We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spearo's paradise”
Review of Palapas Ventana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palapas Ventana
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Ventana
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spearo's paradise”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I've been spearfishing at various international locations, and this was by far the easiest and most convenient trip I have made. It starts from the first moment you make contact. The staff at PV is highly efficient and respond quickly to both emails and phone calls. They will help with all forms of logistics especially with transport (shuttles, etc). Any questions you may have about the accommodation, fishing, or gear are all happily answered.

On location everything is setup to run smoothly. We woke up in the morning, ate a nice breakfast, and walked down to the boat where everything was ready to go and waiting for us. After a day of spearing, we returned to staff waiting at the beach to unload our gear and fillet the fish. With a short walk you can be back at your air conditioned casita for a quick shower and then to the restaurant/bar for some margaritas and fish stories. A little while later, diner is served with the option of eating the fish you've just caught.

The staff is great and there to help whenever possible. It goes beyond what is simply required for their jobs. For example, we had Ish as our guide for most of our days. After a day of putting us on great fish, he would hangout with us for a few hours over some drinks. He also was involved in cooking the fish and shared some of his own personal recipes. On one of the last days, I cut my hand and required stitches. Ish not only took me to La Paz for treatment, but also gave me a nice tour of the city. I had a fun time, and was almost happy I had to get the stitches.

We also had an unfortunate incident that was reasonably out of anyone's control. Tim and the staff at PV put in extra effort to make sure our trip was still and enjoyable as possible. It is very important to them that every guest has a great stay, and it is evident in how they run the place. I'll definitely be planning a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    19
    2
    6
    0
See reviews for
19
26
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

i loved staying at the palapas!
stayed in a regular casita; perfectly comfortable, very chill, little hammock on the veranda, electricity, water cooler, wifi. short walk (20 steps from the brown casita) to the bathroom & shower (hot water)
the beach is right at the foot of the arroyo, down a set of stairs from the main palapa (restaurant, bar, meeting place) where you eat breakfast & lunch and can get a drink. loved the food too!
kiting was fantastic with great conditions, great instructor (dante) & friendly people. went on a fun spearfishing lesson on a pretty reef w/ them as well.

i will come back with anyone who wants to have a nice chill week, have great kiting, snorking, spearing, fishing, beachy trip!

ps flew into cabo, rented a car w/ no hassle from cactus car rental; drove there, parked and lived in my swimmies the rest of the trip.

Room Tip: brown casita is closest to bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slimjimslimjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I spent a week in one of the casitas. The showers and toilets were directly across from me which made it very convenient. The views from the facility are to die for, and the staff was very friendly and personable. I was able to use a snorkel and fins the entire week. I also had access to a paddle board. A complete, hot breakfast AND lunch was included each day. Any type of activity you could possibly want is available including hiking, biking, swimming, kite boarding, and fine dining. If you want a relaxed, comfortable, and beautiful spot to park yourself for a period of time, Palapas Ventana is it!!

Room Tip: If you don't mind having the bathroom and showers located separately from your accommodation, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Like the title states, always a great time at Palapas Ventana. From Spearfishing season, kite season, and beyond the little town of La Ventana, the crew at Palapas Ventana have it covered. I've been here through out all the different seasons, and I always have a blast. This past president's day weekend, we enjoyed the Grey Whales and the whale sharks. AMAZING!!! If you are looking for a different style of family trip, I highly recommend it! Next time, I try Kiteboarding!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I had a great time teaching kiting with from Palapas Ventana for Kiteboarding Baja.

great staff, perfect spot for launching and teaching from
(upwind from the crowds) and beautiful uncrowded beaches.
solid recommendation, food and service was great.
cant think of a better setup for a travel kiter.

and they even arrange free downwinders for clients

thnx PV! R

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coastalsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I visited Palapas Ventana over New Years for a week long spearfishing trip. My friend and I flew into Los Cabos and took a two-hour cab ride up the Baja to arrive in La Ventana. In addition to arranging the cab, Tim (the owner of Palapas), also planned out an amazing 7 day trip for us on the Pacific coast. We only stayed at the resort for the first and last night, which was beyond beautiful, but the rest of the nights were spent in remote villages and an island on the Pacific.

Tim arranged for a guy named Stan to guide us around while we were there. Stan was the best guide I've ever had the pleasure of knowing. I consider myself a beginner spearfisher who takes a trip each year just to stay connected with the sport. I probably asked more questions than your typical client and Stan answered every one without hesitation. I gained quite a lot of experience and with Stan's advice I was even able to double my diving depth and down-time by the end of the week. Once we arrived back at the lodging for the night, Stan would hang out with us to watch GoPro videos of the days catch. It was a great way to critique my own techniques and I was truly impressed with Stan's willingness to give advice, even after the fishing day was over.

Every day we went to 3-5 new locations. I don't think we speared the same spot twice and nearly every place we went held fish. Along with bagging some nice grouper, snapper, triggers, yellowtail and halibut, we were able to swim with sea lions, turtles and whales. It was truly the best diving that I have ever done in my life.

I plan to go back to Palapas this year for another trip filled with different species of fish. I don't doubt that Tim will give us the same level of care that we received last time. I highly recommend this resort if you want to land some nice fish and have a great time. You won't find a more hospitable staff or more beautiful views anywhere.

-Vince

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have been going to Palapas Ventana usually twice a year for 7 years mainly to kitesurf. We have checked out most of the other lodging choices in La Ventana and this is our favorite lodging hands down. For kiting it is ideal, good uncrowded launch with great support staff who will drive you upwind for a downwinder if you desire. The casitas are very comfortable with good views. The food is excellent!! Most importantly the staff is wonderful. The activities are only limited by your energy; kiting, SUPs, kayaks, snorkeling, fishing, scuba, spearfishing, the most amazing whalewatching trips we have ever done, snorkeling with whale sharks, local hikes etc. Go as a guest, come back as a friend, we are heading back for another 2 week trip this month.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank docjibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Ventana
11.6 mi away
Rancho Las Cruces
Rancho Las Cruces
#22 of 39 in La Paz
25 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hyatt Place La Paz
Hyatt Place La Paz
#2 of 39 in La Paz
490 reviews
22.7 mi away
La Posada Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ventana Bay Resort
Ventana Bay Resort
#2 of 7 in La Ventana
60 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Tara
Casa Tara
#5 of 7 in La Ventana
2 reviews
22.3 mi away
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
CostaBaja Resort & Spa
#3 of 39 in La Paz
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palapas Ventana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palapas Ventana

Property: Palapas Ventana
Address: La Ventana km 9.0, La Ventana 23232, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > La Ventana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in La Ventana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palapas Ventana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run, small bed and breakfast for active people who love water sports in a small Mexican town with a laid back atmosphere. If you like to kiteboard in Nov - March or scuba dive, spearfish, and fish April - October, this is your spot! We've got killer home cooked, real Mexican food and will spoil you while you play and check in for some hammock time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Palapas Ventana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palapas Ventana Hotel La Ventana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing