We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect slice of Baja!”
Review of Palapas Ventana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palapas Ventana
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in La Ventana
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect slice of Baja!”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed at Palapas Ventana for two weeks Feb-March 2012. Took lessons at Kitemasters and loved their staff. The food is AMAZING at Palapas Ventana. The mango margaritas are amazing with that spicy rim. This isn't luxury lodging, but Tim and his wife Jiemma provide a great culture experience, plan trips, set up downwinders and all around are amazing at running a hotel. Granted, the water is cold for kiting an requires a full suit, that's one of the few things I wish weren't so... also wouldn't mind a hot tub to relax and warm up after kiting, but seriously? That's all I have to say. Something to be said about a host making the experience memorable... so few places nowadays understand that.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HatterasBound2Kite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    19
    2
    6
    0
See reviews for
19
26
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leavenworth, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I spent two weeks at Palapas Ventana over my Christmas break, mostly to take advantage of the wonderful La Ventana kiteboarding. The kiteboarding experience there was the best ever. The beach in front of Palapas is an excellent launch and land spot, and the water is not as crowded as further downwind. They even have people on the beach to help launch and land your kite, and they will take you up to the hotsprings in a very cool Baja jeep if you want to do a downwinder. They also organized non wind activities for the calm days, such as a Whale Shark snorkeling trip which I really enjoyed. They had kayaks and bikes to use, but it blew so much, I never got around to using this equipment. The casitas were very clean and comfortable, with a very nice bed. There is good internet service there throughout the complex. They arranged a ride from Cabo to Palapas so I did not need to worry about a taxi or renting a car. The food was GREAT! The fresh fish was off the charts, and you would not want to miss the Friday and Saturday night dinners from the grill. The atmosphere here is really nice. They really treat you like family, and take great care of you. I would go back here in a heartbeat. Best vacation ever.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa barbara
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I love that I did not need to cook breakfast and lunch. My husband did not get sick. The staff is amazing. The price is right. The margaridas are good. Great family atmosphere. The owner and his wife are very accomodating to your needs. Great place if you are a kiter, windsurfer or a diver.

Room Tip: Book early if you are planning to go in dezember or January.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresinha l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Spent a week a Palapas Ventana. It is a nice hotel if you are looking for rustic accommodations. The rooms are in fact small independent round houses, named casitas. There is room for one larger bed or two smaller beds a sink and not much else. There is no storage place for gear or clothes. The rooms are in good conditions and kept reasonably clean by the help as long as you don't look for dust bunnies. The smaller casitas have showers and toilets in a separate building, which in our case at least was close and well maintained. The food that is served could perhaps best be described as home cooking. Nothing fancy. The personnel were always helpful. There are some shortcomings with the equipment that is available for use. The bicycles can best be described as "beach cruisers" but I did not see anyone use them and they are in a relative state of neglect. The watersports equipment that I used was functional but worn. Access to the beach is via a staircase. At low tide it can be problematic with quite a few sharp rocks that can easily lead to foot injuries without some booties or other foot protection. I would recommend at low tide use of beach either to the North or South of the hotel, depending on your watersport of choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I've spent a LOT of time in Baja over the last 2 years, and I haven't come across anyone who provides better customer service than the owners and staff at Palapas Ventana. Bottom line is they want you to have fun, get a good deal for your money, and leave wanting to come back. After eating dozens of meals prepared by their restaurant, my only comment is the food is excellent. If you're interested in spearfishing, this is without question the place to stay. Rain or shine, windy or calm, they'll go out of their way to help you have a good time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WahooWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Just a note to thank them all for the wonderful stay at their resort. This was a vacation that could have been ruined by cancelled flights getting there and delayed flights going home. However, because of the resorts' efforts and the staffs dedication, this turned into the best vacation we have ever had.
From the wonderful, warm welcome and delicious hot meal that were waiting for us, even though we arrived very late from that Cabo taxi ride, to the extraordinary last days' fishing trip on the other (Pacific) side, you both made this a memorable trip.
My wife enjoyed the beach, shopping with friends, visiting the local school with her supplies and the trips into LaPaz.
I truly can't thank you enough for accommodating us because of our cancelled flight and our arriving the next day. From extending our stay, the great masseuse and that truly unique and fabulous Pacific fishing trip that you didn't have to arrange, but did to replace that first days fishing we missed!!! The 'outback' ride there, surf launching into the Pacific, the fishing, the surf landing, taking us to visit the real, rural Mexico at the guides home where we had those delicious oysters and fantastic visit and the burritos in LaPaz. What a memorable day! It is truly appreciated.
You took a trip that was book-ended by airline snafus and transformed it into a truly memorable vacation book-ended by humorous, anecdotal tales of travel challenges. That's' real magic Palapas! Thank you all.

In Gratitude
Norm & Dorothy

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2012

If you are into spear fishing, this is the place for you. The property, staff, boats, and attitudes of the help are all fabulous!! The food and accommodations were great. We got so many fish and they will cook it up fresh for you for dinner.
Great time had by all.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Ventana
11.6 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#22 of 39 in La Paz
25 reviews
22.7 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
22.5 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ventana Bay Resort
Ventana Bay Resort
#1 of 7 in La Ventana
61 reviews
22.3 mi away
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
#3 of 39 in La Paz
678 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Tara
Casa Tara
#5 of 7 in La Ventana
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palapas Ventana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palapas Ventana

Property: Palapas Ventana
Address: La Ventana km 9.0, La Ventana 23232, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Ventana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in La Ventana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palapas Ventana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run, small bed and breakfast for active people who love water sports in a small Mexican town with a laid back atmosphere. If you like to kiteboard in Nov - March or scuba dive, spearfish, and fish April - October, this is your spot! We've got killer home cooked, real Mexican food and will spoil you while you play and check in for some hammock time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palapas Ventana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palapas Ventana Hotel La Ventana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing