
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay

Address: 184 Torquay Rd, Scarness, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay > Scarness
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Scarness
Price Range: £15 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay is located a 50m from the beach and across the road of the Greyhound Bus stop! We offer dorm (4 beds to 10 beds) and private rooms. We are also happy to provide you 24-hour television access, secure lockers, communal laundry and entertaining areas. At Palace, we like to ensure you feel right at home during your stay. So why not check out one of our dorm, twin or double rooms and stay a night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HostelWorld so you can book your Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay Scarness, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing