We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely spot with wonderful owners!”
Review of Casa Verde

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Ventana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Verde
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in La Ventana
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Casa Verde was a lovely spot to relax and enjoy the area. We made use of all their great equipment: stand-up paddle boarding and snorkeling and free bikes! Our little casita was perfect - clean and comfortable and charming.

David and Alia were incredibly friendly and generous and it was a delight to chat with them!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CatM211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Casa Verde
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2013

Casa Verde is ideally located right in the middle of the small fishing village of La Ventana so it is easy to walk to any event happening or restaurant. I stayed for one week with friends in the 3 person teepee. The beds were super comfortable and staying in a teepee is beyond awesome!
The main compound is right on the beach and the central courtyard is beautifully landscaped. There is also a beautiful open air roof top palapa where yoga classes are held almost every morning. There are bicycles and kayaks that are free to use, and one of the highlights of our stay was going out on the stand up paddle boards in the morning. Coffee and breakfast are also served to order in the main courtyard. I absolutely LOVE La Ventana! It has a great community and feels very safe. I highly recommend staying at Casa Verde! It is really beautiful and peaceful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Veronica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Great, relaxing, well-run, and immaculate, this is just a really pleasant place to stay. We went about 5 nights and enjoyed it all. Our clean and spacious and pretty room had ceiling fans, AC (never needed it in November) & little TV's with DVD's, all surrounding a quiet oasis courtyard with several seating areas, a common kitchen, hammock, beach chairs. The tee-pees are 10 seconds away from the main courtyard, in a separate compound.

In the winter La Ventana is really a kiteboarding mecca, but even if you don't kite the whole scene is still fun to watch, and so infectious that even uninterested curmudgeons (like me) will probably find themselves eventually lured into a few hours of real fun. In the morning, and some entire days, the wind is down and Casa V has standup paddle boards, kayaks, and snorkeling gear at your disposal for easy access right off the beach in front. Also complementary are bikes, and wifi in the common areas (signal doesn't reach through the room walls very well), a pretty giant DVD selection, and a small wall of loaner books for reading. There's a nice little morning yoga class almost every day. You can cook for yourself, or Casa V serves up a great simple little breakfast for US$3-4, and they have espresso. Six or seven little restaurants are also within easy walking distance, from street hot dog vendors to pretty swank upper deck dining, mostly Mexican but also some great little omelets and small wood fired pizzas, and another 6-7 places are within a 10 minute bike ride.

The town is a great mix of real Mexico yet still very accessible for the visitor -- it is near the very end of the road, so there is little traffic, feels safe and quiet, and has a thriving gringo scene of kitesurfers and travelers while still retaining a really classic small town Mexican sensibility. There is hardly a tourist shop, t-shirt, rowdy bar, or shot glass to be found, but it's always easy to find a great taco or a corona and sit back with a view of the beach. Some pretty humble houses sit effortlessly next to the little beach hotels like Casa Verde.

Most people rent arrive at Cabo and rent cars (and grocery shop, if you want to cook for yourself much), but there is also a van shuttle for around US$130 -- if you can split it with others it is a pretty reasonable option - ask CV in advance for help with that. We didn't get a car this time, and probably missed out on a few things, but it saved on hassle and kept us focused on pure chill and enjoyment rather than a lot of ultimately unnecessary driving around, and no regrets about that.

The proprietors are super, friendly, & helpful. Finally, the crazy traditional Mexican sauna will rejuvenate you... if you dare.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Eliamienti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I stayed 5 days at Casa Verde Inn. It’s a peacefull, quiet place with very nice and friendly owners. All rooms are clean, cosy, finely furnished and very well decorated. It was a great vacation….. too short though. I enjoyed my long morning walks along the sandy beach, and quiet afternoons in the shade with my book and cold smoothie. The ocean view from the resort was very beautiful. I love this place and can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SvetaCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed here with a friend just before the kite-boarding/windsurfing season took off, in October, so the place was pretty empty. Still staying at Casa Verde was a really delight. We enjoyed trying our hand at stand-up paddle boarding and doing a little bit of snorkeling. We also took the free bikes for a spin up the road for dinner. Our little casita was perfectly clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed our breakfast lattes very much. David and Alia are very friendly hosts and were kind enough to transport us to and from La Paz as they went back and forth to do errands since we didn't have a car. What a gem!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ems38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

After a disastrous night at Kurt-N-Marinas we wondered over to Casa Verde (baj mahal) and got a room. Very Nice Resort with clean rooms, immaculate landscape, palapa yoga area, SUP's and kayaks and well maintained kitchen common area. They even have a unique european sauna that looks like an igloo.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stewart040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Just came back from a great stay in La Ventana at the Casa Verde. They have a great location right on the beach, near all the kite schools and when you're ready to get out of their wind their sheltered garden is filled with flowers, hummingbirds, and spots to catch up on reading. I left some items behind and they were very helpful about arranging to get them back to me (not easy from a place as off the beaten track as La Ventana). Definitely will return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Ventana
0.0 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#23 of 39 in La Paz
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palapas Ventana
Palapas Ventana
#1 of 7 in La Ventana
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ventana Bay Resort
Ventana Bay Resort
#2 of 7 in La Ventana
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Paraiso
Villa Paraiso
#5 of 5 in La Ventana
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Club Cerralvo
Hotel Club Cerralvo
#1 of 3 in El Sargento
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Tara
Casa Tara
#5 of 7 in La Ventana
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde

Address: Calle Salome Lucero S/N, La Ventana 23232, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Ventana
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in La Ventana
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hotel in the heart of La Ventana. Perfectly positioned beside the best kite launch beach in town, Casa Verde is the ideal base for your vacation. While we are located central to everything, within our walls, you will find a secluded oasis - the perfect spot to rest after a long day of adventuring. We pride ourselves on a high level of guest service and personalized attention to detail. If you are looking for something specific, please let us know and we will do our best to accommodate you. We treat our guests as if they are guests in our own home and are dedicated to creating memorable experiences every time. We're looking forward to welcoming you to the Baja soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing