We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convienent and Modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Meyrin
Certificate of Excellence
Thompson, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Convienent and Modern”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I decided on this hotel because it was easy to get to the train station and airport ad for my husband it had a casino. Everyone was friendly, both restaurants were excellent. We had fresh sashimi, that tasted excellent. There are to convenient bus stop that have buses every 10-15mins heading all over Geneva. The Business center had a free colour printer.
The room we had only had a shower, which I knew was the norm in Swiss/Europe. The room was very spacious and modern. I had no complaints about the hotel.
The casino is a little smaller than I expected but had all the casino necessities.
The Sky Gym on the 1th floor looked very modern but I never used it.

Room Tip: Not every room has a tub, should specify on reservation if one needed,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeggyS0533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_GVA, Directeur général at Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear MeggyS0533,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback further to your stay with us here at the Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva

It is really nice to read that service and facilities we are providing are to the satisfaction of our clients; your specific comments relative to the Japanese restauarnt and the Casino will indeed be passd to the teams.

Thnaking you again

Nicolas Meylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    564
    184
    59
    27
See reviews for
215
272
103
777
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very very big rooms, often with a king-size bed. Very comfortable, very well furnished, very well equipped. The gym is not bad either for a hotel gym. Location would be convenient for some, being right next to the airport, but personally I would prefer to be closer to the city. Friendly staff. I have not visited the casino, or the fitness centre next door. I am on a corporate rate, but the standard rate is exorbitant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

… situated just a few minutes from the airport and right next to the convention centre.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and basic. GREAT tv choice.. "Swiss" clean and neat overhaul. Comfortable as well. The only thing you have being so close to an airport and a huge centre, is that it can be quite noisy: the hotel was jampacked when we stayed there; so there was quite a lot of noise in the hallways. Also trafficnoise can be heard (and there was a lot even during the night) and of course (eventhough well insulated) the noise from the airport.
Breakfast was what one can expect; lots of variety.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terrencets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We used the Movenpick for a trip to the Motorshow for which the location and shuttle bus service were great. The rooms were smart, clean and well presented but you can't get away from the fact that it is close to the airport in terms of noise. While the shuttle bus service was very handy, it did feel at times as though one was hanging around waiting for it quite a bit.

Our only surprise was the average quality of the main restaurant (we had to send two meals back) and the high price for the breakfast buffet (CHF35 per person).

Overall very handy location, good service and highy quality rooms, price and some aspects of service take the edge off.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_GVA, Directeur général at Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Nick C.

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments further to your stay with us here at the Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva.

I was sorry to read your comment relative to the bad experience in our restaurant and rest assured that this will be discussed with the kitchen team

Thanking you again for your feedback

YOur Sincerely

Nicolas Meylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Upon arrival at Geneva airport, we made for the hotel shuttle bus exit doors, where unfortunately we waited for a good 5/10 minutes for Movenpicks dedicated shuttle bus to arrive. The shuttle runs every 20 mins which can feel lengthy, when standing around. When it arrived, the driver was very smartly dressed and helped guests with putting their luggage into the dedicated trailer attached to the bus. The hotel is a very short trip around 2-3 minutes from the airport itself.
As soon as you walk into the hotel, via the red carpet and large turning rotating doors, you can't help but feel a sense of luxury. The reception area is huge and there's no missing the grand staircases and chandellier in front of you as you enter. The attention to detail through out the hotel is top notch, cleanliness is very impressive also, everything looks and feels new.
Staff were again all smartly dressed and conscious of waiting guests at check in. We were extremely impressed as we had our room upgraded at no extra cost due to wanting 2 separate beds, instead of 1, that we'd mistakingly booked online. We were also offered Wifi, which we took up, due to it being free (unlike many hotels that charge).
It's worth noting here that I'd already had the room rate reduced, as after pre-booking online (to gain discount) I discovered a big drop in online prices for the same room and length of stay to mine. I instantly emailed the hotel which kindly agreed to match the new current rate and throw in free buffet breakfasts for the 2 days we were there. Excellent customer service!!!
Myself and a friend were attending the Motor Show in Geneva, so the specially organised shuttle to the expo came in very handy. This runs separate to the airport shuttle and goes right to the front entrance of the Palexpo building. However on returning from the show a lot of guests had gathered for the shuttle bus and as a result not everyone could fit in, so had to wait for the next run.
We tried the Latitude restaurant for dinner on the first night, as the Japanese restaurant was full. There wasn't a lot of choice and we weren't overly impressed with the quality on offer, pretty expensive, but Geneva is in general, however the Movenpick ice cream is a MUST, very tasty indeed. Until coming home to England, we weren't aware that one of the mentioned restaurants was actually in the building next door, shame it's not mentioned in any leaflets in the room.
There were no complaints with the room at all, even had a handy electronic safe to use, as well as speakers in the bathroom linked up to the TV. If I had to pick one negative it would be the lack of effectiveness of the air con and the fact there's no remote control for it, but that's only a minimal niggle. We used room service once which was hassle free and speedy. A security touch that impressed me, was having to use your room swipe card to activate the lift. Although I guess a random member of the public could hop into a lift that's been activated by a genuine guest.
We visited the casino located underground, which felt alive with atmosphere (also featured show girls performing around the floor) and was pretty busy.
The buffet breakfast was full of choice, couldn't ask for more. However I don't think I would have spent the money on booking it, as it's too pricey.
The second night we took the tram (free when you ask for a travel card upon check in to the hotel) into Geneva and ate in one of the many local restaurants dotted around the old town of Geneva, this was a better bet. Again prices are high, but you never feel short changed, portions and quality of most restaurants and cafés are top notch. The tram stop is located about a 5 minute walk from the Movenpick Hotel.
We frequented the drinks bar at the hotel both nights. The atmosphere was very chilled and calm, with a fantastic singing pianist accompanied by a female vocalist and trumpet player. They were really good to listen to, my only complaint being there didn't seem to be enough of a main seating area, to enjoy the music.
Would definitely stay here again and try the other restaurant located next door and maybe even book the Japanese restaurant to try out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TP_882014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_GVA, Directeur général at Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear TP_ 882014,

Many thank for taking the time to post your very detailed feedback further to your stay with us here at the Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva. Your comments are a true encouragement for the whole team here; espacially they are very detailed and praising our services.

As you mention, I hope you will have time to taste our Japanese restaurant upon your stay with us

Thanking you again and looking forward to welcoming you back

Nicolas Meylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arendal, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

The AirPort shuttle was quick and efficient.
The problem started at check-in. They asked for a credit card, this is alright, but they did charge the credit card in advance so it got blocked. This caused me a lot of problems, telephone calls etc. When entered the room there were was not a cover on the bed, just sheets. When complaining they just said it was their standard! So it wasn't possible to lie down om the bed with your clothes on. There where broschures, wash bag, flyers, and all sort of stuff lying on every surface in the room, couldn't put my things down, had to clean off the entire room from all of it. Complained that the carpet was dirty, but they did never clean it. Breakfast was ok, but took unnecciarily long time, first stand in line to give out your room number, then there where no coffee, this was later served manually at the tables, completely wrong, want to fetch my own coffee in the morning, goes much quicker. Then wanted to see a friend om another floor, but could not get there by elevator. The access through my card didn't work, at reception they could not fix, something with policy. I don't care! I want to see take the elevator to another floor. Payed CHF 245/night for this untidy and poor service hotel. Will never go here again. Choose another hotel

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_GVA, Directeur général at Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Freddan 1,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback further to your stay with us here at the Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva.

Obviously we did not do well durig your stay and I feel sorry for that; your comments on poor check in experience, room cleanliness, service in the restaurant for breakfast are true concerns for me and the team and rest assured that they are discussed.

we hope you would however give us another chance to serve you so can redeem ourselves; to that extent let us know in advance when ou come back to Geneva

Kind Regards

Nicolas Meylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Very good business hotell next to Geneva Airport. Spacious, modern, and clean rooms with good standard. Shuttle takes 5 min to the Airport. Friendly and very helpful staff when checking in. Free wifi. Ok bar.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntonSk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moevenpick_GVA, Directeur général at Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Anton SK,

Many thanks for taking the ime to post your comments further to your saty with us here at the Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva.

I was to happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured that your comments are shared with the team

Looking forward to welcoming you back

YOur Sincerely

Nicolas Meylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meyrin
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 2 in Le Grand Saconnex
462 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 105 in Geneva
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Geneva Airport
#2 of 2 in Meyrin
917 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#8 of 105 in Geneva
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva

Property: Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva
Address: route de Pre-Bois 20, Meyrin, Geneva 1215, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Meyrin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Meyrin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Geneva in the French part of Switzerland, close to the airport and Palexpo, the 5 star upscale Movenpick Hotel and Casino Geneva has recently renovated its 350 privilege bedrooms. Offering a Japanese and an international restaurant, bars, a large conference centre for seminars and congress and in-building parking, this hotel is ideal for business as well as for leisure, with attractive prices and packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel And Casino Geneva
Geneva Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing